Next time den say..When it comes den i decide no use planning now..Originally posted by browniebaobao:What if u are planning to get married and disagree on this issue?
Break up?
Ever went to a fren's church once and ended up hearing things that nobody beside me could hear and seeing things tat nobody beside me could see.. It was really a horrible sight. I felt a force, forcing me to clap along when the songs were playing. And I cried non stop in the church. My fren brought me out and asked me to leave since I was feeling so uneasy. I cried all the way from the church to Orchard. It took me a long time to recover from tat incident.Originally posted by Mr Normal:browniebaobao, what bad experience you have with chrisitianity before? Can share?
wow, the only thing that happened to me in a church was that i felt sleepy and slept(no idea if i was snoring though)Originally posted by browniebaobao:Ever went to a fren's church once and ended up hearing things that nobody beside me could hear and seeing things tat nobody beside me could see.. It was really a horrible sight. I felt a force, forcing me to clap along when the songs were playing. And I cried non stop in the church. My fren brought me out and asked me to leave since I was feeling so uneasy. I cried all the way from the church to Orchard. It took me a long time to recover from tat incident.
This actually happened in church? I thought everybody there liked being touched one way or another, they said it's by GOD. Did you ever verify what actually happened again?Originally posted by browniebaobao:Ever went to a fren's church once and ended up hearing things that nobody beside me could hear and seeing things tat nobody beside me could see.. It was really a horrible sight. I felt a force, forcing me to clap along when the songs were playing. And I cried non stop in the church. My fren brought me out and asked me to leave since I was feeling so uneasy. I cried all the way from the church to Orchard. It took me a long time to recover from tat incident.
My gf and I never slander, insult, make fun of other religion. But when she see me refusing to let go of the freedom to surrender to her religion, everything changes. I have gone to church with her several times now, needless to say, also got read bible. But how to believe without losing my freedom of thought?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:If she insists you go to church, you may go to church because Buddha did not restrict anyone from going to church. As long as you do not take refuge in other gods or God which is against refuge vows... and know the teachings of buddhism well..
My buddy told me jesus touched my heart. Coz her mum ever felt this way before and so she went to ask the priest what happened. The priest told her that Jesus knows she had a lot of suffering inside her and wanted to help her release by crying. Since then, she became a christian lor. But for me, I felt invaded. Sorry, no offence to christians. I respect ur religion and I hope u respect mine too. I know that in the studies of christianity, all other religions are evil.Originally posted by Mr Normal:This actually happened in church? I thought everybody there liked being touched one way or another, they said it's by GOD. Did you ever verify what actually happened again?
This is the first time I heard someone got touched and felt intimidated by the religion. I am not a Christian, and I do not mind being touched. But so far, with my past and my gf issue, think it touched me quite badly liao. I do not think Chrisitanity is bad 'cause they preach love, but their followers cannot love other non-believers, isn't this a little contradicting?Originally posted by browniebaobao:My buddy told me jesus touched my heart. Coz her mum ever felt this way before and so she went to ask the priest what happened. The priest told her that Jesus knows she had a lot of suffering inside her and wanted to help her release by crying. Since then, she became a christian lor. But for me, I felt invaded. Sorry, no offence to christians. I respect ur religion and I hope u respect mine too. I know that in the studies of christianity, all other religions are evil.
Then must love god more than own spouse than can go heaven? So, I shouldn't love my wife in future?Sorry for the post...
Originally posted by Mr Normal:This is the first time I heard someone got touched and felt intimidated by the religion. I am not a Christian, and I do not mind being touched. But so far, with my past and my gf issue, think it touched me quite badly liao. I do not think Chrisitanity is bad 'cause they preach love, but their followers cannot love other non-believers, isn't this a little contradicting?
What can I say? Maybe "Fuo Fa Wu Bian" better...
It all started when they started to pass around the cup of or Ribena and a tiny piece of biscuit. Then all christians kneeled down and chant etc.. I heard them say what the bisucit is his remains, the ribena is his blood or whatsoever.. and started feeling disturbed.Originally posted by Sekundes:Guys we are going a little oft...
We shall leave it as that, religon things that happen are always complicated.
Especially for christians.
Anyway...
I understand what browniebaobao has been thorugh.
I had such a experiance, they were holding up their hands closing their eyes,
shouting and muttering all the same chanting something, yelling "thank god" and stuff like tat.
All i did was folded my arms and first thing i thought was, "Hell i'm getting out of here"
It makes me felt kind of left out when they do all those kind of things.
a little psychology at work.
This always works on... (no offence meant) gals and some people who are confused at that time.
Why bother to argue and too much into the depths of things...?Originally posted by Mr Normal:My gf Christian and myself Buddhist/free thinker. If religion not involved, we love each other very much. But everytime we talk about it, it always ends up very sour, sometimes resulting in possible break-ups.
Listen to me and believe that not all Christians the same loh. She did not force me to believe in God or go to church. Whatever questions I have, she will just be patient enough to listen and answer them. If we agree, good thing. If we don't, argument again.
Now I nearly have all my questions answered except this one "Why do bad things happen to good people?" I been dealt a big blow in life and it nearly took away my life. But I am not a bad person, I do not smoke, drink, stray or do any other bad stuff. Then now the argument became so serious, that despite our love for each other, a break seems inevitable. She will not accept relationship of different religion. She had only started because I was open-minded to it.
Sigh...she is really a very nice girl. One that is not materialistic, understanding and patient. Now because of something out of this world, I gg to lose her. Is this right?
Anybody got this problem before? How you solve?
The best answer I've found so far to this question of 'Why do bad things happen to good people?' is in a book entitled "Three Philosophies of Life" by Peter Kreeft.Originally posted by Mr Normal:Now I nearly have all my questions answered except this one "Why do bad things happen to good people?" I been dealt a big blow in life and it nearly took away my life. But I am not a bad person, I do not smoke, drink, stray or do any other bad stuff. Then now the argument became so serious, that despite our love for each other, a break seems inevitable. She will not accept relationship of different religion. She had only started because I was open-minded to it.
You see, to some of us, faith is a serious matter and we strive to make it the core of our being. I'm very sure that there are some fundamental beliefs that YOU hold that you would not compromise. If you apply the same yardstick to us, it should not be surprising to you that we won't compromise on certain things, right?Originally posted by Mr Normal:You see, I'm usually curious about new ideas and stuff. If I happen to open a book on Quran or Buddhism, I think it may freak her out. I always keep an open mind about things and I find that sometimes Christians are not that compromising. Quite simply put, the topic of evolution will be rejected in the face without even finding out what it is. Isn't this vision kinda limited?
Hey, I took the Ribena and biscuit too. Actually, it was through pure ignorance that I took it. It was raining heavily when I arrived at church with my gf. Partially drenched and in a hurry, the people at the entrance offered something. I was so touched, that they tried to comfort us 'cause of the bad weather and stuff. My gf was shocked that I took it. Then when the singing and praying ended, I drank and ate. No special effects like yours leh.Originally posted by browniebaobao:It all started when they started to pass around the cup of or Ribena and a tiny piece of biscuit. Then all christians kneeled down and chant etc.. I heard them say what the bisucit is his remains, the ribena is his blood or whatsoever.. and started feeling disturbed.
I din want to touch that, request them not to give me, and I was sitting on the bench instead of kneeling down. Then I started to cry.. after tat they were singing songs and I stood there, not particiapting.. but suddenly heard a sound (sounds like condor, chinese call 'diao1') and flapping of wings.. then I was clapping along uncontrollably, against my wishes. Then the sight was.. all the people seem to be hallucinated and losing their senses.. just like those scenes in the movies whereby walking dead corpses all heading towards one direction. I started to cry more and more jialat.
That's when my buddy and fren sensed tat something's very not right with me and led me out of the church. My fren was also crying, she felt bad that this happened. I couldn't stop crying even when I boarded a bus lor... so many people were looking at me.
Thanks for your advice...although I would prefer someone with a different nicknameOriginally posted by Devil1976:Why bother to argue and too much into the depths of things...?
My best friend is married with a Christian wife. Like you, he's a Buddhist himself.
Is there truly LOVE between you and her...? If there is, understand that nobody really have to give up on anything much... Just learn to respect each other and the differences in between... May it be religion or other aspects of life... It's just a matter of your and her way of handling... Just that religions often can be more sensitive issues so be more tactful on that?![]()
I have already started to read a bit on the story of Job. That is the first thing I read from the bible. But haven't finish reading yet. I think cannot compare...he's a totally faithful believer, while I'm a half past 10 believer with an open mind. But nevertheless, I'll finish the book. Thanks!Originally posted by siginah:The best answer I've found so far to this question of 'Why do bad things happen to good people?' is in a book entitled "Three Philosophies of Life" by Peter Kreeft.
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0898702623/theofficiapet-20/102-3439929-6001726
Part 2 of the book deals with this issue in the context of the story of Job in the Bible. Job was a good man that had all kinds of misfortunes visited upon him.
Perhaps you can find some answers there?
You see, to some of us, faith is a serious matter and we strive to make it the core of our being. I'm very sure that there are some fundamental beliefs that YOU hold that you would not compromise. If you apply the same yardstick to us, it should not be surprising to you that we won't compromise on certain things, right?
Limited vision is not the sole prerogative of Christians. There are many evolutionists who dismiss religion without even finding out too.
regards,
siginah
Hmm... seems like someone been so bad until he think that he didn't commit any bad things cos he didn't realise that he is doing bad things...Originally posted by Mr Normal:My gf Christian and myself Buddhist/free thinker. If religion not involved, we love each other very much. But everytime we talk about it, it always ends up very sour, sometimes resulting in possible break-ups.
Listen to me and believe that not all Christians the same loh. She did not force me to believe in God or go to church. Whatever questions I have, she will just be patient enough to listen and answer them. If we agree, good thing. If we don't, argument again.
Now I nearly have all my questions answered except this one "Why do bad things happen to good people?" I been dealt a big blow in life and it nearly took away my life. But I am not a bad person, I do not smoke, drink, stray or do any other bad stuff. Then now the argument became so serious, that despite our love for each other, a break seems inevitable. She will not accept relationship of different religion. She had only started because I was open-minded to it.
Sigh...she is really a very nice girl. One that is not materialistic, understanding and patient. Now because of something out of this world, I gg to lose her. Is this right?
Anybody got this problem before? How you solve?
And hey... Mr Normal... being a christian is strictly this way... Well... i do understand yr situations but do understand yr gf's too... =)Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hmm.. i'm a christian. the bible says that we can't be yoked with unbelievers.. and yoked as in, "bound together"
and trust me. i think it sucks too. symphatise with u![]()
Sometimes don't have to put all facts down in hard rules...Originally posted by Mr Normal:Thanks for your advice...although I would prefer someone with a different nickname(Pun intended)
I think Christians got strong and not that strong loh. We respect each other a lot. We also love each other too. It's just that faith is a personal thing and whenever she senses something wrong with me, we will start to debate about it again. It is ok at first, but as time passes, slowly taking a toll.
I illustrate a bit for you...
My case: I love her >>> then love God >>> then she loves me back
Her case: She loves God >> I love God >> then she loves me back
If 2nd stage got break, no need to talk about 3rd stage liao...