now is the query part of what degree to get......all along want accountancy but nfo system managment i can skip a few modules and greatly help me a lot in my diplomaOriginally posted by magnetgal:Haha, double degrees are not easy to get in, and also not easy to study leh dude...
wah u want analytical + maths huh?Originally posted by duotiga83:basically i want to take analyical with some mathathical degree...ask most of them most recommend econs but kinda stuck on choices....not really interested in business management.....
frankly speaking.....i find NTU accountancy is better than SMU and yes i'm keen on the SMU offers in their management modules......most of the questions i have doubts can be answered during the open house and i almost practically ask all the degree programs not just 1.......Originally posted by magnetgal:Seriously...may i ask, u r choosing SMU now bcoz it accepts more poly grads than NTU/NUS isit?
Are u really keen on any of the biz, acc, ism , and social sciences that SMU offers?
If i arent wrong,u will need a merit to enter NTU or NUS.Of course,there are exceptions.If you got lots of As and Bs and you missed the mark for merit a little and get only a pass,chances are u will still be able to get in.this is correct. Anyway do NOT believe if you need very good grades to get into NUS or NTU!
Originally posted by nightzip:i thought scholarships is meant for those with gd grades.....
this is correct. Anyway do [b]NOT believe if you need very good grades to get into NUS or NTU!
me onli got A,C,C for As but managed to get into Mech. Engr. in NUS!
Now, ALWAYS apply and try out, no harm rite? and when you get in, just get a bank, NUS will help you with this, like DBS scholarship rental, they WILL PAY for your school fees, and you ONLY have to pay back like $500 per month AFTER you graduate, INTEREST FREE, untill you FULLY paid back.
LIFE IS NOT AS DIFFICULT AS YOU THINK, JUST DO IT!
you will come back and thank me, trust me![/b]
i'm 22 this yr...ord nxt yr so thats 23........so you are suggesting me work for 1- 2yrs before i start applying?Originally posted by Mr Chumpa Woompa:hmmm if you don't mind you can work first... until you're 25, and then apply to the universities as a mature applicant. that, of course, provided you get a proper job and excel at it, because your employment is going to matter alot in your application.
it's never too late to start studying... and the experience you'll be getting from work will make you look at your studies from a different... probably better point of view?Originally posted by duotiga83:i'm 22 this yr...ord nxt yr so thats 23........so you are suggesting me work for 1- 2yrs before i start applying?i don't want to apply too late
NOPE!, in NUS anyone who want to apply all can wan, its NOT exactly a scholarship, its like a tuition loan.Originally posted by duotiga83:i thought scholarships is meant for those with gd grades.....
that'll be a good idea.Originally posted by duotiga83:i'm now partly worry about the fiance part (sch fees) as i'm supporting myself if i want to study.......so logically speaking i shld work first instead of study?
Originally posted by duotiga83:Well i left abt 1yr2mths to ord frm NS and i nw got a situation. Feel like study after NS but my family don't support me for my fees if i want to go study. I came from TP and grad with computer engineering. My marks is average with exception of 1st yr and i fail a module in yr 3 but manage a P with that module only but a gt a few Ds.
I want to study the following degree is it possible? But shld i work 1st for abt 2yrs then go study? Will i be able to enrol in with my grades?
NUS
Business admin
Computing
COmputer Engineering (under sch of computing)
NTU
Accountancy
Aerospace engineering
COmputer Engineering
SIM
Accountancy
in that case, you can get the SAF or government scholarship mah...Originally posted by duotiga83:today went for the smu open house....really wanted to go there but y mom dont want to support me fiancally .......she told me to sign on saf which i dont want in order to get the $$$.......shld i work for a yr n apply or apply for nxt yr intake? i want to take a shot......sounds crazy but i'm aiming for double degree courses in smu.......
courses want to take in smu is accountacy , econs or information system management
i miss the NUS/NTU open house.....but i did go for today's SMU open house...most of my questions can be answered.....so more or less got confident.....is just i don't want to take a lot of loans......Originally posted by nightzip:i think you may want to go and ask more about it, else you just miss the chance.
Did you go for NUS/NTU open house?
for NUS its over liao, think 2 weeks ago?
anyway, you should serve the NUS/NTU/SMU/SIM website, then email them to check out.
my 2 cents.![]()
which is why shld i take part time or full time job after my ns? thats my question right now.......i dun want to get kick out just because i can't pay sch feesOriginally posted by Mr Chumpa Woompa:that'll be a good idea.
and maybe saving up alot from work will help in easing some of the pressure from the study loan (if you take one) when you are actually studying for your degree...
see which one you're more comfortable with yah?
oh my aunt taught me a nice way to call the period of time one takes in between schooling years to work... she says we can call it a "gap year"
(omg fat cockraach on the flor!!!!)
i find part time kinda taxing for me.......Originally posted by the Bear:dude.. i think your family is constrained by finances huh?
try this.. it's a hell of a tough way to get a degree but i tell you what, the satisfaction is worth the pain...
go work.. get a steady job and then go look for a degree to do.. do it part-time.. it's gonna be difficult but in that way, you can support yourself and your studies too.. and somehow, bring your experiences into the studies you do..
it takes a lot of determination and heck.. you gotta be almost stubborn..
i do hope you'll be able to do it!
i told myself i dun want sign on........but as for others.....can considerOriginally posted by nightzip:in that case, you can get the SAF or government scholarship mah...
then you also get monthly money, think about 1.5k + per month AND they pay for your school fees.
i got many many frens in U take up EDB scholarship, PSA scholarship etc.
the liability is only 6 years bond. but in any case, that means you get iron bowl or confirmed job after you graduate rite? even better?
well, unless you may not like the work environment blah blah.....![]()