Dude, I understand. I'm even forced to study in a darned course I hate to the core.Originally posted by gLc:aiya, he just doesnt like what im doing, i play com, buay song. Watch tv kp me also. I go out with mum, he also come ask me stay home study. wtf, even if i stay home at most i stare at book, wont even absorb anything. Might as well let me go out and see the world and learn things the hard way. Doing that will only make me hate him more la.
Originally posted by gLc:For them, freedom comes with results more.
I dont understand. Fine, let the building up of hatred begin.
wad course r u inOriginally posted by Quinsy:Dude, I understand. I'm even forced to study in a darned course I hate to the core.
Haiz, but what to do. Buck up studies and at the same time game and go out as you wish lor.
I find that if I am able to juggle my studies and whatever I like and prove to them, they might cut me some slack.![]()
dude...thats SOOOOOOO wrong...Originally posted by gLc:Not all teens are able to study, the reason why they turn delinquent is due to little or no attention from their parents and go wayward. Me on the other hand is just another guai kia, i finish my homework, when my parents go for Meet the teachers thingy, teachers have no complains at all bout me, just that my results plain suck. If everyone can study the school still have NA for what.
I dont want to just play, at this point im thinking of taking up a part time job to buy certain things i want, the holidays are coming soon and things which i want, i have to work for it, and also not wanting to see my dad's face at night.
Playing games all day do not mean im a wayward kid. It applies the same principle to studying all day. I believe freedom comes with age, at 15, it might seem young to u guys but to me i feel like i can own the world.lol, kiddin. But erm, by forcing me to do what i dont want, it will only increase in my hatred for them, i shuld study for myself, not because they told me to.
Chemical and Pharmaceutical Technology. NYP. zzzzzzzOriginally posted by Chelzea:wad course r u in![]()
seriously read more sun zi bing fa....there's this thing in the book called know yaself and know ya foe and win all battles...u really need to know what ya father is what kind of person , was he a signed on regular(could be a reason) , what his mentaility is blah blah blah.....ya....and they have every right to control u when u take their money use their electricity water all these....y not u start planning for ya independence freedom by start working part-time secretly?...save enough money in future ns all thses....Originally posted by Rock^Star:U can't possibly change ur dad's way of thinking right? It's difficult yeh cos at this age, u wana belong to groups of friends and do what they do right.
Try to ask ur mum why ur dad functions the way he does and if possible, have a talk with ur dad too. put yourself in his shoes and don't always feel that u are always being severely restricted. parents may seem to an absurd way of thinking at times but they love u very much. try ur best to understand why ur dad is so strict.
Sometimes, it's a matter of how we re-position our mindset. U don;t have a choice here, cos if u rebel against ur dad openly, there's gona be no more harmony in the family.
i not only run away from home i oso awolled during ns to make them fed up with me...now happily enjoying my freedom though 3 months wasted and have to survive on my own by working but it's better than sitting here and whine or staring at celing at home thinking thingsOriginally posted by shade343:Hmm, well, I only ran away from home as a last resort...that was when talks broke down and both sides couldnt agree to a solution. So I decided to just run off to send a stronger message to my Dad. In the end, he somewhat agreed to a compromise after I stayed out for a night cos he was worried sick.
But till this day, he still wants some control over my life like my sleeping time ect ect. I cant even do a port forward for my router...
So this goes to show that parents, ultimately, think in the interest of their children.
But I think, the most important thing is convincing your dad to trust you and getting him to understand that you know what you are doing.
No. Sometimes ure words fall on deaf ears towards ure parents. If an impact like quarrelling and arguments dont even help in your views..what does? Although Im also against the idea of running away from home just to create the certain power to a large extent, but if my dad dont listen and respect my views in a logical and sensible manner, im down to limited choices already.Originally posted by udontknowme:![]()
if thats what you want, FINE!
you will NEVER get the 'freedom' you want![]()
Yea, I tried to put in the effort before my exams and i only passed half the subjects of what I take. So far i only have 3 credit passes which allow me to go to Sec 4(NA) but not the true train program, which is something I have to appeal and go through another series of exams to determine my place there.Originally posted by Quinsy:Dude, I understand. I'm even forced to study in a darned course I hate to the core.
Haiz, but what to do. Buck up studies and at the same time game and go out as you wish lor.
I find that if I am able to juggle my studies and whatever I like and prove to them, they might cut me some slack.![]()
Its not bout the trust! Its bout the darn results! I dont think like a kid, i talk to my dad with sense and logic, its u that dont get the situation. I talk properly and I dont get treated fairly.Originally posted by udontknowme:dude...thats SOOOOOOO wrong...
its the same with ALL parents.
they can only give you space if they can trust you!
my parents gave me a lil freedom, and i went overboard. and after that, i was cooped up at home ALL DAY excpept for when i went to school.
if you are still going to think like a KID, then be expected to be treated like one!
you shouldnt blame your dad you know. really, he sounds like he is the one who wants you to have a better future. dont blame others for your failing grades, now that's just loser. dont have to be affected by him. you're probably one of the ppl who pick fights in dota games? lol. try your best next year, work very hard, show your dad you are capable to manage your time to achieve good grades, and thus manage yourself. and by mid-year, he might let you have some freedom. although, do remember its your o's... quite sad la sec 3 cant slack..Originally posted by gLc:i dont know why.. but its just my dad alone. Times when my dad isnt in Sg, my mum allows me to wreck havoc and go out and do whatever i want. As my mum and dad actually work at the same workplace, my mum knows when my dad is going back home or not. Times my mum would just give me a call telling me when my dad is going home..
I reali appreaciate what my mum does.
Times i get so fustrated and pissed that during the day i just DOTA and MAPLE all the day even though countless reminders have been told to make me study. I attribute my results and failures in academic studies to my loss of freedom. I envy my friends when they can go out catch a movie after school, go play pool and stuff.. and return home by 9 pm on weekdays itself. Weekends they are allowed not before 2 am. Whenever i think of this, i just cannot bring myself to study and put in the work. The more my dad tells me me to study, the more i rebel and not study as i hate the way im given my freedom.
Life sux.![]()
Originally posted by sexyfats:err wth? What has my situation got to do with dota? ZzZ?
you shouldnt blame your dad you know. really, he sounds like he is the one who wants you to have a better future. dont blame others for your failing grades, now that's just loser. dont have to be affected by him. you're probably one of the ppl who pick fights in dota games? lol. try your best next year, work very hard, show your dad you are capable to manage your time to achieve good grades, and thus manage yourself. and by mid-year, he might let you have some freedom. although, do remember its your o's... quite sad la sec 3 cant slack..[/b]
9-10? mine is more like 5 pm..Originally posted by JuanRomanRiquelme:Can't remember much during 15, but I think I usually go out after school sometimes rather than go out during the weekends. Sometimes, on weekends, it would be out playing soccer or going to friend's house to play ps games...my curfew was about 9-10pm
Then during jc, curfew extended to about 11pm i think...can't really remember that well.
I think it is during ns when I start going back at around 1-2am on weekends. Normally when I come back home at night, my mom would stay up to wait for me, but when I was in ns, all I had to do was to call my parents and tell them that I am coming home late.
Nowadays its OTOT for me already...especially so when i got my own car already lol...i am 21 this yr btw...
Actually beginning I was not supposed to go out too. But then I decided to have a talk with my mom and assure her that I am alright and nothing would go wrong.Originally posted by gLc:9-10? mine is more like 5 pm..
Weekdays not even supposed to go out.
Not fair, but whenever that happens, I SNEAK OUT LOR. Then when they call and ask where I am, I tell them half truths lor. Before my exams i usually club then study. LOL. At least I study. =p so whenever they call and ask, i tell them the study location.Originally posted by gLc:Yea, I tried to put in the effort before my exams and i only passed half the subjects of what I take. So far i only have 3 credit passes which allow me to go to Sec 4(NA) but not the true train program, which is something I have to appeal and go through another series of exams to determine my place there.
I had also wished that I could juggle gaming and studies, to be able to at least attain a pass in my subjects but sadly its not that all possible, my fault? I dont think so, I did put in the effort, and the results were not ideal. For example take one of my subjects Geography, out of 37 guys in my class, none passed, does that mean its out fault? Or the teachers fault?
Ya i agree with u, it goes the same with my parents, I attain good results and my dad would den cut me some slack. But sadly, its almost impossible for me, not that i did not put in the effort. To add on, before exams I frequent mcdonalds, fast food chains to revise with friends, my dad had doubted me and scolded me even when i explained to him, he kept on thinking I spent the time enjoying myself outside. I sat down and had a cool talk with him and he did not believe me. So what the hell right? I actually want to study and plan time and make the effort to go out and try to study, got friends to teach me certain formulaes and this is how i get treated, fair?
Yup. I agree with your parents. Your dad needs to see results, so challenge him to game of dota 1v1. See who got more frags. You telll your dad to choose hero while you random.Originally posted by gLc:For them, freedom comes with results more.
I dont understand. Fine, let the building up of hatred begin.
I cant even sneak out as my dad insist i must tell him before i go out. The point is when I tell him, he disagrees. So whats the point of even telling him? fk..Originally posted by Quinsy:Not fair, but whenever that happens, I SNEAK OUT LOR. Then when they call and ask where I am, I tell them half truths lor. Before my exams i usually club then study. LOL. At least I study. =p so whenever they call and ask, i tell them the study location.