Originally posted by Mr Normal:She did not force me to believe in God or go to church. Whatever questions I have, she will just be patient enough to listen and answer them. If we agree, good thing. If we don't, argument again.
She will not accept relationship of different religion. She had only started because I was open-minded to it.
How ironic but hit the head on the nail so true.Originally posted by CannyOng:Final conclusion...She loves God more than u!
Erm...I think they will always place God first in their life...esp Christians...my bf is one and he told me that...I have nothing against that tho...Originally posted by rogue13:How ironic but hit the head on the nail so true.
Sometimes one cannot but wonder the paradox of religion; is it to bring people together or to separate people?
I once had a Muslim gf who claimed she loved me more than her parents but insisted I convert.
For those interested to know ending:- She is now engaged to another Muslim in less than 1/2 year she knew him. And as for me, I am only left with my PC to play MMORPG and suck thumb.
I got a friend same situation like the above illustration.. So sad cuz they looked like such a great couple. Again in the end, the girl got married in less than 1/2 a year.Originally posted by Mr Normal:Thanks for your advice...although I would prefer someone with a different nickname(Pun intended)
I think Christians got strong and not that strong loh. We respect each other a lot. We also love each other too. It's just that faith is a personal thing and whenever she senses something wrong with me, we will start to debate about it again. It is ok at first, but as time passes, slowly taking a toll.
I illustrate a bit for you...
My case: I love her >>> then love God >>> then she loves me back
Her case: She loves God >> I love God >> then she loves me back
If 2nd stage got break, no need to talk about 3rd stage liao...
Thanks, rainee. I finished reading all the pages. Your situation is better than mine, I guess. Anyway, this is not the first time I heard about your bf's church. I've heard of other people kanna scolded too 'cause their gf/bf not Christian. Worse still, the fella a girl....kanna scolded until cry. Guess I have to thank God my gf not from there...Originally posted by rainee:I have had problem with this before...
I will post the link to my problem here in a minute, when I can find it...
edited: Here's the linkhttp://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=142170
Originally posted by Mr Normal:My gf Christian and myself Buddhist/free thinker. If religion not involved, we love each other very much. But everytime we talk about it, it always ends up very sour, sometimes resulting in possible break-ups.
Listen to me and believe that not all Christians the same loh. She did not force me to believe in God or go to church. Whatever questions I have, she will just be patient enough to listen and answer them. If we agree, good thing. If we don't, argument again.
Now I nearly have all my questions answered except this one "Why do bad things happen to good people?" I been dealt a big blow in life and it nearly took away my life. But I am not a bad person, I do not smoke, drink, stray or do any other bad stuff. Then now the argument became so serious, that despite our love for each other, a break seems inevitable. She will not accept relationship of different religion. She had only started because I was open-minded to it.
Sigh...she is really a very nice girl. One that is not materialistic, understanding and patient. Now because of something out of this world, I gg to lose her. Is this right?
Anybody got this problem before? How you solve?
Originally posted by Mr Normal:My gf Christian and myself Buddhist/free thinker. If religion not involved, we love each other very much. But everytime we talk about it, it always ends up very sour, sometimes resulting in possible break-ups.
Listen to me and believe that not all Christians the same loh. She did not force me to believe in God or go to church. Whatever questions I have, she will just be patient enough to listen and answer them. If we agree, good thing. If we don't, argument again.
Now I nearly have all my questions answered except this one "Why do bad things happen to good people?" I been dealt a big blow in life and it nearly took away my life. But I am not a bad person, I do not smoke, drink, stray or do any other bad stuff. Then now the argument became so serious, that despite our love for each other, a break seems inevitable. She will not accept relationship of different religion. She had only started because I was open-minded to it.
Sigh...she is really a very nice girl. One that is not materialistic, understanding and patient. Now because of something out of this world, I gg to lose her. Is this right?
Anybody got this problem before? How you solve?
Thanks, FeowFeow. I've pm-ed you...Originally posted by FeowFeow:Dear Mr Normal,
This question of yours brought back such painful memories for me. It's because of a situation like this that I lost a very dear friend of mine. Basically, I used to be a Christian. My dear friend was a free-thinker, & his family members were Buddhists. Hence, he grew up with a very strong Buddhist influence.
I knew him before he started dating this lady, who's now his wifey. When they started talking marriage, the wifey kept forcing Christianity on him, & even threatened to leave him if he didn't convert to her religion. Every single 1 of her friends, & even her family members were putting pressure on him. When she got to know me through him, she even put pressure on me to talk to him, because according to her, he listens more to me.
I somehow recoiled at the idea, & although I know this is a sensitive issue, I beseech Christians to Not look at this as blasphemy, but rather, someone who's just sharing her experiences (which I've always done in AA). Anyway, I kept telling her to give him time.
Things got so bad that they nearly split up, & my friend kept calling me for advice. Somehow, the wifey (then gf) didn't like it, & sought to sow discord. Eventually, she succeeded. She also managed to force him to convert to Christianity. But even when he called me to meet up after that & their marriage, she would get angry at the mention of my name. Naturally, since he's my friend (& he'll always be), I didn't wish to ruin their marriage. He went through so much to marry her...
I got outta his life. Today, they've migrated to another country. I'm Not sure how they are, but I hope they're happy. But for me, I saw a side of Christians I would rather have Not seen. Now, I'm with another religion that, in my view, is more tolerant & patient. I shall Not extol the virtues too much to avoid a clash with devoted Christians here.
In any case, this was 1 of the most painful experiences I've come across. Because I wouldn't help that girl, I lost a friend I cherished, & he obviously treasured the friendship as well, because when I told him that for his own sake, we should Not keep in touch, he shed tears & sobbed.
I suppose there's No delicate way around such things when some individuals are so adamant about their beliefs. I sincerely wish you well.
Please PM me if you need a talk.
FeowFeow
yeah.. i went to this church once, and at tat tym i was wit the muslim girl, could say she was my first love.. and suddenly while at church.. a voice sprang and it kept telling me to break off the rel.. well,, i really broke off ah.. n im real sad.. till now.. but i do noe tat the girl still has smth for me ah.. so i guess its jus smth god didnt want to happen.. destiny perhaps?? so mayb its destiny we're talkin about???Originally posted by browniebaobao:My buddy told me jesus touched my heart. Coz her mum ever felt this way before and so she went to ask the priest what happened. The priest told her that Jesus knows she had a lot of suffering inside her and wanted to help her release by crying. Since then, she became a christian lor. But for me, I felt invaded. Sorry, no offence to christians. I respect ur religion and I hope u respect mine too. I know that in the studies of christianity, all other religions are evil.
u mean ur god asked u to break up with her?Originally posted by ua_24:yeah.. i went to this church once, and at tat tym i was wit the muslim girl, could say she was my first love.. and suddenly while at church.. a voice sprang and it kept telling me to break off the rel.. well,, i really broke off ah.. n im real sad.. till now.. but i do noe tat the girl still has smth for me ah.. so i guess its jus smth god didnt want to happen.. destiny perhaps?? so mayb its destiny we're talkin about???
hmmm.. how to say.. i meant tat there was this voice in my head tat only appeared once.. and it apperaed only while i was in church.. im a chiristian.. but a backslider.. but i wanna get back in.. and my girl at tat tym was muslim, so ya.. i was confused by tat voice ah.. cuz i never heard tat kind of thing in my head b4.. yeah.Originally posted by browniebaobao:u mean ur god asked u to break up with her?
were u hearing things? u were actually confused whether u were doing the right thing to me with her isit?
Me begs to differ.Originally posted by highway69:To sum up, if you truly love each other, don't let religion be in the way.Man can plan but it is God that works.
Exactly. Love transcends religion as well.Originally posted by sweetevil:love transcends all bounderies.
The bible mentions that? where?Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hmm.. i'm a christian. the bible says that we can't be yoked with unbelievers.. and yoked as in, "bound together"
and trust me. i think it sucks too. symphatise with u![]()
Originally posted by macjoe:Me begs to differ.
Do you know what happened to the Israelites (recorded in the Old Testament) when they (man) planned their marriages with non-Israelites?
God worked alright but against them.
The same thing is pointed out in the New Testament.
What christians need when falling in love is wisdom to discern and do the right thing.
Man may plan but it is indeed God that works...for or against the christian for obedience or not.![]()
Thats true. When people marry, do they marry for the love of each other or for religion?Originally posted by nightzip:Sorry for the post...
just tempted to say...if she love God more than me, then she might as well marry God!![]()
No offense.
God is to be respected and learned from, not just to be loved. And the kind of love is different, its compassion, not exactly love, compassion for the human kind.
I think you are better of playing your MMORPG. Whats the point of conversion?Originally posted by rogue13:How ironic but hit the head on the nail so true.
Sometimes one cannot but wonder the paradox of religion; is it to bring people together or to separate people?
I once had a Muslim gf who claimed she loved me more than her parents but insisted I convert.
For those interested to know ending:- She is now engaged to another Muslim in less than 1/2 year she knew him. And as for me, I am only left with my PC to play MMORPG and suck thumb.
What church was that you visited?Originally posted by ua_24:hmmm.. how to say.. i meant tat there was this voice in my head tat only appeared once.. and it apperaed only while i was in church.. im a chiristian.. but a backslider.. but i wanna get back in.. and my girl at tat tym was muslim, so ya.. i was confused by tat voice ah.. cuz i never heard tat kind of thing in my head b4.. yeah.
Let me ask you one simple question.Do you choose to be with the person who love or to be with the person is of the same faith? Like I said God works in a way above our understanding. Whether He approves of this it is entirely up to Him.Originally posted by macjoe:Me begs to differ.
Do you know what happened to the Israelites (recorded in the Old Testament) when they (man) planned their marriages with non-Israelites?
God worked alright but against them.
The same thing is pointed out in the New Testament.
What christians need when falling in love is wisdom to discern and do the right thing.
Man may plan but it is indeed God that works...for or against the christian for obedience or not.![]()
Originally posted by highway69:Let me ask you one simple question.Do you choose to be with the person who love or to be with the person is of the same faith? Like I said God works in a way above our understanding. Whether He approves of this it is entirely up to Him.
sorry - i don't pluck perspectives from thin air.Originally posted by highway69:Let me ask you one simple question.Do you choose to be with the person who love or to be with the person is of the same faith? Like I said God works in a way above our understanding. Whether He approves of this it is entirely up to Him.