any input from u?? decided already???Originally posted by superdic1:no more input liao??![]()
Hi there, just some points for your consideration, frankly if you're thinking of HK, HKD1200 a month is not enough. The income tax rate here is 17% and housing cost can come up to HKD8 to 12k per month depending on where the flat is and we are talking about a 500 to 600 sq ft apartment. More like HKD30 to 40K per month is the bare minimum. I agree with that one should try to broaden your horizons and experience, but without sufficient cashflow, it can be painful. With 12k a month, you can barely afford to experience life here. Best wishes and good luckOriginally posted by superdic1:no more input liao??![]()
uncle.... if it's according to what u say.. then most HK ppl die already lor....fresh grad is earning only 8k to 10k there now and u need around 5 to 10 yrs of experience b4 u can get more than 20K there lor...and... also.. almost EVERYONE got a degree here.... so ur 30K to 40K bare minimum is only for those KUM LAN KIA that dun have money still want to act rich and anymore spend one lah...Originally posted by golani_bde:Hi there, just some points for your consideration, frankly if you're thinking of HK, HKD1200 a month is not enough. The income tax rate here is 17% and housing cost can come up to HKD8 to 12k per month depending on where the flat is and we are talking about a 500 to 600 sq ft apartment. More like HKD30 to 40K per month is the bare minimum. I agree with that one should try to broaden your horizons and experience, but without sufficient cashflow, it can be painful. With 12k a month, you can barely afford to experience life here. Best wishes and good luck
Hi, I wasn't trying to pull your leg. It is true that fresh grads nowadays mostly get 8 to 10K in HK. Life here is tough for most people and the income disparity is much larger than in Singapore. But the difference is that these chaps have the option of staying with ma & pa and not pay the 8 to 10k monthly rental. Some fresh grads I know pack lunch boxes from home as a norma/typical lunch in central cost HKD25 to 40 and transport cost a day is about HKD20 to 30.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):uncle.... if it's according to what u say.. then most HK ppl die already lor....fresh grad is earning only 8k to 10k there now and u need around 5 to 10 yrs of experience b4 u can get more than 20K there lor...and... also.. almost EVERYONE got a degree here.... so ur 30K to 40K bare minimum is only for those KUM LAN KIA that dun have money still want to act rich and anymore spend one lah...![]()
uncle where u living now? I am in Tai Po what about u?? 30K to 50K for average joe after 10yrs?? wow...they must be very average joe scholar then...Originally posted by golani_bde:Hi, I wasn't trying to pull your leg. It is true that fresh grads nowadays mostly get 8 to 10K in HK. Life here is tough for most people and the income disparity is much larger than in Singapore. But the difference is that these chaps have the option of staying with ma & pa and not pay the 8 to 10k monthly rental. Some fresh grads I know pack lunch boxes from home as a norma/typical lunch in central cost HKD25 to 40 and transport cost a day is about HKD20 to 30.
On the pay progression, depending on the industry, eg. in finance I think the average Joe would do 30 to 50k after 10 years, not 20k. Still a wide range as the finance field is large. Of course some blokes do much better than that, but I'm referring to the average Joe.
I hope I didn't sound rude, but I was hopping the info I provided can help him make a gauge on what pay level is sufficient. No point coming all this way to find that you have no money for socialising and enjoying your weekend. Life is tough as it is.....
I'll rather go China.......Originally posted by superdic1:thanks for all the respond...
the HK lubang already gone, so put HK aside, how abt our neighbour M'sia and China?
Oh, I'm on mid-levels. But what I quoted is true for the banking industry in general. Not pulling your leg. So what's up in Tai Po? Nice wildlife sactuary there I heard, though I haven't had the time to go there.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):uncle where u living now? I am in Tai Po what about u?? 30K to 50K for average joe after 10yrs?? wow...they must be very average joe scholar then...![]()
30K maybe if u a LUCKY AVERAGE JOE but 50K??? convert to SGD that's about SGD11k, just ask how many heartlander in sg earn that amount after 10yrs.....the cost of living in hk is also not as high as outsider thought....housing is the only thing that is mad here.. the rest it's not so much higher... some is even cheaper.....
e.g
EVM from mac = 4.82
hp= 13 for 550min
internet=21.25 for 6mb broadband
so...u think it over urself lor...![]()
nice wildlife??? banking industry??? ya ya... u are not pulling my leg just talking cock nia lah...hahhaha.... like i said....ur average joe is not that average after all... even in banking line....earning that at is possible but it is sure not the normal.... oh.. maybe in US it isOriginally posted by golani_bde:Oh, I'm on mid-levels. But what I quoted is true for the banking industry in general. Not pulling your leg. So what's up in Tai Po? Nice wildlife sactuary there I heard, though I haven't had the time to go there.
No wildlife? Are you really in Tai Po :-)Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):nice wildlife??? banking industry??? ya ya... u are not pulling my leg just talking cock nia lah...hahhaha.... like i said....ur average joe is not that average after all... even in banking line....earning that at is possible but it is sure not the normal.... oh.. maybe in US it is![]()
hahahahaha wildlife is everywhere in HK lah. dun have to come tai po lah....hahahahahahhahahahaahhaah.....and since u say it's investment banking now.. then i dun think every average joe is working in that line right????? hahahahahahahah...Originally posted by golani_bde:No wildlife? Are you really in Tai Po :-)
Well, may be I should have said investment banking, not retail or corp banking.
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):hahahahaha wildlife is everywhere in HK lah. dun have to come tai po lah....hahahahahahhahahahaahhaah.....and since u say it's investment banking now.. then i dun think every average joe is working in that line right????? hahahahahahahah...![]()