U lucky to have me just learbt to be liar from engcock. U go visit the website:Originally posted by Anyagerger:Hi,
Can anyone let me know the procedure on how to submit claims from the driver from a road traffic accident ?
Thanks
Originally posted by PaiKiaTao:
First off, gonna have to disclaim all errors stated within this message! This is not a legal advice! They are entirely based on my personal and not professional experience & knowledge; it is still your responsibility to research the authencity of my statements!Originally posted by Anyagerger:Hi,
Can anyone let me know the procedure on how to submit claims from the driver from a road traffic accident ?
Thanks
Originally posted by Anyagerger:My mum was involved in a Road Traffic Accident.
She suffered from head injuries however we do not know whether it was caused by the accident.
We have been calling the police officer who is in charge of this case, he keep telling us to wait while investigations are still going on.
My mum as a result for this, is not responsive to us anymore.
She is unable to give her part of the statement to the police.
Currently there is only the driver and one witness' statement.
My mum will incur alot of aftercare expense once she is discharge from the hospital .... She has been thru 2 brain operations and now have a hole in her neck to help her breath ... and in ICU for about 3 weeks liao ... she can only open her eyes now ... but no response from her at all ... She is likely to suffer alot of infection after this as she is not able to move any part of her body liao.
Doctor ssy she might stay like that for the rest of her life unless a miracle happen now ...
hmm sad to hear about the cases but then i have to say give the cops a break they may not be able to say anything cos may be sensitive even if you are part of the affected parties and of course sometimes they also can't find out whats wrongOriginally posted by browniebaobao:
Tp wun tell u much.
My father died this Jan but till now, we still cannot tell what caused his death, was it the driver's fault or my father was reckless. Those tp juz delay and delay, refuse to tell us anything. We can only get our lawyer to get the information and will only know the truth when we go to court in Sept.
Originally posted by hisoka:hmm sad to hear about the cases but then i have to say give the cops a break they may not be able to say anything cos may be sensitive even if you are part of the affected parties and of course sometimes they also can't find out whats wrong
Originally posted by browniebaobao:
who actually pushed away all responsibilities and refused to let us see the body ar? Gave us false information and refused to assist as when we begged to see the body. who failed to inform us immediately when he was still alive? 3 years after the accident he was still in hospital. No one informed us. His idetinifcaiton, hp, wallet etc all with him. 6 hours later, police came knocking on our door and told us my father died. Should them be given a break? We only want to know what caused his death, even the officer himself keep preotecing his subordinate, giving lame excuses. There's no justice.
Originally posted by FeowFeow:Ohmigawd, I didn't know what you'd gone through!I'm so sorry to hear this
I'm going to try & explain this matter to you a little, & hopefully it'll help to lessen your pain.
The police may Not be trying to push responsibility, but there's the oft-heard & oft-said phrase, "A person is innocent till proven guilty". Hence, the traffic police will need to establish from all possible angles that it is the fault of the other driver before charging that person with careless/inconsiderate/reckless driving. 3 years seem a tad long though.
From what I know, the traffic police have quite a no. of cases to handle, & perhaps, they're unable to do things as fast as you would like them to. I do understand how you feel, I would react the same way if I were in your shoes. I won't claim to know the goings-on in the traffic police department, but I think that a fair amount of work is sometimes necessary in order for them to assess liability of the driver.
I'm so sorry to hear that this happened to you, though
FeowFeow
Though I'm not speaking of all policeman, but yup... There're certainly SOME VERY IRRESPONSIBLE POLICEMAN around... I've personally came across a couple... They can just stand around with their arms folded while the other party is breaking the law before their very eyes, then they turn to you and ask you to 'settle this' yourself... And often, their superiors would just defend them if they maintain a relatively good rapport with them... Afterall, the superiors would still need their men to work for them....Originally posted by browniebaobao:
Dear Feow Feow,
I'm actually still very angry that the TP Junior Officer told us that there's no way we could look at the body when we rushed down immediately after we heard the news. What took them so long to inform us? 6 hours! Damn them! My mum cooked hor fun and waited for dad to come home..coz he said he want to eat that.. But he never return... She couldn't takle the blow..First time in my 20 years, I saw my mum cry out loud. She kept saying that he wanted to eat Hor Fun.. he left with an empty stomach.
And yet, the hospital and traffic police staff did not want to let us see the body, claiming that we should be there within 2 hours after his death. Come on, we were informed only 3 hours later after he was pronounced dead. Who wants to see a dead body when we could have actually seen his last before he was pronounced dead. i read the medical report.. I know the pain my dad was going thru. He was struggling and in great pain. If we were there with him for the 3 hours when he was alive, perhaps he might live. We couldn't make it there...he went thru all that alone.
What were they doing? I wana know. 6 hours? It's not a joke man! If the one lying there was their father, they would be as annoyed as me. My sis called up the officer in charge and he said he could not help us. But we actually found out from the hospital that as long as an officer is around, we could see the body. So my sis confronted him over the phone. Insisted that he give us his identification number etc. And you know what? He gave us a false name. We only know some time after the funeral.
I'm NOT pointing my finger at the driver, coz we still duno whose fault was that. We will only know on the day of the hearing. But I duno whether they will defend the driver, coz he's a Malaysian. I'm angry with those people involved, for not informing us, for not helping us, for pushing responsibilities when what we wanted was just to see his body! We waited and waited.. Sis and her frens fought for it..then we could see the body after 12am. We waited around 2 hours. The investigating officer told my sis that that officer in charge is a junior, and under such circumstances, he surely defend himself. So what? he's at fault and yet he still got the cheek to push responsibility and gave us false information? Sept 5, we'll see them in court.
Feow Feow, thank u for comforting me. But I cannot forgive them.
bbb
Dear Feow Feow,
I'm actually still very angry that the TP Junior Officer told us that there's no way we could look at the body when we rushed down immediately after we heard the news. What took them so long to inform us? 6 hours! Damn them! My mum cooked hor fun and waited for dad to come home..coz he said he want to eat that.. But he never return... She couldn't takle the blow..First time in my 20 years, I saw my mum cry out loud. She kept saying that he wanted to eat Hor Fun.. he left with an empty stomach.
And yet, the hospital and traffic police staff did not want to let us see the body, claiming that we should be there within 2 hours after his death. Come on, we were informed only 3 hours later after he was pronounced dead. Who wants to see a dead body when we could have actually seen his last before he was pronounced dead. i read the medical report.. I know the pain my dad was going thru. He was struggling and in great pain. If we were there with him for the 3 hours when he was alive, perhaps he might live. We couldn't make it there...he went thru all that alone.
What were they doing? I wana know. 6 hours? It's not a joke man! If the one lying there was their father, they would be as annoyed as me. My sis called up the officer in charge and he said he could not help us. But we actually found out from the hospital that as long as an officer is around, we could see the body. So my sis confronted him over the phone. Insisted that he give us his identification number etc. And you know what? He gave us a false name. We only know some time after the funeral.
I'm NOT pointing my finger at the driver, coz we still duno whose fault was that. We will only know on the day of the hearing. But I duno whether they will defend the driver, coz he's a Malaysian. I'm angry with those people involved, for not informing us, for not helping us, for pushing responsibilities when what we wanted was just to see his body! We waited and waited.. Sis and her frens fought for it..then we could see the body after 12am. We waited around 2 hours. The investigating officer told my sis that that officer in charge is a junior, and under such circumstances, he surely defend himself. So what? he's at fault and yet he still got the cheek to push responsibility and gave us false information? Sept 5, we'll see them in court.
bbb
Dear Feow Feow,
bbb
Originally posted by Devil1976:Though I'm not speaking of all policeman, but yup... There're certainly SOME VERY IRRESPONSIBLE POLICEMAN around... I've personally came across a couple... They can just stand around with their arms folded while the other party is breaking the law before their very eyes, then they turn to you and ask you to 'settle this' yourself... And often, their superiors would just defend them if they maintain a relatively good rapport with them... Afterall, the superiors would still need their men to work for them....
Originally posted by FeowFeow:Dear BaoBao,
I've asked around, & this is what I've managed to find out regarding what you can do to have your grievance addressed. Draft a formal complaint letter to the Head of Investigations Traffic Police, and list down in chronological order what happened. Although I know it's gonna be difficult Not to be emotional, please at least appear civil & calm in your letter, & Not go in with your guns blazing (you'll know why in the next para).
After listing everything in chronological order, ask questions, again in a calm & civilised manner, & ask for them to revert to you within the next 5 or 7 or 14 days. THEN, cc. your letter to the Commissioner of Police, & Ministry of Home Affairs.
Usually, this will spur them into action. I hope this will help you to at least get some justice or deeper investigation into what happened, & some closure. I'm really sorry to hear what's happened to you. Honestly, what you'd written brought tears to my eyes. It was an effort to keep from crying.
FeowFeow
I totally agree with u.Originally posted by sgboy:Dear all,
Very sad and sorry to hear about all your stories. But police are all of the same kind. Try to defend ownself for his job and promotion.
For such cases, it will be great if you could get a lawyer, probably a criminal lawyer, and best major in traffic cases, to go with you to see the officer in charge. The police, no matter what rank, will think before he speak and not talking rubbish and nonsense to you.
This is what I have done and everything goes in order. I don't talk or write to the police. All letters wrote to the officer in charge are copied to Head Investigation, (sometimes Commander Traffic Police) and the Service Improvement Unit (SIU of MHA). My lawyer do for me but of course, got to pay. Replies from the police are damn fast.
Thank u Feow Feow for ur help, and sorry to make u cry..
Our lawyer will write the letter..but ur info still comes in useful, as my sis might wana do something about it also. However, we cannot do anything now..in fear that they might do something that will not benefit us..give false information and say that it's my father's fault and we can't seek redress.
Sued for slandering? What a joke! We suffered injustice and have to fear of getting ourselves into trouble instead. Where is justice? I dun see any. Some people think that I over reacted, but put themselves in my shoes, they will feel the same way too. No matter what, I want people to know the truth, the ugly truth!
It can be a DARK WORLD out there... At least your lawyer knows what he / she is saying...Originally posted by browniebaobao:
Hi Devil!
Ya we heard a lot from our lawyer.
He also suggested that we dun take any action now, wait till after the verdict because he is worried that the TP will side their people and become biased, giving false information that will not benefit us. He is a lawyer in criminal cases, so he had seen his clients being threatened by those police..
Thanks Feow Feow!Originally posted by FeowFeow:Hi BaoBao,
You're most welcome, I felt I just had to do something when I read about your plight, it's really heartbreaking.
May your case proceed successfully, & do keep me posted about the matter, ok?
FeowFeow
Originally posted by mangolover:Dear Brownie,
I also felt sorry to hear about your sad incident ... I am unable to offer any comforting words as I myself is also facing some problems now .. but I believe our hearts will be with you in this forum ... I hope the truth will unveil when you attend court in Sep ..
Talking about "A person is innocent until proven guilty". Seriously, I am not sure whether this is true in Singapore ... I am very very doubtful ... To me, it's more like "You are guilty until proven innocent" ..
Sorry I might have been too prejudice in this aspect but I do have my fair share of unpleasant encounters ...