It's OK lah.. Not as if you're 1.5m and ur gf is 1.8m, nothing wrong, dun worry too muchOriginally posted by Guru78:My gf is only 1.5m whereas my height is 1.8m. Whenever when we go out, i noticed that people will stare at us. It makes me feel so sad. Of course I know that I shouldn't bother what people think as long as we are in love. However, I hate those superficial idiots who can't see beyond outward appearances. I guess, I too, is one of those idiots since I am affected.
Sometimes, I noticed that people, when they walked past us, they will turn back and point at us. It just makes me so infuriated. Yes..yes..i can just ignore them..but how many can I ignore? How is it possible that I can ignore all these when I keep seeing those people staring at us?
It really pains me..to think that people are treating us as odd couples. My best friends told me this height difference is nothing. If the guy is shorter than the girl or both are 'short', then it would attract more attention.
I just wish I wasn't living in Singapore at times. I lived in Germany before and the people there are more liberal than pointing fingers at something that is just plain superficial.
Damnz.....anyone can suggest anyway to curb this kind of feelings? Thanks.
dat's a good one.. heehee.. ya just simply ignore.. be confident of urself and u will put them to shame.. there's seriously nothing wrong wif that..Originally posted by elindra:You can't really stop it. My hubby and I are of different race and we put up with our fair share of rude stares.
Anyway, I think if people are rude, you don't have to be nice either. What I do is to give them an equally rude stare and he likes to comment loudly, " Dear, why are they staring at us." and I will reply," I don't know, why don't you ask them."
You will see some rude people turning very red and uncomfortable.
Yes we can be real assesbut seriously if they want to be an ass, just treat them like one.
TCS got one married couple is like that... why dont you ask them?Originally posted by Guru78:My gf is only 1.5m whereas my height is 1.8m. Whenever when we go out, i noticed that people will stare at us. It makes me feel so sad. Of course I know that I shouldn't bother what people think as long as we are in love. However, I hate those superficial idiots who can't see beyond outward appearances. I guess, I too, is one of those idiots since I am affected.
Sometimes, I noticed that people, when they walked past us, they will turn back and point at us. It just makes me so infuriated. Yes..yes..i can just ignore them..but how many can I ignore? How is it possible that I can ignore all these when I keep seeing those people staring at us?
It really pains me..to think that people are treating us as odd couples. My best friends told me this height difference is nothing. If the guy is shorter than the girl or both are 'short', then it would attract more attention.
I just wish I wasn't living in Singapore at times. I lived in Germany before and the people there are more liberal than pointing fingers at something that is just plain superficial.
you mean to say that your love is only that shallow that you are bothered by the difference in height?Originally posted by Guru78:My gf is only 1.5m whereas my height is 1.8m. Whenever when we go out, i noticed that people will stare at us. It makes me feel so sad. Of course I know that I shouldn't bother what people think as long as we are in love. However, I hate those superficial idiots who can't see beyond outward appearances. I guess, I too, is one of those idiots since I am affected.
Don't go out...??Originally posted by Guru78:My gf is only 1.5m whereas my height is 1.8m. Whenever when we go out, i noticed that people will stare at us. It makes me feel so sad. Of course I know that I shouldn't bother what people think as long as we are in love. However, I hate those superficial idiots who can't see beyond outward appearances. I guess, I too, is one of those idiots since I am affected.
got problems meh? hey at least u're not the 1.5 while your gf is the 1.8 one.Originally posted by Guru78:My gf is only 1.5m whereas my height is 1.8m. Whenever when we go out, i noticed that people will stare at us. It makes me feel so sad. Of course I know that I shouldn't bother what people think as long as we are in love. However, I hate those superficial idiots who can't see beyond outward appearances. I guess, I too, is one of those idiots since I am affected.
Originally posted by elindra:You can't really stop it. My hubby and I are of different race and we put up with our fair share of rude stares.
Anyway, I think if people are rude, you don't have to be nice either. What I do is to give them an equally rude stare and he likes to comment loudly, " Dear, why are they staring at us." and I will reply," I don't know, why don't you ask them."
You will see some rude people turning very red and uncomfortable.
Yes we can be real assesbut seriously if they want to be an ass, just treat them like one.
Originally posted by HENG@:got problems meh? hey at least u're not the 1.5 while your gf is the 1.8 one.
besides, that bit of pointing is nothing. nothing compared to what i get all the time.![]()
hmmm... with my girl friends u mean. LOLOriginally posted by Lance_han:![]()
wad did u get when u go out wif your GF dude???care to elaborate???![]()
Originally posted by HENG@:hmmm... with my girl friends u mean. LOL
lets put it this way. when people see a big bunch of lesbians, they will always point n stare.
there are a lot of things u never expect of heng@. lets not pry into it and leave it at that.Originally posted by Lance_han:![]()
heng...i nv expected tat....you les???![]()
yes sir...or should it be yes ma'am???Originally posted by HENG@:there are a lot of things u never expect of heng@. lets not pry into it and leave it at that.
one word:GANBETTEOriginally posted by Guru78:Thanks friends!U see..I myself don't think much of height difference, but my love for my girl. That's why I initiated the relationship in the first place.
However, all those pointing just makes me boil most of the time. After two years, still have to encounter all these now and then. I once heard "Hey, look at the couple. One so tall and the other so short. Like giant and the dwarf!". I was so pissed that I stared hard at them but stopped short of giving them a piece of my mind.
Outwardly, I would say my gf is sweet-looking and petite for her height. But my love for her goes beyond looks. Instead, it's her character that makes my heart pounds with happiness whenever I'm with her. To think that some can just refer her as a 'dwarf' really hurts and infuriates me. Imagine she hears it?? I think she's not blind to all these pointing and jokes..but till now, she has not told me she's hurt..maybe it's inside her.
Anyway, hope all these won't affect our relationship. I'm not being sensitive here because I have seen and heard with my own eyes and ears.
I have thought it through. I won't let anyone hurt her in anyway. May all those who criticised us search their own conscience.We will live through it!
good for u. simplest advice i can give is, ignore the idiots.Originally posted by Guru78:Thanks friends!U see..I myself don't think much of height difference, but my love for my girl. That's why I initiated the relationship in the first place.
However, all those pointing just makes me boil most of the time. After two years, still have to encounter all these now and then. I once heard "Hey, look at the couple. One so tall and the other so short. Like giant and the dwarf!". I was so pissed that I stared hard at them but stopped short of giving them a piece of my mind.
Outwardly, I would say my gf is sweet-looking and petite for her height. But my love for her goes beyond looks. Instead, it's her character that makes my heart pounds with happiness whenever I'm with her. To think that some can just refer her as a 'dwarf' really hurts and infuriates me. Imagine she hears it?? I think she's not blind to all these pointing and jokes..but till now, she has not told me she's hurt..maybe it's inside her.
Anyway, hope all these won't affect our relationship. I'm not being sensitive here because I have seen and heard with my own eyes and ears.
I have thought it through. I won't let anyone hurt her in anyway. May all those who criticised us search their own conscience.We will live through it!