Hi all, I have a burning question to ask.
How do I move up from poly to university?
As in, what's the percentile I have to be in to stand a chance? Top 15%?
I am currently an O-level student. Exams are in November, and I have decided to aim for a specific course in Ngee Ann Polytechnic. However, I plan to continue with tertiary education after graduation from NP. My long-term goal is to study journalism and eventually be tied to a career in journalism, or public relations when I go out to the real world. That's the life plan I have in mind eight or ten years down the road for now.
I wish to study
Mass Communications in Ngee Ann Poly, and yes, I have heard of how it is a massively tough course to get into and competition for degree places will be cut-throat. I realize that I will be competing with the cream de la creme of the poly cohorts when I enter that course. However, my dreams to become a journalist, print or otherwise, will always keep me on the right track.
My targeted L1R4 is 9 points. I am strong in English (one teacher says that my A1 for this subject is a mere formality but I can never be too sure) and my Combined Humanities, History Elective (I am a history and social studies freak, my favourite subject!). Principles of Accounts is a breeze. My concerns now are Mathematics and Mother Tounge. I have scored a B3 for June Mother Tounge 'O's with a higher distinction for Oral, so I have a fair chance of hitting A2 this time around. I am piss weak in my Maths, but I guess I can drag it up to B3 too come November as I have been steadily making ground in this damn subject.
L1R4 Target Breakdown :
English -
A1C.Humanities -
A1Mathematics -
B3Principles of Accounts -
A1Mother Tounge -
B3/A2So yeah, 9 points.
Additionaly, I have scored an
A1 for CCA and have no conduct troubles (teacher never catch me smoking and groping girls' butts while in school before, haha I win) and can be confident that I will have a fairly decent testimonial written for me as I am a student councillor, blablabla.
So are my goals good enough? Would be great if I can get feedback from Mass Comm students here!

Why have I chosen the Poly route to Uni? Chiefly because I really desire to study Mass Comm as it will play on my greatest (actually ONLY) talent I possess : my command of the English language. Hand in hand is the thought of going through A-levels. I am bordering on the edge of suicide and mental breakdown just for going through O-levels, of which most of the subjects I really don't give a flying f*** about with the exception of Humanities.
O level cannot tahan how to stand Air level. Go JC confirm si liao lor.
Any pointers for a mass comm hopeful?
Regards,
iSpeak