How old are you?Originally posted by Marco_Simone:I
don't drink
don't club
don't like those poser makan places such as NYDC...
don't know how to play pool
don't know how to bowl
don't like KTV
don't drive
knows nuts about pop culture
I only
sleep and wake up early(11/12pm to before 7+am)
prefer to eat at hawker centres/food courts if eating outside
like to watch football
like to visit the weight rooms
like to take long brisk walks (>1 hour)
like to read history,politics,football and life stories,stuff like that
Am I very no life?
Luckily I don't look like a nerd...and I don't dress like one also...
i believe thats over-generalising too much. successful ambitious people are very varied, and success and ambition depends on how much determination and grit a person has.Originally posted by walesa:How old are you?Some of your likes(especially the last one) are indications of what successful, ambitious people are like and how they see the world, really.
like to watch footballYou rock.
I wouldn't say it's over-generalised - rather than saying you've to have an interest exclusively in history, politics and sports to be successful(of course, it wouldn't surprise me for successful people to have interests in other disciplines/subjects), however, what I tried to convey is the sense that successful people generally do not engage excessively in frivolous activities(of course, the list is exhaustive and endless, but in essence, there's a higher tendency of them engaging in activities that are more purposeful to them rather than do something to fit in with a crowd) like some of those the threadstarter mentioned. Which probably explains why he wonders if he feels left out...Originally posted by HENG@:i believe thats over-generalising too much. successful ambitious people are very varied, and success and ambition depends on how much determination and grit a person has.
Originally posted by walesa:but successful people DO engage in frivolous activities, and often excessively as well. If u knew the amt of exclusive parties they threw, man, u'd be shocked. Of course the thing about successful ppl is, they know how to work hard, and they know how to play hard. I would attribute success to a burning desire to succeed, and the ability to manage oneself to do what has to be done.
I wouldn't say it's over-generalised - rather than saying you've to have an interest [b]exclusively in history, politics and sports to be successful(of course, it wouldn't surprise me for successful people to have interests in other disciplines/subjects), however, what I tried to convey is the sense that successful people generally do not engage excessively in frivolous activities(of course, the list is exhaustive and endless, but in essence, there's a higher tendency of them engaging in activities that are more purposeful to them rather than do something to fit in with a crowd) like some of those the threadstarter mentioned. Which probably explains why he wonders if he feels left out...
Heng@ : Der "threadstarter" ist zu besorgt über seine langweilig Aktivität. Sie soll ihn beruhigen.
tell him no lor.Originally posted by Marco_Simone:You know some chiongster actually asked me "hey,you wanna change your lifestyle?"
*shrugs*![]()
Of course, it depends on what you want to define success as - if one wants to insist scoring 1/100 in an exam or making a living as a coal miner for life(no disrespect to coal miners thereOriginally posted by HENG@:but successful people DO engage in frivolous activities, and often excessively as well. If u knew the amt of exclusive parties they threw, man, u'd be shocked. Of course the thing about successful ppl is, they know how to work hard, and they know how to play hard. I would attribute success to a burning desire to succeed, and the ability to manage oneself to do what has to be done.
Besides, u have to wonder, if the people in the crowd do the things they do because they like it? or because they want to fit in with a crowd? Once again, I feel this might be an over-generalisation, because we're assuming that people in a crowd are only doing the things they do to fit in. I don't think thats true.
Du sprichst Deutsch auch? Ih spreche nur ein bisschen. Nicht sehr gut Deutsch.
Rather than go on about my conversation with Heng@, I am very much like you - in fact, maybe much more driven - so I can pretty much identify with what you're confronted with.Originally posted by Marco_Simone:You know some chiongster actually asked me "hey,you wanna change your lifestyle?"
*shrugs*![]()
Originally posted by walesa:gosh. We're talking about successful multi-millionares here. Do u really think they're not frivolous? Gosh... everytime I watch those "the fabulous life of..." shows on MTV, i get insanely jealous! Trust me. Successful people engage in the frivolous as much as non-successful people do. But successful people also have a lot of drive to do the hard and dirty, and they also do have some luck.
Of course, it depends on what you want to define success as - if one wants to insist scoring 1/100 in an exam or making a living as a coal miner for life(no disrespect to coal miners there) as great success in life, I don't suppose anyone can argue with that person. That said, we're using a tangible benchmark here I suppose.
The point is, successful people may engage in activities that are considered frivolous to others, but not to them. Hence, ultimately, the concept of something being frivolous is subjective? In [b]this instance, however, I can only infer the threadstarter has doubts over whether he is able to "make it" because he feels he doesn't fit in with the culture of others. (I mean, it's quite obvious if he did, he wouldn't be pondering whether he could "make it" based on the list of activities listed). In essence, this is more a post that addresses the threadstarters' point of view rather than it being a general thread on what constitutes success.
Ja, ich spreche Deutsch, aber ich konversiere selten in Deutsch.Ihre 'etwas' Deutsch ist nicht schlecht - Sie sind besser als viele Anfänger. Dennoch, Ihre 'signature' soll "Ich bin Ihre typische Lesbierin nicht" sein.[/b]
Hey if you work out alot and look cool you are halfway there alreadyOriginally posted by Marco_Simone:I
don't drink
don't club
don't like those poser makan places such as NYDC...
don't know how to play pool
don't know how to bowl
don't like KTV
don't drive
knows nuts about pop culture
I only
sleep and wake up early(11/12pm to before 7+am)
prefer to eat at hawker centres/food courts if eating outside
like to watch football
Am I very no life?
Yeah, but even 'successful multi-millionaires' are not all of the same mould, are they? I know where you're coming from, but I don't suppose it makes much sense to compare what is frivolous to Michael Jackson as opposed to say Bill Gates? Or Michael Jordan to George Soros for that matter. There're a host of other factors(education, for instance, among a host of others) that determine what is frivolous and what isn't and there just simply isn't an exclusive right/wrong answer? Hence, even using wealth as a benchmark for success doesn't yield any sustainable conclusion across the spectrum.Originally posted by HENG@:gosh. We're talking about successful multi-millionares here. Do u really think they're not frivolous? Gosh... everytime I watch those "the fabulous life of..." shows on MTV, i get insanely jealous! Trust me. Successful people engage in the frivolous as much as non-successful people do. But successful people also have a lot of drive to do the hard and dirty, and they also do have some luck.
Anyway, I think threadstarter is just out for some re-assurance. dun think his "cannot make it" is talking about success. in sg lingo, can make it and cannot make it (the 2 CMIs) refer to how "cool" a person is, or something along those lines.![]()
While I won't say that those things you mentioned constitute "life" I am nevertheless surprised that you are so settled down in life.Originally posted by Marco_Simone:I don't
I only
Am I very no life?
no they're not, as i pointed out earlier, about them being very varied. See, yes on my mind, on 2 extremes, was Bill Gates and Flavio Briatore. I must say im not using mere wealth as a benchmark of success, but successful people often do become wealthy as a side-effect(if one could call it that).Originally posted by walesa:Yeah, but even 'successful multi-millionaires' are not all of the same mould, are they? I know where you're coming from, but I don't suppose it makes much sense to compare what is frivolous to Michael Jackson as opposed to say Bill Gates? Or Michael Jordan to George Soros for that matter. There're a host of other factors(education, for instance, among a host of others) that determine what is frivolous and what isn't and there just simply isn't an exclusive right/wrong answer? Hence, even using wealth as a benchmark for success doesn't yield any sustainable conclusion across the spectrum.
Pardon my interpretation of "make it" if it was used in SG lingo then - maybe I'm just not that well-versed with that. LOL!![]()
i think, if one is happy with one's current lifestyle, there is no justification to change that lifestyle.Originally posted by casino_king:While I won't say that those things you mentioned constitute "life" I am nevertheless surprised that you are so settled down in life.
What are the challenges you have set for yourself. Where are your ambitions to live in another culture and savour another lifestyle? Many other lifestyles?
And therein explains the gulf in wealth between the duo!Originally posted by HENG@:no they're not, as i pointed out earlier, about them being very varied. See, yes on my mind, on 2 extremes, was Bill Gates and Flavio Briatore. I must say im not using mere wealth as a benchmark of success, but successful people often do become wealthy as a side-effect(if one could call it that).![]()