Originally posted by heluim:Hello everyone..
would like to enquire abt SIM and SMU how good are they?
are they really recognise?
Actually currently i am tinking abt going either SMU or SIM.. but don noe which to choose..
SMU seems good.. wif alot of recognition from everybody how the problem is the courses are very long man 4 years.. by the time i will be say 26.. OMG.. haha..
SIM also seems gd said to be the 4th university in singapore.. however tink the university that award the degree also important right.. currently i wanna study Bachelor of Science (Honours) Management - Part-time.. 2 years onli seems vv gd to me.. somemore is offered by The University of Manchester sounds rather posh to me.. http://www1.sim.edu.sg/sim/pub/pgm/sim_pub_pgm_list.cfm?mnuID=174&ID=267
but i don noe wad exactly can i be when i graduate wif that..
Can anybody help me pls..
thanks a million in advance !
cos for the course offered by RMIT or UOL for me takes long cos i am engineering student.. where as the university of manchester offer this Bachelor of Science (Honours) Management - Part-time they don discreminate engineering student as for both biz and eng ppl is all two years so i don lose out that much.. i guess.. somemore is a direct honours program..Originally posted by KenPlus:Same lah i also prefer to study in SIM in the end because if i study SMU full time 4 yrs,who is going to support me with the school fees,it is much cheaper to study SIM for two yrs ,it only $4200 per term,add up to the exams fees ,workshop,it should be estimated to be around 12k.If u are afraid that the degree is not recognise,then u can further study by taking a Master loh after graduating in ntu or nus after having the relevant working experience.
But why don't u chose RMIT or UOL better,i think it a more popular choice leh.
It true that in SG local uni are definely more recognise but u can consider working in workseas because in the world ranking UOL and RMIT are good too.
wow don't scare me,so which degree u take?RMIT or UOL?which company ask u that qns???Originally posted by Mospeada:SIM?
are u outta ya mind?
u must think of the longer run....after ur graduation...degrees from SIM, unless they award their own degree...it will still be look down upon by many employers..
I was one of such sad case....i was questioned why did i go to local U...and why have i got no major?
i will PM u.....Originally posted by KenPlus:wow don't scare me,so which degree u take?RMIT or UOL?which company ask u that qns???
Well i am not sure about itOriginally posted by heluim:cos for the course offered by RMIT or UOL for me takes long cos i am engineering student.. where as the university of manchester offer this Bachelor of Science (Honours) Management - Part-time they don discreminate engineering student as for both biz and eng ppl is all two years so i don lose out that much.. i guess.. somemore is a direct honours program..
but is university of manchester gd?
SIM is divided into two One is UniSIM the other one is SIM partners.Originally posted by Mospeada:SIM?
are u outta ya mind?
u must think of the longer run....after ur graduation...degrees from SIM, unless they award their own degree...it will still be look down upon by many employers..
I was one of such sad case....i was questioned why did i go to local U...and why have i got no major?
congrats...finally graduated liao huh...Originally posted by BufPuf:SMu is definitely better
although it's longer, you get exposed to better opportnities in school as well as after u grad
i just grad from SIM-uol
now looking for job...
from what i saw in other forums, those who grad same as me got starting pay at least 2.3k...
PM me also can.. thanks.. but i guess the reason is vv simple.. cos we din do that well so we cant enter NUS or NTU.. i tink the bosses also noe the answer vv well.. but i believe now u r getting a gd job already right..Originally posted by Mospeada:i will PM u.....
many companies asked ...not just to me...many of my coursemates as well
Not really because we never do well leh,it because priority goes to A level student first rather than a poly grad,so for us poly students we have to get a very good results in order to go into a good course in NUS and NTUOriginally posted by heluim:PM me also can.. thanks.. but i guess the reason is vv simple.. cos we din do that well so we cant enter NUS or NTU.. i tink the bosses also noe the answer vv well.. but i believe now u r getting a gd job already right..
congrats xue jie~!Originally posted by BufPuf:SMu is definitely better
although it's longer, you get exposed to better opportnities in school as well as after u grad
i just grad from SIM-uol
now looking for job...
from what i saw in other forums, those who grad same as me got starting pay at least 2.3k...
20~30% HIGHERR....Originally posted by browniebaobao:Try SMU first before u try SIM.. that's what I will do la.. keke..
I heard recently SMU students are proven to have the best presentation skills.
I'm not sure whether there's a big difference in the course fees tho..
That's full time...isn't it?Originally posted by zodi:U can grad within 3yrs from SMU with honours...
yupz... SMU no part time courses leh...Originally posted by dcx:That's full time...isn't it?
agree with bufpuf....Originally posted by BufPuf:if boss ask why dun choose SMU
just say u can't afford to study full time
and since SMU don't provide
u have to choose SIM loh
hmm...
if study in SIM, yr results must be goot...at least a second honours and above (in my opinion)..if not it's just like a diploma..
if u decide to go into public sector
den i think SMU is better
SMU would be a much more better choice. although the courses are rather long, but u can gain more knowledge and find jobs much more easier. SIM is also rather good and its a private uni,the cost would be rather high.Originally posted by heluim:Hello everyone..
would like to enquire abt SIM and SMU how good are they?
are they really recognise?
Actually currently i am tinking abt going either SMU or SIM.. but don noe which to choose..
SMU seems good.. wif alot of recognition from everybody how the problem is the courses are very long man 4 years.. by the time i will be say 26.. OMG.. haha..
SIM also seems gd said to be the 4th university in singapore.. however tink the university that award the degree also important right.. currently i wanna study Bachelor of Science (Honours) Management - Part-time.. 2 years onli seems vv gd to me.. somemore is offered by The University of Manchester sounds rather posh to me.. http://www1.sim.edu.sg/sim/pub/pgm/sim_pub_pgm_list.cfm?mnuID=174&ID=267
but i don noe wad exactly can i be when i graduate wif that..
Can anybody help me pls..
thanks a million in advance !
care to elaborate further?Originally posted by pierre^^:Whatever u do, dun choose RMIT if u coming to SIM. the timetable realli SUCKS.