this i cannot agree.Originally posted by Deportivo:go to the boss in person and explain the situation.
you advantage is that you have been in the office in 7 years. my guess is that your boss will be able to tell who is wrong and who is right.
Glad you're thinking with your cool head...Originally posted by august2005:Oh no, i am new to the company. Only here for 3 mths...in fact right from the start when i just join, i already could sense that she felt threatened. And i heard that she was saying things behind my back as well which explained why sometimes pple i hardly talk to show me black face or ignore me when i smile at them...she probably has already poison their mindset about me.
my 7 yrs of working experience was with other companies.
I heard that she knew my boss for 10 yrs liao...so that's y i am hesitant and dunno what to do next..one wrong move could cost me my job.
You bet it would be a tiring war...Originally posted by heavenlyfire:one more advise..since you are new, i will strongly advise you to watch (observe the fire from opposite-another stratergy) and observe the stituation more..knowing the boss for 10 yrs doesnt mean anything...the boss may not like her, you don know..she may know a lot of things about her work and the boss has no choice, she is also most likely to keep some skills for herself that is so valued..learnt her skills secretly,be humble.
know stuffs like, what is the characteristics of your boss? shrewd or loyal? meaning will he removed the old thing if he found out you can do her work?afterall she has been so long in the company and the salary she is drawing may be enough to hired 2 you or will your boss valued relationship?
if you really want to play such game...it will be very tiring...so the choice is up to you...maybe you can just be yourself...
Maybe you were seeing 'value' in a wrong way...?Originally posted by dragg:this i cannot agree.
i left my jobs of 9 years due to heavy office politics. it is never about how valuable you are.
i have always thought that being hardworking is the key to at least hold on to my job. i was wrong.Originally posted by Devil1976:Maybe you were seeing 'value' in a wrong way...?
Then again.. What's the 'right' way...?![]()
Nay... Failures can always be the start to better things to come... It's all just a matter of how you look at things..? It's ok to be beaten... But don't be beaten flat... Pick yourself up and start walking again...Originally posted by dragg:i have always thought that being hardworking is the key to at least hold on to my job. i was wrong.
i tried very hard to avoid confrontation and keep myself away from office politics.
i have to say i failed miserably.
that's why keeping such old birds the company willnever grow...big boss tink he is safe wif those old hands no thread he can stay on top forever fire new better guys but in the end company have to cut cost one oof his trusted lackey eventually got promoted and kick the big boss out of placeOriginally posted by the Bear:when the office has politics going on, it's impossible to avoid...
one of my colleagues who is also a friend, was posted to the sewing circle we call HR... he did his work, when it was finished, he minded his own business, when he was required to do stuff, he did it without complaint...
thing is, he was the only male guy there amongst about 8 other women.. and they were a terrible lot...
guess what? within 8 months, he was posted out.. the shortest stint of anyone anywhere in my huge organisation...
just because he was not part of the sewing circle, and he did his job diligently (which made them look bad)..
sad isn't it?
Originally posted by timble:I'm not sure if I should start another thread. I really need advice on this as I am just too vexed. Think I am too "nice" to my sub.
My sub has a punctuality problem. She left early yesterday while we were all on course. She would usually leave a message if she is leaving early but she didn't. So I wanted to know what time did she exactly leave this morning.
She went round telling everyone "Damn that bicth" etc.. Isn't it only right to inform your sup if you are leaving early? Isn't right of the sup to ask if the sub is in the wrong? U see, I'm now in an awkward situation for doing the right things and not interacting with people whom I think are hypocrites. For their own agenda, they are ganging up against me. Now just for that, she is now plotting to be On Top of that when she leaves the place. What shall i do now? How to guard against her? She has not been doing a good job and has been warned several times. But we keep giving chances and now she has found an "ally".
It's so difficult to work with these people with bad mouth, bad manners and no integrity. Goodness!
as i said earlier i left my job of 9 years. i had a problematic subordinate then. she is rude and has a major attitude problem.
try as much as you can to have her removed. otherwise you might end up just like me.
FYI she backstabbed me.
Appreciate genuine advice pls. Tks
it is extremely frustrating when you have bosses that cannot make right decisions. i once spoke to my bosses about my subordinate's poor attitude. my swiss boss said 'you cant compare. not everybody is good like you'. my local lady GM said 'she is rude to you because you did not earn her respect'.Originally posted by timble:they already started last year. Just few weeks ago, it was a massive attack against me in front of everyone. mY boss was taken in by their poison last year and earlier this year. But luckily, he realised that they have their own agenda for doing /requesting for certain things and against me.
My relationship with my sub was still fine. Though I told her which areas she should improve on, she will still take it. And it's always done very pleasantly. But thru calculated scheme of some people, my Sub was completely bought over and will report to them whatever things she is unhappy about me. Then they will blow things out of proportion together.
Anyway, it's getting so stifling.. I do not want to cost my sub of her job yet I dunno what horrible and immoral things they will do. It's unimaginable what kind of things they can abuse and accuse me of, even when my boss is ard. And my boss, being "nice", just let them call me names at will.
It's an uphill war against the schemers. They wanted me to "join them, since I can't beat them" but I won't want to compromise just cos I am alone in this battle.

aiyoh, let her teach lor, but observe from behind, haha time to relax, got goondoos work for me. Usually office politics invloves more on women, dunno why, last time my company also like that but luckily I got a soulmate there and the guys were great and friendly. the girls are like gossipers...... Can some girls tell me why?Originally posted by august2005:Hopefully, she will get what she deserve...but i doubt so since she can suck up so well to the boss...right now, she is at it again...trying to teach another new senior manager how to use the SAP system when actually it is supposed to be my job as i am the MIS manager...who is she to teach...terrible bitch.
Originally posted by dragg:it is extremely frustrating when you have bosses that cannot make right decisions. i once spoke to my bosses about my subordinate's poor attitude. my swiss boss said 'you cant compare. not everybody is good like you'. my local lady GM said 'she is rude to you because you did not earn her respect'.
i should have pushed for her dismissal. coz eventually she ganged with the GM which eventually resulted in my resignation.
there isnt much that i can advise. just be ready to lose your job if things dont work out. it happened to me and i am telling from experience. as much as you do not want to 'play the game', sometimes situation leaves you with little or no choice.
coz power makes people go crazy.Originally posted by timble:I feel for you...
People who doesn't know how to protect themselves always lose out in the end. I refuse to be like them. Sometimes I feel really stupid. One of them apparently hates me over a misunderstanding. After the "attack me" session, the older colleague was sad someone is leaving. So I tot abt it long and hard"it's not worth it that someone else is leavin becos of me.
Thus,despite the verbal abuses, I actually wanted to initiate a chit chat session (via email cos dunno how she wld react) with her just in the hope that she will not be rashed. As it turns out, she took the initiation as a sign of guilt and laughed it off with my sub, saying that she threw me in the trash can. Anyway, I think she is not leaving lah. I am just toooooo stupid.
Doesn't pay to be nice to these people. The way they treat vendors also reflect their character. And their explanation //If you are too nice, the vendors will take advantage of you. So must scold them like hell (meaning insult their intelligence, professionalism etc). To users and important people, they will suck up to them.
I really hate working with such people. Dragg, I know what u mean absolutely. It's the survivors game. If I refused to participate., I'll have to be prepared. I'm already sitting in a corner trying to do my work. Why can't they just behave like normal beings?
I agree, largely, with these 2 sentences, but of course not all females are bad.Originally posted by dragg:coz power makes people go crazy.
working life sucks, female colleagues sucks even more, female boss sucks super big time.
Did u quit without a job? Many times? Is there really a place without office politics?Originally posted by varatare:I Super hate office politics.
Once office politics step in, I am out of there.
The work place is the second longest spending place in my life. Hate to work in uncomfortable environment.
However for those out there, office politics is a game where either you are in or you are out. So if you wanna continue to work in a work place that is full of office politics. Then even if you are not the best attacker, you have to be the best defender.![]()
Originally posted by timble:Did u quit without a job? Many times? Is there really a place without office politics?
I wished I were Davinder Singh.:I