it is easy to say this when u r not pregrant, the needle is not pricking u thus u can always say until the sky turn green.Originally posted by mistyblue:Excuse me lah. Even if I am with child I would not think I am entitled to have a seat.
Don't use this sh!t lah. Don't be stupid ans say unintelligent things.
When a woman is in the 3rd trimester, she would be fairly large and if she really treasure her kid, during the 3rd trimester, take the cab. So she is being irresponsible towards herself and her kid. Are the normal commuters at fault of a preggie is stupid to squeeze with the peak hour crowd?
In MRT, there are so many so many seats and so many so many people. How some when an old person or a preggie comes in, no one ever gives up their seat? Why should I always be the one. Why do people always assume they are more tired from work or have more right to take a seat than others. On MRT, usually only a few gets the seat. So most of the time I don't get to seat and I do not even fight with these Entitlement-Attitude people for these seats. So why are you always judging me about my attitude. Is it your BUSINESS??
Really, I find you guys very stupid and judgemental. I live by my own code of conduct and if you had to live by mine, I am sure you will not survive a day. Let me put it across this way, similar to Devil and MC. I do not see every woman, child and old person out there and think they need a seat more than myself. I do give my seat on a judgement basis. And many a times I feel faint and felt horrible pains and had squatted or took actions to alleviate my discomfort. NOT one, NOT ever, NO ONE ever Ever come and offer a seat. ALL the people in their comfortable seats turn their HEADs away and close their EYEs pretending that nothing happen. MOST of all, young TEEN boys will sit there with their Ipods blasting and shaking their heads will look on as if I am a freak. Even In the instance I gave up my seat, I find People STARE at me as IF I am a freak to give up my seat.
So the morons out there, please save your judgement to YOURSELF. You want to know discipline, come live my life.
Tell you what is entitlement. I had this ex-colleague. She thinks she is preggie and so she decided not to work herself. She then assigns her work to office colleagues and we ran around her like mad doing her job and trying to do our own. She was very thankless and stated to us her baby is more important than any of us. Hence we must (Note the key word here: MUST) help her do all the manual work. Actually, she confessed she just like to boss people around and so many people just give way to her and serve her hand and foot, so she took the opportunity to leech the other people's kindness. This is a real case and I've know many preggies who done that and got away cause they know they can.
So some healthy old people also caught on this idea as well and are really rude. Some old man asked my BF for money. When my BF say he's fairly healthy and well fed, my bf rejected. Then the old man started Yelling at the top of his voice cussing away. My BF then confronted him. Now tell me, when in this world did we owe this person a living that when we reject giving our money that we should get cussed at?
Do not be mistaken. I like to help people. Generosity and Charity is part of my general make-up however, I do not take kindly when people take me for a fool.
Excuse me!Originally posted by SingaporeanHeartLander:Meh MistyBlue, I voiced my opinion on morals according to my own view. No way was it meant to impose anything into your sorry life.
'If she's pregnant, can she not take a cab ?' you say. How big of a retard do you actually have to be to say things like that ? No doubt, you said there are lots of stupid people doing stupid things. I second that, and I'll add 'stupid people who say stupid things'.
And your replies are senseless. Did someone died and made me God ? How the hell does that happen ?
Emotional blackmail ? I'm one of them telling you how to think ? Then can the same be said about yourself with your childish remarks to people who just want to make life better for others ? If it stings your butt to get up and offer that damn seat of yours, go buy some cream and look at the community billboards for lessons on 'How to make people hate me less'.
You should be totally like totally be ashamed of yourself.
Don't give this sh!t about financial issues. Its not the commutors fault that this person is finacially strapped and therefore needs to take the public transport. No one spent her money for her. As a soon to be mother, she can and should plan her day carefully as much as she can so as to reduce her risks. If she's really tired, she can selective use the different modes of transport. She does not need to take cab every day. ITs call Selective! She cannot spend a $20 trip just once when the Preggie is tired meh? She lost her brains when she pregnant? PPl got money to donate to NKF/Huang Na and etc but no money to take a cab ride when its really needed? Don't assume too much and don't assume that just cause a person is pregnant, others have to become responsible for her and her baby.Originally posted by Kenashi:it is easy to say this when u r not pregrant, the needle is not pricking u thus u can always say until the sky turn green.
furthermore not everyone is rich enough to afford a cab!! don't assume that!!
Every person has their reason, if she is facing financial problems, would u know???
Did i judge yr attitude in the first place??
I am just stating my belief, I never say that u r wrong as u r behaving as how u r brought up.
u r the one who think we r judging u n u r judging others by yr words.
In the end, u r only judge by yrself n no one else.
Haha, I love this. In which part did I impose my morals on you and forced you to act that way ?Originally posted by mistyblue:Excuse me!
It is an alternative to public transport. You Call this a RETARDED suggestion?
Then what? YOU MEAN You ARE SO smart that you will ALLOW your WIFE to Squeeze in BUSES and MRT risking that she might get kicked on? EXCUSE ME WHO is the RETARD here!!!
You are the one WHO IMPOSE your MORALS hence DO not TALK about Shame with me. You are the one who is acting all high and mighty making stupid claims. Now you come and tell people off and start a string of NAME Calling and Bashing!
I have a good reason to Ask the Mods to Ban you.
AS I said, PUT UP your PIC and let all see.Originally posted by SingaporeanHeartLander:Yes I second what Kenashi has said.
Doesn't take much to be a good guy eh ? If gullible assholes look at you with that kind of face when you give up your seat, let them. You know they are gullible assholes anyway. I give up my seat no matter who is around looking at me from whichever direction with whatever kind of face thinking whatever kinda thought.
if they refuse the offer, just return to yr seat.Originally posted by junh:but if u give up this sit to this old man and u know lar.. some old man still wanna act man den they persist on not taking your seat.
do u go back to ur seat?
also, have u heard of some ppl scolding you for giving up ur seat to them?
"DO I LOOK SO OLD?" came across this old man.. luckily it wasnt me who was screwed
You were the one to call this a morally right action and hence state I was morally wrong not to do so. If you claim you A:WAYS give you seat up, then PUT up your Pic.Originally posted by SingaporeanHeartLander:Haha, I love this. In which part did I impose my morals on you and forced you to act that way ?
Who was the one who asked me to upload my picture and said he/she would set up a monitoring system on me ? That's imposing.
I am not so smart that I will ask my pregnant wife to board a crowded bus. But then again, we see so many pregnant ladies taking buses and MRTs. So what's that suppose to mean ? All of them are dumbasses ?
A woman normally goes pregnant for 9-11 months before giving birth. Assuming that she works a 5 day work week, taking a cab every week for every month, do your math. That's why the goverment encourage people to be considerate in giving up their seats. If you don't want to, don't do it. Just don't encourage people to be assholes.
And stop your CAPS typing, it doesn't elevate anything.
No I wouldn't bother. Did u really think I was that stupid into thinking you'll actually spend your days looking for me at every corner of a bus or an MRT ?Originally posted by mistyblue:AS I said, PUT UP your PIC and let all see.
Words are cheap.
If you choose to be a fool, don't think everyone wants to be a fool.
Ya lah... Case to case BASIS...Originally posted by ghimpheng:this is just few of ugly cases we should not because of some bad experience and do not let up seat to them.
Perphaps u might not have noticed....it has been all the while that you're making yourself "looking stoopid" and "eating up" your own words.....Originally posted by SingaporeanHeartLander:Alright MistyBlue, I'll end it here with my last post.
Giving up your seat to the needy, is it good or bad ?
Choosing not to give due to loss of public face, is it good or bad ?
Make a poll, take the votes.
Lol, and typing in small letters doesn't prove anything ? That's just plain lame. You could have gotten back at me in a more creative way without making yourself look stupid.
YEAH... READ my 1st LINE in BOLD...Originally posted by Kenashi:a few bad sheep always exist no matter where u r.
u can't condemn everyone just becos of them rite??
I didn't say that it is anyone fault that a pregrant lady might be financially strapped but it is just a courtesy or a kind gesture to give up yr seat to someone who need it more than u do.Originally posted by mistyblue:Don't give this sh!t about financial issues. Its not the commutors fault that this person is finacially strapped and therefore needs to take the public transport. No one spent her money for her. As a soon to be mother, she can and should plan her day carefully as much as she can so as to reduce her risks. If she's really tired, she can selective use the different modes of transport. She does not need to take cab every day. ITs call Selective! She cannot spend a $20 trip just once when the Preggie is tired meh? She lost her brains when she pregnant? PPl got money to donate to NKF/Huang Na and etc but no money to take a cab ride when its really needed? Don't assume too much and don't assume that just cause a person is pregnant, others have to become responsible for her and her baby.
Don't give the sh!t that I am not a pregrant and therefore I do not know.
You are assuming that I do not empathize with these people. Is that not a judgement about me as if you know me and all my actions?
Of course I judge myself the most. Cause I have very high expectations and very high moral standards that I EXPECT myself to live by. No one is harder on myself that me. It really people like you and jerks around here who keep point at other people making assumptions and appling one's idea of right and wrong on others. The actual fact is that what I say in forums is not what I do in reality and I give up my seats till I am sian and even pushed myself to do good things when I am not feeling so good and the sad thing is I KNOW NO other SG person who do so for that Poor person.
I am saying that not giving up seats is JUST a choice and nothing personal. Ppl/Old/Young/Preggie Should not have that entitlement attitude because I see so many with that sort of attitude and even bother to write to the newspaper about it. I think these people should be shamed.
Originally posted by Devil1976:read liao
YEAH... READ my 1st LINE in [b]BOLD...[/b]
Hmm...Originally posted by Kenashi:it is easy to say this when u r not pregrant, the needle is not pricking u thus u can always say until the sky turn green.
furthermore not everyone is rich enough to afford a cab!! don't assume that!!
Every person has their reason, if she is facing financial problems, would u know???
Did i judge yr attitude in the first place??
I am just stating my belief, I never say that u r wrong as u r behaving as how u r brought up.
u r the one who think we r judging u n u r judging others by yr words.
In the end, u r only judge by yrself n no one else.
All of us need to work everyday. Does it mean we are also not tired?Originally posted by Kenashi:I didn't say that it is anyone fault that a pregrant lady might be financially strapped but it is just a courtesy or a kind gesture to give up yr seat to someone who need it more than u do.
if she need to work everyday, how selective can she get???
I can hardly agree with what u say about me n others, I don't point at others since I never think i am a saint or whatever. Who r we to judge other fellow humans, we r never god in the first place.
What I am expressing is my belief, I never said that u should conform to it.
I believe that there is always a small minority who believe that they deserve such entitlement but it is not across the board.
for most ppl, they would appreciate such kind gesture given in gd faith.
I had also met some of these minority but there is always a gd side n a ugly side of mankind just like a coin. I don't give up hope cos there may be someone out there who really need our aid or help and yr gesture may be the thing to make someone day brighter.
Yes.Originally posted by mistyblue:All of us need to work everyday. Does it mean we are also not tired?
I do empathize with the unfortunate people and there are lots who need something more.
I've given way to many entitlement-attitude people and had never expected a thank you cause its really rare to find appreciative people in sg.
But what I am saying is that people who feel entitled to something should think about their attitudes first. There's always an endless list of people who want this and that. The letter to ST forum smacks of entitlement.
People should not automatically assume that because they are so and so, others always have to give way. The entitlement attitude stems from the fact that some people feel they have paid for the trip therefore want the seat. Some stem from that fact these people feel more important than others and their pain is therefore greater and hence wrote lengthy letters condamning others while not reflecting their actions. All these are useless action where these people do not see their own actions caused their situation and choose to lay it thickly on others.
When there is no seats or one is aware of peak hour situations. Then work out a better solution for oneself rather than to expect faith and kindness from others. To expect others to "show kindness" is really in my view pushing it and really stupid. Such as stagger the time when the person head home. I go home late everyday because my trip on the bus is 1 hour + 15 minutes of walking 3 bus stops, up hill. If I do not stagger my time or I choose peak hour and I do not get a seat. I cannot expect people give way. And on the trains, I don't expect any seats during all hours. No one will give up their seat especially on trains. It is a reality in asia. And when the seat is given, at least smile and be grateful.
That person who wrote to ST. Actually since they are going out as a family unit from Bueno Vista to NUS. Really its a short trip and cab would actually be cheaper and more comfortable. Its a simple flexible decision. Why can't the person make that decision when they saw the bus is overloaded? Why didn't the person balme SBS for not sending more buses to alleviate the over crowding situation? Why didn't the person write in to LTA and complain why there is no LRT line build to service the NUS area? Why did that person condamn NUS students and the youngsters of not showing them "kindness"? Isn't like Durai's daughter letter to ST?
I've given up my seat to a needy person only to have the indian or PRC snatched it away. So what do one do in this situation? Ask then to get off?
Originally posted by Devil1976:Hmm... Forumites... No FLAMMING PLS...
PLS KEEP YOUR COOL...![]()
kenashi trying to be funny again? but since i free i answer lor. yeah i did it before i do carry bags mah. are all feotus 5 kg? i said must see first right? anyway i bet they are still lighter than me with the extra weight(yes, i'm fat) so still no issue.Originally posted by Kenashi:try taking a 5 kg weight with u on the train n don't let it rest on the floor for yr journery. see how long u can take it.
a pregrant lady is carrying the child inside her n if she is standing, she is going to carry that weight with her
Most ppl will smile or say thank you when a seat is offered.Originally posted by mistyblue:All of us need to work everyday. Does it mean we are also not tired?
I do empathize with the unfortunate people and there are lots who need something more.
I've given way to many entitlement-attitude people and had never expected a thank you cause its really rare to find appreciative people in sg.
But what I am saying is that people who feel entitled to something should think about their attitudes first. There's always an endless list of people who want this and that. The letter to ST forum smacks of entitlement.
People should not automatically assume that because they are so and so, others always have to give way. The entitlement attitude stems from the fact that some people feel they have paid for the trip therefore want the seat. Some stem from that fact these people feel more important than others and their pain is therefore greater and hence wrote lengthy letters condamning others while not reflecting their actions. All these are useless action where these people do not see their own actions caused their situation and choose to lay it thickly on others.
When there is no seats or one is aware of peak hour situations. Then work out a better solution for oneself rather than to expect faith and kindness from others. To expect others to "show kindness" is really in my view pushing it and really stupid. Such as stagger the time when the person head home. I go home late everyday because my trip on the bus is 1 hour + 15 minutes of walking 3 bus stops, up hill. If I do not stagger my time or I choose peak hour and I do not get a seat. I cannot expect people give way. And on the trains, I don't expect any seats during all hours. No one will give up their seat especially on trains. It is a reality in asia. And when the seat is given, at least smile and be grateful.
That person who wrote to ST. Actually since they are going out as a family unit from Bueno Vista to NUS. Really its a short trip and cab would actually be cheaper and more comfortable. Its a simple flexible decision. Why can't the person make that decision when they saw the bus is overloaded? Why didn't the person balme SBS for not sending more buses to alleviate the over crowding situation? Why didn't the person write in to LTA and complain why there is no LRT line build to service the NUS area? Why did that person condamn NUS students and the youngsters of not showing them "kindness"? Isn't like Durai's daughter letter to ST?
I've given up my seat to a needy person only to have the indian or PRC snatched it away. So what do one do in this situation? Ask then to get off?
when did I act funny???Originally posted by hisoka:kenashi trying to be funny again? but since i free i answer lor. yeah i did it before i do carry bags mah. are all feotus 5 kg? i said must see first right? anyway i bet they are still lighter than me with the extra weight(yes, i'm fat) so still no issue.
Most I meet don't bother to even smile even when shown grace. I don't believe in expecting anyhting from my fellow country men/women and its a reflection of my perception of my fellow people. My beliefs had been tainted long ago by careless acts that endanger my life and the entitlement attitudes being dished out as if I owe everyone a living. However, I am fully and well above awareness that I should never apply it across the board and I am even more fully aware of my thoughts. So do not worry for me that I do not give way or give my seat up. Most of the time I don't get any to give any away in the first place. Education does nothing for anyone except make them better workers in the office or at the factory and now it does not even guarantee a job. So don't put all that expectation into education. Besides, there is no prove that being more educated means these people can better empathize. Its a long held wrong assumption with no prove and correlation. In fact, my observation is always that the higher the person is educated, the less the person have empathy for others. Just take a look at the big gaping hole between the top scholars running the country and the people at the ground.Originally posted by Kenashi:Most ppl will smile or say thank you when a seat is offered.
I think it is due to the assumption made by the writer that those who are better educated should show more empathy n be considerate to others.
I don't agree with that since education doesn't always bring out the best in u.
it is more to what is yr belief that matters.
I will tell that person off in front of everyone -> that is my solution.