Originally posted by supercharger:Dear supercharger,
Now moving ahead, what you want to do is to take care of your immediate situation first. It appears that there are people who are relying on you. So if it means looking for a job, please do it immediately. Whether the job is the idea job or not, just do it bec you need some money coming in.
By doing this and taking responsibility again, you will not only help meet your immediate material needs but it will also give you a comforting sense of purpose that you are doing something.
What had happened in the past is very complex and damaging. It is a combination of serious breach of trust that took place over many years coupled with forged signature to obtain money and finally the present situation. From your wife's view, it is not so simple. What had happened cannot be seen in isolation. It must be seen as a whole.
but worse still you had kept vital info from her for such a long time plus the latest breach, it just says to her that hey... if he has been lying to me all this time about something so important, how much of what he has told me in the past can be trusted?
That is the most damaging part. the bit that she finds it hard to trust you, the suspicion! It is common and a natural part of the defence mechnism in every person to feel and react like this. It is alleying that suspicion that is difficult. So you have to do everythin above board, everything transparent, everything just that bit extra over a much longer time to convince anyone, and in this instance you wife that you are trustworthy.
So for now, you have to pick yourself up. Remember, you are picking yourself up not so you can win your wife back - yes I wish that for you too - but if that is your motivation you will not last 2 minutes in your attempt to pick yourself up. Its simple - when you do it for this motive of winning her back it is not likely to work bec the motivation is not genuine so when she remains unmoved for a period longer than you can tahan you will loose heart and hope and say its no use for me to do this anymore! so when you perceived that the reason for you to do it is lost bec she remains unresponsive, you will have next to zero motivation to pick yourself up.
you pick yourself up bec you need to do it for yourself. Its part of self acceptance and forgiveness. You need to pick yourself up bec ther are others depending on you. you need to pic yourself up bec you still have many years ahead and you dont want the present problem to taint your future!
If you have the opportunity, talk openly to her, like I said before, dont push her to say anything that you want to hear. let her tell it the way she will tell it. dont push her to do anything or forgive anything just talk plainly and openly Also please SHE NEEDS TIME TO RESET HER EMOTIONS AND MIND. SHE NEEDS TIME TO DIGEST AND TIME TO THINK. SHE NEEDS TIME TO CRY. So dont push her!
Take care[/b]
Hi supercharger,Originally posted by supercharger:As you have already discovered, when you are seriously stressed, you can go through a lot of different emotions within 1 day from anger to sadness to fear to feeling of rejection to crying fits to disbelief, frustrations to hopelessness and confusion etc etc all mixed up and they occur in no particular order. She needs the time to sort out in her head and heart what she should do.
What she perceived herself to have suffered is not just the pain of lie but that she may through this whole process loose her marriage, her husband, her confidant, her friend etc strange as it may sound, even though she is the one that left but she will feel these same things as you would feel as well. The reason being that she is the other half in this marriage. So what you stand to loose she will also loose too.
What I think may be a better idea is to suggest that she seek some kind of professional counseling help to help her sort out her feelings and thoughts. I am not sure how open she is about this. Do you guys have any strong mutual friend or leader that you can rely on to be impartial and to offer a listening ear?
I wish I can do more but I am limited by lack of knowledge and wisdom and at the moment time constrain as well.
Take care. I hope to check back again soon.
Dear all,Originally posted by armygirl:Regularjoe,
how are thgs with your wife? hope you have reconciled with her, cannot blame her for telling her frens..women are like that, they like to confide in their closest frens on such BGR - boy girl relationship matters and marital matter
of course, they want to garner as much support from their frens as possible, wat you need now is to show her your sincerity and involve her in major decisions.....
maybe you can write to her?
Originally posted by regularjoe:
Dear supercharger,
Thank you for taking time out to give such excellent advice... as always, it always just come a little too late...
Yes, indeed have to meet my immediate needs first... finally she has said that she will no longer be helping me financially, and she advised me to get a job fast, and after that all comms were shut off. No replies from her whatsoever... it seems that the only time an sms comes over is "how's your job search?" Well, I'll need to go to the factories and beg them for a job, and hopefully, they'll give me a job to do...
You have managed to succintly detailed what might my wife had gone through... and now I see the reason that she left... it makes me more disgusted with myself... it's no wonder that she mentioned that she can never ever imagine waking up beside me again...
For all I know, even all her friends are shunning me now, and they are "suddenly" very cold and unfriendly... shucks, even I have lost some mutual friends...
And yes, she always mention to me that I should be strong, not for her but for my family and myself... and it concurs what you are sharing......
As having an opportunity, it's zilch... no chance at all. Everytime we agreed to meet on a certain day, she will back out at the last moment... [b]wonder what she is feeling and why she does that? So, will just have to let her be... now, a lot of conflicting advice here, some say msg her once a day, while some say if she doesn't contact you, then leave her be lor... but it is dangerous ... cos "out of sight, out of mind". so this is really causing me some headaches...
well, like I mentioned, this week could be a decisive week... at least, i hope to get a job to pay the bills, and let my mind off for a while.. let's hope the factories don't reject me... btw, anyone knows if they pay daily?
supercharger, you amaze me with the ability to feel what my wife is going through.. and I wonder if you have experience going through this ? Perhaps, you have more nuggets of advice to share, which I hope again that it doesn't come too late... if for whatever reasons you do not wish to share openly, please pte msg me... you will always be warmly welcomed.
Please take care.
Regularjoe[/b]
Dear all,
This saga has finally come to a close.
I have just met my wife this evening, and she is determined to seek a divorce. She wants the flat sold quickly, so that the divorce proceedings will not be so messy.
From the short conversation with her, I can understand why she made the decision; the hurt of being betrayed, and she couldn't see a future with me, not when after even selling the flat, I still have debts outstanding.
The flat should find a buyer in these 2 weeks, and the sale should be finalized in March 05. That's when divorce proceedings will take place. I foresee the only way out for me is that suddenly someone offers me a 30k loan with token interest charged to repay the rest of the debts... then perhaps my marriage could be saved. [b]Any kind soul out there? Anyone to start a save Joe's marriage campaign?
The only comfort I got was this statement: "I still care for you, let me know when you have gotten a job."
The pain, hurt and regrets and the wonderful memories will forever live on in my heart.
These 2 painful months, this forum has been an oasis for a wretched soul like mine. I had many wonderful advice and encouragement from forumers, strangers I do not know. I encourage those of you who are in this predicament to open up your hearts here, to seek a little peace, understanding and encouragement... believe me, it does a lot for you.
armygirl, I do not know what is your situation, but please talk to your hubby, and ask your hubby to listen to you... you must start a two way communication now...
I wish for all the love and care you wonderful people deserves... cling on and treasure your loved ones...
Regularjoe
Originally posted by FeowFeow:Hi RJ,
So sorry to hear of wat has happened between u & ur wifey. Even if someone loans u the S$30K wif token interest to repay ur debts, it probably wun save ur marriage. It isn't juz abt the $, it's abt a trust broken. And the severity of wat u've done means ur wifey probably can't come to terms wif it... She can't be blamed in this situation, it'll probably take yrs for her to forgive u totally, & another few yrs for her to bury the pain into the deepest recesses of her mind.
Ev. thg happens for a purpose, perhaps this serves as 1 of the harshest lessons of ur life, so tt in future, u'll never ever repeat the same mistake. U never noe: mebbi in future, she'll come back to u? Or u may find someone who'll accept u despite ur past (which shall remain in the past & never be repeated)?
Perhaps she juz needs quiet time to think, so tt her emotions wun cloud her mind, & she can look @ u objectively. Sometimes our hearts tend to rationalise & find reasons to justify a loved ones behaviour. Maintaining her distance is a sensible thg to do. And u haf her word tt she still cares alot abt u, tt's really a bonus, cosh most wifeys wun wanna haf anythg to do wif u, ever again.
Sort out ur life 1st, RJ, before u try to think for 2 again. If u love her so much, sort out all financial problems u haf, so tt she wun hafta worree anymore.
I'm always ard AA, so do keep in touch & keep me updated abt ur life.
FeowFeow
Originally posted by regularjoe:Dear all,
I've found a job at last!
Today, I've just been informed that I've been accepted for a permanent posting to Vietnam. Will be leaving in Jan 05.
While happy to have this opportunity, sad that accepting this will mean having a prolonged period away from my wife. This would mean a recociliation with her is almost zero now... though in the first place, I already know that is so...
I called to share with her the news, but she was angry that I am dumping all the admin hassles of the sale of the flat to her... but in the same breath, she metioned that she will not want to be blamed for me losing my job... sigh... I've never blamed her for my previous job loss...
Well, this indeed seems like a fresh start... and I hope things turn out fine... looking at it, I'll only be in Singapore for around 1 mths + per year.. so it's really a drastic new start... in a foreign land facing the unknown...
Regularjoe,
army girl here, you have to be strong and make a good start in the foreign land, its going to be very painful and i understand how painful it was when my husband went over there, he cried while he was there
and he is that type very strong one, my inlaws threw him in singapore when he was ten years old and he had been left to fend for himself since young and yet he cldnt take the loneliness at the beginning
but now developed countries have less opportunities, developing countries are the ones whom we are encouraged to go. just take it as a new chance
vietnam is very near by and i dun know if you need visa, there are singaporeans working there also maybe you can meet up with them regularly and also you can come back often (if you save up enough) maybe even once a month over the wkend....
I don't know how my wife will cope with this.. but I'm determined to, for once, live for myself...
Regularjoe
Thanks armygirl...Originally posted by armygirl:
Hi gerrykoh,Originally posted by gerrykoh:My relative is in the same situation as u.
Went into bankruptcy from credit card & shares speculation.
Lost his high paying job, car, had to borrow from relatives, sold his flat & downgrade.
Was jobless for more than a yr. depending on wife to support his mum & kid.
Luckily he got a job as relief taxi driver.
Now he is slowly paying off his debt. Gave up gambling even 4-D.
He is now very hardworking & even give her some money to save.
U can do so also. Pull yourself together.
Start from scratch & work hard to slowly clear yr debts.
Thanks ahpeh, for your post.Originally posted by ahpeh:Divorce certainly means the end of a marriage ,but it seems in your case, it does not mean the end of love,however one-sided it may seem.
If you really want to get her back,you should really pull yourself together first,maybe achieve something finacially or be financially stable.you got to face the fact that your wife is probably feeling some sort of resentment towards you,but they will subside over time.so, maintain contact,but dont expect anything happening for a few months or so.give it a year or two,repay her emptional debts back,and most important of all,remain in contact.who knows?maybe another year down the road,you might probably be marrying her once again.in other words, all is not lost.
but that just my opinion.
Originally posted by regularjoe:Today, met my wife again, and ended up hurt all over again...
She told me to let her know when I will be back in Sin for a break so that she can prepare for the divorce proceedings... and when I mentioned that I do not want to let this marriage go just like this, she mentioned again "You forged my signature, isn't there enough grounds?" Do you really want me to also enforce criminal proceedings?" I told her that I am really sorry and I'm prepared to face whatever comes my way. She said" Why don't you just walk to the police station now?"
I was actually totally shocked by this. My heart was completely chilled when I saw the amount of hatred she had...
Another thing, she metioned that all this while she had been living alone in a rented flat, and not with her parents. She told me that all her friends told her not to tell me, but she see no harm telling me now... In addition, she told me to lay off all her friends and family... even mutual friends...
Really sad... I can call up mutual friends and wish them Merry X'mas... yet they call my wife and told my wife they felt "funny and uncomfortable" that I called them...
She even insinuate that I am setting her up for something bad when I had to resort to a Power Of Attorney as I am going overseas soon and is not able to attend the sales session for the flat. Geezz... and also that I had destroyed her retirement plans because other couples have their joint accounts and their own investments...
Today was a day of mauling, and to top it off, she sent me a sms taht says"Forget it, it's over between us. I love the high life and I'm proud of it."
Really a heart breaking day...
Right, I am detaching myself from this gradually... I am starting my life anew andit feels great, suddenly things feel more optimistic... have even managed to make a few new friends ...Originally posted by FeowFeow:RJ,
It wld actually be a gd idea for u to seek some form of counselling, & ur wifey too. The outbursts against u & her emotions may better be explained by a professional counsellor, or @ least someone who's been counselling others for many yrs.
The hatred described by u, cld be a manifestation of the deep anger & sadness @ the betrayal. Her frens cld oso haf influenced her to feel even more anger towards u. This is further evidenced by her frens influencing her choice Not to tell u of her place of lodging.
Try to put this behind u, & work hard in ur new job. It's hard to do, but u'll feel all the more proud after achieving ur goals.
FeowFeow
Right, I am detaching myself from this gradually... I am starting my life anew andit feels great, suddenly things feel more optimistic... have even managed to make a few new friends ...
I understand now what it means to move ahead and not continue to self despair... there is certainly no wrong if one has committed a mistake, asked for forgiveness sincerely, repent and move on...
I have already accepted the fact that I might no longer be able to salvage the marriage, but that does not mean that I will stop trying... and the best strategy is to get myself out of this rut and feel alive again...
these baby steps are important, and they are fraught with obstacles and traps... but once surmounted.. I should be able to run... and there's when life will start to get exciting again...
Kiasu a bit... [b]Here's wishing everyone here a Happy New Year!!!
Cheers!
Tell her to be thankful that at least you are not cheating in your marriage.Originally posted by regularjoe:Hi, I chanced upon this forum, and decided to open up my heart here.
I met my wife 9 years, and we got married 4 years ago. We were quite happily married, but I was hiding a dark secret from her, I was heavily in debt from stock market losses. My debts were rising quickly, till I had problems servicing it. Out of desperation, I took out some loans in my wife's name (means forging her signature). But no matter how hard I worked, never seemed to clear them.
In Oct this year, I finally had enough. I came clean about my debts. My wife was shocked. What was worse was that she found out I forged her signature before I can tell her. She was livid. She packed her bags and left home 2 weeks later.
It's been 2 months since she left home. She has told me that it is impossible for her to trust anyone again, and I have wasted her youth, and destroyed her dreams. She mentioned that we are finished.
I had apologised to her, her parents and have sought for forgiveness. That was the only thing I did wrong in the last 9 years, and i really regretted it. I only committed the folly out of desperation. Why can't she forgive me?
Also, she said that there was no chance for us to get back together, yet she is not taking any actions to serve me the divorce petition.. why is that so? Could that mean that there is a ray of hope for me?
I love her too dearly to let her go, but I know she has been hurt terribly. What can I do to remedy this situation?
I hope for some sincere sharing here...
Many thanks.