Err... If you know much about 'earlier' medical practice, alot of them ain't really that scientific based (but only much more of a chance thing)...Originally posted by Yunhaier:Web? I dunno web. From the oldest Science in the world, it has always been this way and I learn it that way. Maybe you can try typing Medicial Astrology in Yahoo.
Anyway, the field of Medicine is very young (say the last hundred year or so), physician long before that had to study Medicial Astrology even before they are declared professional physician. The field of Medicine back then isn't exactly the core/method of healing the physical body, it was actually a small thing, unlike now. People back then used Hebalism (earlier science of Medicine) and I think alchemy (earlier science of Chemistry) and some even spiritual healing (we still have it now and we call them New Age).
Alexander Fleming didn't exactly discover Penicillin very long ago (in human age). The first antibiotic (If I am not wrong).
As for 'Still got Medicial Astrology?!?' question - it is losing its lush. People generally don't study them in detail anymore because the field of Medicine had taken over the importance of it. If you noticed, in Medicine, there isn't any elemental division within the Medicine itself, unlike say oriental Medicine (Cool/heaty herbs, 4/5 basis elements, etc). Medicine is just... Medicine. There are people who feel that Western Medicine upset their body energy flow (or whatever you calls it), makes them feel weaker and prefer traditional for small problems instead of depending everything on antibiotics.
P.S: Actually I only know pure surface thingy about Medicial Astrology because I don't study them in details. Ask me about Love Astrology and I can tell you a story.
Cheers
http://www.bobmarksastrologer.com/MedicalAstrology29.1.htmOriginally posted by bo liao:Still got medical astro???
So if in career Or Luck is??
Cannot find thru internet..only got say good or bad..or if its possible, mind sharing the web?Thanks.
Originally posted by Devil1976:Err... If you know much about 'earlier' medical practice, alot of them ain't really that scientific based (but only much more of a chance thing)...
No doubt western medications these days like you've mentioned seems to lack 'some things'... But that's only because they're more empirical or scientific based now...
Classic science and empirical science... If you wanna speak of them on a more philosophical sense, of course each of them would mean a different thing...Originally posted by Yunhaier:Actually the 'chance' thing is not exactly word-for-word. From what I know, physician back then had to learn a series of disciplines and in order to diagnose what causes the illness. Birth chart is used to see where and what's wrong with the body. Say, if plantary transit is affecting the Kidney, there will be affliction in Libra or something like that. It may seemed like taking a chance because Libra to everyone is merely balancing scales, but objectively, if you study Medical Astrology, it's more than just scales. And due to Classic Science, as you can't quantify/measure it - there's no way it can be proven by figures, so it is rejected.
Something like Acupuncture; it has been around for ages. Theory of Acupuncture is relating to the flow of 'chi', disrupt it and your body goes in a mess. Classic Science will try to explain the effect of Acupuncture without the 'chi' theory because you can't put a figure or quantify things like 'chi', so they will reject it. But does it works? Yes it does. Result shown from people under treatment benefiting from it. Is that chance? I say, people are just making use of old wisdom passed from old science.
Afterall, back in the ancient, people generally don't suffer from sickness like AIDS or Cancer. People were much healthier then. The diets (preservatives and all kind of stuff they put into our food now, were non-existence then. Soils were richer, food were greener, fresher and purer), almost-free-of-pollution-environment, lifestyle (people had work outdoors, therefore exercise, unlike now 8-5 desk-bound jobs, etc), mental health was so much better, etc.
As civilization moves on, of course, we need new knowledges to combat new challenges. Older Science are generally less appealing, so people don't study them anymore. However, the Science we have now, is merely evolution of older Sciences, with improve theories, school of thoughts and stuff.
Cheers
Originally posted by Yunhaier:Was listening to some chat session between two dudes and the conversation goes something like that:
A: 'Why? I know you want it right?'
B: '(Silence).... but I will respect her...'
A: 'Pls lor, if you make her high, you think she would reject you meh? Start kissing... then fondle her... then soft petting, finally start digging her...By the time she high liao, she can't resist it man.'
B: 'She already told me she wanted to reserve it for her future husband.'
A: 'Eh pls lar, she won't lose it to her future husband... she will lose it to the guy after you - and that guy won't be her husband.
B: 'Yeah, I know that also... but... at least... I won't be that guy right? Anyway, our future is already uncertain... you know what... we already agreed that if I go overseas and study for 2-3 years, we will break up.'
A: 'THAT'S WHY... so shouldn't keep emphasising on this point. She is feeling insecured, so she doesn't want to give it to you.'
B: '....'
Yunhaier: 'Eh please lar, everybody has different preception in a relationship dude. Don't force your preception upon him... and especially since you are such a bad influence (laughs). I mean so what if they had sex and she gives her first to him?
A: 'Ok fine, break up with her lar... you got another girl right? Got bigger boobs ya?'
B: *Nod head*
A: You see ar, deep inside you, you wanted it. But then because you wanted to respect her, you feel that you are not yourself. You see... because of this relationship.. you became someone that is NOT you. I don't believe in changing for anything because ultimately when you are not being yourself, it's a sad thing.'
Yunhaier: '(Head full of theories and words, awaiting to blast out.. only to be restrained) Eh A, what's your astrological sign?'
A: Cancer
B: (Listened deep into A's words)
Yunhaier: (Finally decides that it's useless trying to win A over...different pple... different mindsets) Aiyo... most Cancer guys I know all super fascinated with boobs... probably because Sign of Cancer rule the br3ast. (Everyone giving me that wtf look)... and YOU better don't influence B. He's a Libra.. and fringin` easily sway by people's opinion and words.
A: 'Come on... I am not a bad influence. I am just trying to tell him to be himself. We only got one life here... why must we be so restrictive about everything? It would be so gawd-damn boring sia.. anyway, think about this... the other girl with bigger boobs could do more things in bed. Think about this... br3ast-fark!' B... I think you would like it.
Yunhaier: (Laughs and slap forehead as yunhaier watches A's expression and gestures)
A: She wants you to change so that you could suit her... But why not SHE change to suit you? Eh... come on lar... we are talking about being equal here.'
B: *Silence throughout*
Cheers
Originally posted by Devil1976:Classic science and empirical science... If you wanna speak of them on a more philosophical sense, of course each of them would mean a different thing...
What you've mentioned about acupuncture and 'chi'.... Indeed, have their own 'grounds' and history.... But what you've mentioned about 'chemistry' and such about ancient western practices don't directly stand on the same ground... Western medical has always been more in favor of empirical science... Not that's a totally wrong thing... But classic science approaches in medical has all along been quite extensive in the more 'oriental' approaches... Countries like China, India and perhaps many more.. It don't make much sense to 'compete' with their history but only to reach out more on the 'undiscovered' lands...
Most western medicals (but those were only the early days) were more 'hoax' of sort if you know.. But of course if you wanna find 'meaning' in things, you probably won't miss them if you try hard enough....?
The more 'oriental' approaches you've mentioned are the usage of a 'more empirical' system of classifications and categorising testings and such... It might not give such an 'informatic' direct breakdown but has its own uses especially in applications wise...
It's really quite a theoreotical thing... Think I'll just stop here for now?