well my poly fees have paid.......buti have to repay to mom...i also does not want to take too many loans also...is not a gd tactics either.....Originally posted by browniebaobao:Check it out with the respective schools ba. What we post here might not be 100% correct.
If u really wana study and family dun wana support, try to depend on yourself. Have u paid off ur poly sch fees yet? It's not advisable to take up too many loans coz when u start work intially, you might face financial difficulties.
Originally posted by duotiga83:i find part time kinda taxing for me.......now till ord is the decision time whether shld i apply now or after 2yrs.......
looking at the website now....Originally posted by Mr Chumpa Woompa:aye looks like maybe the solution now is like what nightzip mentioned... get a loan from a bank, which can be paid off in monthly instalments after you complete the course.
have you looked around for more details on the various options u can use to finance your studies? ... bank loans, bonds.... everything...
the choice will be easier to make when you have all the information you need at hand.
Originally posted by duotiga83:looking at the website now....1 section caught my eye........the work-study scheme
if i apply now i'm reserving it for next yr intake......but my mom strongly objectOriginally posted by the Bear:well, take a couple of weeks to think this through..
and if your family still does not want to support you, it would seem like you have to do it part time...
anyway, apply now for NUS or NTU right? and if successful, do you have to take it up or can you reject it at that time?
i'm lost coz i've not been in the education thing for more than 10 years..
*pat 2383 on the back*eh...4D ahh....bo chio?
Originally posted by duotiga83:if i apply now i'm reserving it for next yr intake......but my mom strongly object![]()
thanksOriginally posted by Mr Chumpa Woompa:![]()
don't worry too much yah? i'm sure you'll be able to find a way... somehow. If you're determined enough
*pat 2383 on the back*
tend to drag things....i don't want to drag too muchOriginally posted by the Bear:i guess that's why i figure, get a job, be independent first.. then worry about these things.. you have a lifetime ahead of you..
first things first.. and that's to get independent
frankly speaking...i feel like trying my luck now.......Originally posted by nightzip:part-time study sounds good...
ofcourse, you need to confirm you job liao then study..
as what some say, its ok to get a seat in the univ first, then if you dun want, reject later...
nothing wrong, its like contract law, offer and acceptance. offer can come, but u need not accept later.![]()
Some part-time degree courses take the same period of time as their full-time counterparts, except that the part-time courses consist only of lectures and there are no tutorials at all. Which means, there is ALOT, and I mean ALOT of independent studying and discipline involved.Originally posted by ditzy:Part-time studies is tough. Be mentally prepared to take the stress. Part time studies also drag quite a bit and lets you finish over a longer period of time. I had a number of army pals who started working right out of ord. They went on to pursue part time degrees, only to quit their jobs so they can concentrate on their studies. So an advice is to be ready for whatever comes at you if you're determined to go part time.
Originally posted by duotiga83:arghhhh......the burning of study is in meeee!!!!!!!![]()
Originally posted by nightzip:must endure and....u won't have much 'life' cos its only work<->study and ur weekend is burned to study....ur bf/gf will complain, unless he/she same course lah
can can, anyway, remember that even if you take up [b]full-time,
you can 1). give tuition to get some extra income,
2). also remember, in the semestral holidays, you can go work in restuarants, etc, like cashier, sales, waiter, etc to earn money
3). even DURING school days, you CAN work at night, like night jobs, but not those very tiring one, like what one of my friend did, he was busking in one of the clubs at night, as waiter, in one of the pubs.
Else, if you do in part-time study-work,
you can 1). study and work, dun need to take up too many tuition loans.
2). still give tuition if you have time.
3). but very the tiring, imaging work starts from 8.30am to 5:30pm, and have to rush for lessons in another part of singapore at 6:30pm, most prob, have to eat fast and rush for lessons, then finish lessons at 9:30pm.
4). And since, you taking undergrad lessons, most prob. Point 3 will be EVERYday affair, and not 2-3 times a week as in post-grad course?
5). But point 4, only last 4 years +, so if you can endure through, then you WILL be the final WINNER![/b]
Originally posted by duotiga83:latest update....mom still reject the idea...want me to work for 1-2yrs before study full time....1 thing she said i also miss out though...i can use all the bursary but how bout expenses for 4yrs? another thing is her specialist wants her to go for knee op which she did not tell me.....so LL gotta delay my stdying![]()
NICE...Originally posted by choco B:Despite our dreams and objectives, we are all bound by the circumstances we're in. Sometimes you just gotta do what you have to do. That's life.
If you can't continue your studies now, don't be depressed or bitter over it. There is always an opportunity to study in the future. You just have to be patient and realistic.
Most importantly, remember that learning still takes place at work whatever job you take up. And it's crucial that you be interested in LEARNING, and not just going to school.