ur current state of mind actually discourages u from succeeding in life. the cause of it is due to past traumatic incidences that hold u back from escalating into the future, of what the future holds for u.Originally posted by Isis:i have been berated and hurted by my parents. My self-esteem had also beed reduced by the education system and put down by myself and parents for many years cos i don't do well for exam and end up in somewhere that i do not like.. even though im in uni now, i have diffculty concentrating in doin tutorials and studyin for exam, going for lecture, in the end i takeaway many subjects... it is hard to be hyperactive Adult.. it is hard to continue to study in uni. It hard not to be understood by people and parents who do not know what is Adhd. it is hard to be study in singapore education system. it is hard to be myself. it hard to cope when you are a child and now an adult.. All my life as a child to teenagers, i feel life is tough. I can't concentrate. In fact i shut off easily durin class.
I aso have difficulty catching the words of others and easily forgetting how to pronounce words. In my sec sc and jc, i did badly for languages despite studying hard for it. i tink i have a slight speech deficiency too. I do not like to talk and socialise much cos i don't feel talking naturally, more like forcing the words out.. have this difficulty in talking, cos i feel that i feel a bit short of breathe, like a very slight choking whether im talking.. as a result, i get pretty short temper faster and might sound abit harsh when im just trying to make a point.. im frustrated within
so when ur child might be suspected from adhd or other problem in learning, pls don't scold or beat them up... without understanding or proper communication.
Attention-deficit hyperactivity disorderOriginally posted by browniebaobao:sorry, may i know wat is adhd?
and, u are doing well u know?
many ple dun even make it to jc/uni.
i think i have a tougher path than u.
always look at the bright side of things.
persist till the end, look ahead and give ur best.
you will do fine.![]()
attention deficiency hyper active is a medical conditionOriginally posted by browniebaobao:sorry, may i know wat is adhd?
and, u are doing well u know?
many ple dun even make it to jc/uni.
i think i have a tougher path than u.
always look at the bright side of things.
persist till the end, look ahead and give ur best.
you will do fine.![]()
yes partly of this medical condition, it has been discouraging for me cos people around u do not understand ur action and ur studies capability, and with parents that do not understand this medical condition or know its existence ( when i was young) who berating me... has been a haunting problem for me.. it is only recently that i know i am an adult who is suffering from this medical problem. I had battled this alone. it is tough..Originally posted by Gwangetto:ur current state of mind actually discourages u from succeeding in life. the cause of it is due to past traumatic incidences that hold u back from escalating into the future, of what the future holds for u.
my suggestion is that u try to look at the positive angle of ur current situation. relax. it may be tough, but nothing is too hard for u to bear. remember, in any problem, there's always a solution around you. u need to have a positive attitude and a calm and sound mind to seek after the answers. u'll find them, i believe.
all the best.
btw.. which uni are u in now?
Originally posted by Isis:the statement in bold...i think they will rather exploit your inability to keep you down in life, studies, work and whatever you do. this is what that keeps ppl like you down. since you can make it to U i think your condition is not that bad. you keep feelin so most probably due to 'stresses' your peers or friends are giving you. of course you need to communicate but just coz you are being outcast does not means you are sufferering from a diesease called adhb just coz it has beed 'medically proven'?!
yes partly of this medical condition, it has been discouraging for me cos people around u do not understand ur action and ur studies capability, and with parents that do not understand this medical condition or know its existence ( when i was young) who berating me... has been a haunting problem for me.. it is only recently that i know i am an adult who is suffering from this medical problem. I had battled this alone. it is tough..
i had inability to concentrate long hours in class or lecture has been a driving force for my disinterests in studies... n im still stuck in uni, graduating without no honours in perhaps 1 yr time and sch loan debt to pay... it is tough sufferin from this condition.. and u have no idea what impact it has on my life...
i mean there is nothing wrong with him and he should not feel that there's something wrong with himself.....Originally posted by somepersonlah:so u mean u think he does not suffer from this disorder?
point 1, please check the real meaning of adhd if u dont really understand it.Originally posted by troublemaker2005:i mean there is nothing wrong with him and he should not feel that there's something wrong with himself.....
look at it this way....
humans cannot live in the north antartica not without clothings and equipment to keep them warm..polar bears cannot live in the tropics hot regions but can survive in the antartic coz they have furs to keep themselves warm. can we say they are all sick to strike a balance?
why must an illness be proclaimed because you can't socialize as well as your peers? i think people who feel lonely at times are sick because they are just too hyperactive and cannot stay still and have a moment of peace in life .. can i say that?
ppl who need medical attention will go and see a doctor...what we can do here is provide encouragement... and smart ppl sees in this guy he is not that bad.....ppl who can struggle and pass through U-education are really not that bad..at least his brains can sudstantiate that.....and i can post anything i want here...unless someone forumers or moderators who can pull strings and have some 'authorithy' band me lor. evreything here is free and not paid what you expect hahaOriginally posted by somepersonlah:point 1, please check the real meaning of adhd if u dont really understand it.
you say why an illness be proclaimed because u cant socialise well as your peers..
sometimes this illness is we not proclaim wan, it exist. it is due to many factors, chemical imbalance in the brain and so on..
at times comments like yours should not be made, it will affect those that really have this problem. seriously..
i am an X-men codename beast...i totally a blue furball am a diplomat so how?Originally posted by geodome:I have ADHD too.
So what? I am in a top uni now..
yeah, u can post anything u want, i dont care, just to remind u only, in case u forgt that sensitivity is a concern in regards with mental issues.Originally posted by troublemaker2005:ppl who need medical attention will go and see a doctor...what we can do here is provide encouragement... and smart ppl sees in this guy he is not that bad.....ppl who can struggle and pass through U-education are really not that bad..at least his brains can sudstantiate that.....and i can post anything i want here...unless someone forumers or moderators who can pull strings and have some 'authorithy' band me lor. evreything here is free and not paid what you expect haha![]()
r u encouraging? ur flatly said he does not have adhd..look at ur post first before posting...Originally posted by troublemaker2005:i am an X-men codename beast...i totally a blue furball am a diplomat so how?
the best medicine AA can provide is encouragement..a very simple thingy ppl with brains can tell...unless ppl ain't got a brain or a deficient in the brains....oh am i getting band with these words...gonna register another nick 2morrow![]()
the ppl should go see a doc for certification and not speculate...in your postings you are indicating he indeed has that illness? what if after diagnosis he ain't got? u also not rite to write something like this.Originally posted by somepersonlah:yeah, u can post anything u want, i dont care, just to remind u only, in case u forgt that sensitivity is a concern in regards with mental issues.
but if u still want to go ur way, so be it.
yeah, being in uni does not mean u dont have such disorders. i have friends with anxiety disorder also in uni, but hes sufering like hell right now.
these types of disorders, there are more than what u see la..so if donnoe, better dont say, cos it only makes that person seems stupid and shallow..
its like some skinny people, who dont have any experience whatsoever, telling someone how to lift weights and bulk..
i was encouraing...you just said he got abhd..without any medical prove and certification on thatOriginally posted by somepersonlah:r u encouraging? ur flatly said he does not have adhd..look at ur post first before posting...
hmm... if this is the case, this forum is the wrong place for u to seek proper advices. all i can tell u is... go find a councellor or seek professional help from psychiatrists and psychologists.Originally posted by Isis:yes partly of this medical condition, it has been discouraging for me cos people around u do not understand ur action and ur studies capability, and with parents that do not understand this medical condition or know its existence ( when i was young) who berating me... has been a haunting problem for me.. it is only recently that i know i am an adult who is suffering from this medical problem. I had battled this alone. it is tough..
i had inability to concentrate long hours in class or lecture has been a driving force for my disinterests in studies... n im still stuck in uni, graduating without no honours in perhaps 1 yr time and sch loan debt to pay... it is tough sufferin from this condition.. and u have no idea what impact it has on my life...
yea lor.. eh very scary leh.. i saw adhd on the topic but i can't believe he's actually serious about it as he kept toking abt his condition and stuff like that.Originally posted by somepersonlah:neh, i never said he had it.
for me, i used to have socialanxiety disorder. when i was young, i was very very shy..
as i grew older, i became more and more self consious..and nevous around people..
too nervous that i cannot be around people..
it affected me..i research and researched, to a ppoint i realised i had this disorder, the description all fit me..i could not accept it, and i told myself i dont have this sh1t..
i was all alone and stuff in school etc..
so i could not handle it one day and went to gp..i told him my symptoms and he refered me to psychologist..whereby i was told i had social anxiety..
i was quite taken aback when he told me that news..what i researched was true..it was happening to me..and i was given meds..i could not believe my hard luck
there are many things to say, but typing would not suffice; saying out loud is better la..i have done extensive research on this kind of things.
ya la, to a certain extend what u say is true la, if u are not certified, then u cant say anything..
but things like this, some disorder can just be known to us if we do some test..and go to psycho to confirm la..
hmm..this kinda things, very complicated and hard..
u got a prob...help yourself first before you try to point mistakes on others or try to help others...its a skinny guy telling a muscular guy how to lift weights...its like a non-swimming jumping into the pool trying to save a drowning guyOriginally posted by somepersonlah:neh, i never said he had it.
for me, i used to have socialanxiety disorder. when i was young, i was very very shy..
as i grew older, i became more and more self consious..and nevous around people..
too nervous that i cannot be around people..
it affected me..i research and researched, to a ppoint i realised i had this disorder, the description all fit me..i could not accept it, and i told myself i dont have this sh1t..
i was all alone and stuff in school etc..
so i could not handle it one day and went to gp..i told him my symptoms and he refered me to psychologist..whereby i was told i had social anxiety..
i was quite taken aback when he told me that news..what i researched was true..it was happening to me..and i was given meds..i could not believe my hard luck
there are many things to say, but typing would not suffice; saying out loud is better la..i have done extensive research on this kind of things.
ya la, to a certain extend what u say is true la, if u are not certified, then u cant say anything..
but things like this, some disorder can just be known to us if we do some test..and go to psycho to confirm la..
hmm..this kinda things, very complicated and hard..