Originally posted by iSpeak:
Hi all, I have a burning question to ask.
How do I move up from poly to university?
As in, what's the percentile I have to be in to stand a chance? Top 15%?
I am currently an O-level student. Exams are in November, and I have decided to aim for a specific course in Ngee Ann Polytechnic. However, I plan to continue with tertiary education after graduation from NP. My long-term goal is to study journalism and eventually be tied to a career in journalism, or public relations when I go out to the real world. That's the life plan I have in mind eight or ten years down the road for now.
I wish to study [b]Mass Communications in Ngee Ann Poly, and yes, I have heard of how it is a massively tough course to get into and competition for degree places will be cut-throat. I realize that I will be competing with the cream de la creme of the poly cohorts when I enter that course. However, my dreams to become a journalist, print or otherwise, will always keep me on the right track.
My targeted L1R4 is 9 points. I am strong in English (one teacher says that my A1 for this subject is a mere formality but I can never be too sure) and my Combined Humanities, History Elective (I am a history and social studies freak, my favourite subject!). Principles of Accounts is a breeze. My concerns now are Mathematics and Mother Tounge. I have scored a B3 for June Mother Tounge 'O's with a higher distinction for Oral, so I have a fair chance of hitting A2 this time around. I am piss weak in my Maths, but I guess I can drag it up to B3 too come November as I have been steadily making ground in this damn subject.
L1R4 Target Breakdown :
English - A1
C.Humanities - A1
Mathematics - B3
Principles of Accounts - A1
Mother Tounge - B3/A2
So yeah, 9 points.
Additionaly, I have scored an A1 for CCA and have no conduct troubles (teacher never catch me smoking and groping girls' butts while in school before, haha I win) and can be confident that I will have a fairly decent testimonial written for me as I am a student councillor, blablabla.
So are my goals good enough? Would be great if I can get feedback from Mass Comm students here! 
Why have I chosen the Poly route to Uni? Chiefly because I really desire to study Mass Comm as it will play on my greatest (actually ONLY) talent I possess : my command of the English language. Hand in hand is the thought of going through A-levels. I am bordering on the edge of suicide and mental breakdown just for going through O-levels, of which most of the subjects I really don't give a flying f*** about with the exception of Humanities.
O level cannot tahan how to stand Air level. Go JC confirm si liao lor.
Any pointers for a mass comm hopeful?
Regards,
iSpeak[/b]
I am in the same situation as you many years ago(6 years ago). I loved Mass Comms, and especially wished to be a journalist or specialise in the field of PR. I could have gotten into Mass Comm at Ngee Ann, but not wanting 2 disappoint my mum, I decided 2 try for JC. I was a flop, to say the least. My A-level results allowed me 2 get into NTU, but it wasn't the course I want, so I chose MDIS, a private school that offered a degree in Mass Comms, awarded by the Okalahoma City University(ocu). It is recognised in the Mass Comms industry, and people like Carrie Chong came frm this course.
Basically, if u choose 2 come to MDIS after your O-level, it will take u ard 3 years to go from a Diploma to a Degree Course. Now, the course is shorter than the usual route because it is an intensive course, where u have lessons pratically almost every day, and also, holidays are few and far in between, until u reach the degree stage. Also, u take 1 module at a time, rather than study several modules at 1 go, which to me, is good because at least u just concentrate on 1 module, take the exam, and go on to the next one.
If u choose 2 take ur diploma at a local poly(need not necessary be Mass Comms) or A-levels, then u will simply move on to the Advanced Diploma stage, where it takes about 2 to 2 1/2 years 2 complete ur whole course. U skip the diploma stage at MDIS. I would recommend u to join this course, although i know the stigma of a private school is still there,especially since u are a 9 pointer. Because during the last few months before u finish ur degree course, u can fly to the US, and go to OCU campus to study 3 modules in 3weeks. Things like TV producation and script-writing will be taught. I will be going next year, but already my classmates and me can't wait.
So think about it carefully. Of course going to NTU to study Mass Comms will be the better one, but MDIS does have its advantages too.