Originally posted by Devil1976:
1st thing. Understand that this is all a passing phase in most guys in Singapore. You can consider yourself 'unlucky' if you want to, that you happens to be with him during this phase and he happens to have other commitments attached to him at the same phase...
You have to learn this thing about 'commitments'. Understand that sometimes we have limited time and energy for things. One way or another, we still have to handle it. Though sometimes we just can't 'satisfy it all'... Try to be a little more tolerant with him for now... Understanding...? At least he's not out clubbing and having fun away with other girls behind your back... And treasure this bf of yours who has a good sense of responsibility for commitment which would probably be quite a GOOD POINT for you in your relationship in the future...
The BETTER NEWS... This 'phase' would probably fade in time to come... NS... BMT (the earlier phase of NS service) is often the more 'busy' part with lots of restrictions... Of course, there'll be periods on and off in which he'll be more busy and tied up with his NS issues... But this early point is crucial... Generally speaking, it should be better as he's attached out to units....
Then comes the 'after 2 years' (after NSF)... If both of you survived it that is...? Hehheh... Probably the 'fruit' and a more 'fruitful relationship' if both of you learn how to appreciate and respect each other now... And by giving him more understandings for now, you'll probably command more respect from him as well..? And a higher sense of maturity in handling the relationship in the future...?
So I say you can either learn to overcome and make the better of this relationship at this phase for now, or just 'give up' or be prepared for a losing battle in the future...?

As for the 'attachments' to his family... Personally suggest...
Go down to his workplace on Sundays... Spend time with him (don't care who else is there...) and his family members... When the time is ripe, just politely reject or let his parents know when you'll like to be alone with him by making simple excuses... When you get them to accept and like you, it shouldn't be too difficult for them to see your point...?

[/b][/quote]
Hmm.. Coz.. Goin down his workplace is weird.. Out of place.. His dad is a car mechanic..
And.. Goin there did be jus interferin with my bf job.. plus by the time he ends work bt 3.. he needs to be assemble by bout 7.30pm.. so.. travellin time to n fro.. TAkes up alot of time.. unless.. he don go work..
He jus doesn noe say no..
Hehe.. I was the one who told him to consider his commitments b4 he wants step into a r/s.. If he isn ready, dun step into one in the 1st place... or if u feel ur commitment is work n family.. let's forget it...
He keep sayin give him time.. he'll change... but..
will it ever stop?
He is realli a gd guy.. but being so family orientated... Wat if nx time if we last till marriage.. he is still mummy / daddy boy... EVery wk runnin home to his parents, i could jus died!
Coz.. nOw is askin him.. CAn alt sun we go out? one wk u go work.. one wk we go out.. Coz i noe tat.. It wun be jus tis 3mths of bmt..
Subsequently it be all e same.. as long as if he isn in Ns.. He will be in work..
His dad was e one who kinda encourage him to quit school.. Coz he failed some major module.. n mus retak.. His dad was sayin tat.. Faster finish ns.. come out can help mi liao..
Even b4 ns.. He is forever workin de lor.. onli at nite after his work then he will come out.. and his half dae sun.. Mostly reserved for family outins..
V seldom he can meet out with mi...
He always can't confirm wit mi.. say i will ask on mon.. tis sun u can come out not?? erm erm..
if reali v gd.. sat he can say yes or no.. Or else.. moSt of the time.. I can onli get the ans on e sun itself.. N usually nope.. mY dad goin bring us here or i mus go my ah ma house, etc..