check this link out...Originally posted by ~Numb~:Hi all...
Just wanna clear some thoughts...
Intend to get ROM-ed with my g/f in July(tentively) 07
planning a ROM cum Solemnisation Lunch reception, decided not to have the chinese dinner, too much of a hassle.
And with all the Guo Da Li and all the nitty gitty stuff...
How much do i need??? Really interested to know if i actually got enough to pull it off...
Can advice me??
Thanks in advance...
CONGRATULATIONS AH! LOL.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:i must mark this thread...i going to need this soon...![]()
Originally posted by R3SsH|n:i must mark this thread...i going to need this soon...![]()
u no more pee member already... can i have ur siggy??Originally posted by R3SsH|n:i must mark this thread...i going to need this soon...![]()
need more details than these.as in more concrete plans...Originally posted by ~Numb~:Hi all...
Just wanna clear some thoughts...
Intend to get ROM-ed with my g/f in July(tentively) 07
planning a ROM cum Solemnisation Lunch reception, decided not to have the chinese dinner, too much of a hassle.
And with all the Guo Da Li and all the nitty gitty stuff...
How much do i need??? Really interested to know if i actually got enough to pull it off...
Can advice me??
Thanks in advance...
if ur gf's family can have the pig sent to their house...then just order from outside...like kopitiam roast duck stall...restaurant is expensive....kopitiam price also not cheap...BIG one can cost 500 bucks onwards...I know some restaurants provide the pig at wedding dinners for 888 bucks each.small one somemore.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Can get the restaurant to provide the suckling pig
Originally posted by ~Numb~:I'm a teochew and my g/f is a hokkien. Anything regarding the "Guo Da Li" and other tradition customs i should know, before those "san gu lu po" of my mum or relatives starts to give/suggest some insane ideas...
Thanks...
I am not too familiar with the Guo Da Li part except what I had for my wedding a few weeks back.anyway my wife and my dialect group are both cantonese so as said earlier...it differs from dialect to dialect.Anyway....advises from the san gu liu pos can be pretty helpful.another way is to go to those shops selling traditional wedding stuff and ask them.Originally posted by ~Numb~:Thanks to Xcert and viciouskitty74 for your valuable advice...
Yes, Have talk too and decide that the Chinese Wedding dinner will not be held..
So the "actual day" will be the ROM cum soleminasation together at a hotel. (thinking poolside)
So morning will go fetch the bride and head over to the hotel for the ROM thingy and also "jib cha" to the elderlys...
That's what we have in mind...
I'm a teochew and my g/f is a hokkien. Anything regarding the "Guo Da Li" and other tradition customs i should know, before those "san gu lu po" of my mum or relatives starts to give/suggest some insane ideas...
Thanks...
Thanks for reading and hope this help those who are having the same thought of getting married next year!
Cheers...
just as a side-note,individual dragon phoenix bangles are increasingly difficult to find.most of the designs now are those with the dragon and phoenix entwined together as one bangle.I personally find it ugly so its up to U...Originally posted by viciouskitty74:and with everyone been young and modern.
This suggestion of 4 piece jewellry was presented to a Brides Family:
Thick Gold dragon pheonix necklace
Set of dragon pheonix Earrings
dragon pheonix bangle
ladies rolex watch
Its actually quite up to you and your bride what is practical.
yes...the parents-meet-the-parents session.Originally posted by choco B:A warning... everyone will have a different idea of "how it should be done" when it comes to GDL, but what counts is what the 2 moms expect and are given... so better to let them meet, discuss and confirm what they want...
Also, you haven't discussed the dowry right? LOL Better to suss out that amount quick.
Go for the old timer goldsmiths shops. If they dont have, can also ask them to tailor make for you.Originally posted by Xcert:just as a side-note,individual dragon phoenix bangles are increasingly difficult to find.most of the designs now are those with the dragon and phoenix entwined together as one bangle.I personally find it ugly so its up to U...
tsk tsk somebody is getting married and u are saying such things.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Go for the old timer goldsmiths shops. If they dont have, can also ask them to tailor make for you.
I agree the new designs wans are ugly. But then, no one actually wears it! Just buy the cheapest package lah....those fat fat ones but are hollow inside ones are good enough. Its only for photo taking and pretend pretend to be rich.
BTW, avoid those white gold, platinum or diamonds stuff. They are really not worth a cent.
the idea of keeping the yellow gold is that, when you need cash, you will eventually. These items can be pawn.
Nothing beats the feeling of relief when pawning a gold bracelet to get some cash that will buy milk to feed your baby.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Go for the old timer goldsmiths shops. If they dont have, can also ask them to tailor make for you.
I agree the new designs wans are ugly. But then, no one actually wears it! Just buy the cheapest package lah....those fat fat ones but are hollow inside ones are good enough. Its only for photo taking and pretend pretend to be rich.
BTW, avoid those white gold, platinum or diamonds stuff. They are really not worth a cent.
the idea of keeping the yellow gold is that, when you need cash, you will eventually. These items can be pawn.
Nothing beats the feeling of relief when pawning a gold bracelet to get some cash that will buy milk to feed your baby.
180 people means only 18 tables(10 per table)...small small only lar...can do....U should see those people having 20...30...40 tables one...look nice...number big big...but then I find it no meaning lor...most of the time U also dunno who U invited just to make up the number...waste time waste effort...most likely waste money too.Originally posted by ~Numb~:Thanks for all the valuable add ons...
it's been a good help...
Kinda listing out the stuffs that needs to be taken note of...
As i had posted before, my intention is to do away with the wedding banquent.
and have a lunch buffet instead.
Straight after the Solemninsation and the "Jin Cha" ceremony.
But after some initial calculation...both sides(me and g/f) have guests adding up to around 180 odd people...
So my concern is will it be a chaotic situation???
You guys think is it Do-able???
Anybody have any similiar experience?
Please share???
TIA