Hmm, I suppose you would need to pluck up the courage and ask him to sit down with you and have an open talk. Oh, and try to be calm and talk nicely. You would need to express your opinions in a mature manner and ensure that he understands your situation, otherwise, he would just continue making decisions which he thinks is good for you... And he isnt a student or a 15yr old guy....Originally posted by gLc:I have to applaud u if u can think that way ( what ever my dad does is in my best interest ).
I cant seem to, the more I think of it, the more my hatred for him grows.
My mum doesnt dare to talk to my dad much, much afraid of getting scolded, cuz he always say, " When Im looking after my son, YOU dont interfere. ", say dis sort of things to my mum. My dad already thinks hes king and im his prisoner.. To be able to decide my whole fucking life in his opinion.
Thats because you didnt really make an effort to communicate either...Originally posted by Quinsy:I concur. A place to sleep, play com, feel caged.
You try communicatin to my mom la. You know she's been fighting with the management again... =.=Originally posted by shade343:Thats because you didnt really make an effort to communicate either...![]()
hey, btw.. im 19 turning 20.Originally posted by gLc:How much freedom did u get?
Like weekdays must return home by what time? Go out need to call parents inform anot? Weekends lei?
I just find that my dad, is really abit overboard at times. Weekdays when I go out, he kpkb.. den now i dont go out at all already. Cuz always kena scolding. Friends ask me out, I just say tio grounded, even though in actual fact, I have not been grounded, but my present circumstance can already be matched up to being grounded.
Weekends I have to be back by 6 pm..
I mean is this what a 15 yr old boy should get? This sort of freedom? I dont smoke or anything. I dont have a single disciplinary record since sec1. And yea this is what i get..
Even up till now when its the holi's, the same rule applies.. Wth man, i think life as a 15 yr old for me in my family just sucks. reali.![]()
And for gods sake, im not a girl... argh.
Another qns, do results really come along with freedom? Im currently in NA, used to be in express last year, din study and dropped to where I currently am. But so what, in sec2 i was still treated the same way. Wth man..
Hmm, well, I only ran away from home as a last resort...that was when talks broke down and both sides couldnt agree to a solution. So I decided to just run off to send a stronger message to my Dad. In the end, he somewhat agreed to a compromise after I stayed out for a night cos he was worried sick.Originally posted by gLc:wa..
Somehow i just feel that at the end of the day, i wont have the guts to actually walk out, but whine down here..![]()
Boy, i feel so sad for you. It's as if you are being treated like a 8-year-old. your parents are over-protective.Originally posted by gLc:And for gods sake, im not a girl... argh.
Not all teens are able to study, the reason why they turn delinquent is due to little or no attention from their parents and go wayward. Me on the other hand is just another guai kia, i finish my homework, when my parents go for Meet the teachers thingy, teachers have no complains at all bout me, just that my results plain suck. If everyone can study the school still have NA for what.Originally posted by o-lua:hey, btw.. im 19 turning 20.
yea, but i understand wad are u doing tru..
before ur frustration.. i'ld like to ask.
did u think in their shoes?
imagine u got this bright young son, from express dropp to N(A)..
the first thing in mind for them is
1. is he getting into bad company?
2. if so, are we not strict enough?
3. are we not giving him enough attention.
4. can he REALLY think? and is mature enough?
they may nag nag nag nag nag or just scold or shout.
but this are what went tru their mind, really.
the FACT that you got into N(A) from express, is the cause of concern already.
im not saying NA is bad or what. but it proves to them, u are doing worse.
they didnt say u have to be top or progress alot.
but you actually got worse..
therefore, you sorta broke their trust in you to auto-pilot already.
yea..
and for your streaming this yr, u are still mapling and dota-ing.
is it an excuse, tt they are nagging?
or
do u just wan to play.. and dont like to study?
im not telling to what to do.
im asking you..
if u have a son who play games all day,
will u give him more space,
or, control him more?
and also,
to ur question, like it or not, yes.
ur academic is a gauge to ur behaviour and how much they can trust u.
aiya, he just doesnt like what im doing, i play com, buay song. Watch tv kp me also. I go out with mum, he also come ask me stay home study. wtf, even if i stay home at most i stare at book, wont even absorb anything. Might as well let me go out and see the world and learn things the hard way. Doing that will only make me hate him more la.Originally posted by shade343:Hmm, well, I only ran away from home as a last resort...that was when talks broke down and both sides couldnt agree to a solution. So I decided to just run off to send a stronger message to my Dad. In the end, he somewhat agreed to a compromise after I stayed out for a night cos he was worried sick.
But till this day, he still wants some control over my life like my sleeping time ect ect. I cant even do a port forward for my router...
So this goes to show that parents, ultimately, think in the interest of their children.
But I think, the most important thing is convincing your dad to trust you and getting him to understand that you know what you are doing.
For them, freedom comes with results more.Originally posted by AngGuKuay:Freedom comes with trust. I think u have to slowly earn their trust.
oh.. my dear young man.Originally posted by gLc:Not all teens are able to study, the reason why they turn delinquent is due to little or no attention from their parents and go wayward. Me on the other hand is just another guai kia, i finish my homework, when my parents go for Meet the teachers thingy, teachers have no complains at all bout me, just that my results plain suck. If everyone can study the school still have NA for what.
I dont want to just play, at this point im thinking of taking up a part time job to buy certain things i want, the holidays are coming soon and things which i want, i have to work for it, and also not wanting to see my dad's face at night.
Playing games all day do not mean im a wayward kid. It applies the same principle to studying all day. I believe freedom comes with age, at 15, it might seem young to u guys but to me i feel like i can own the world.lol, kiddin. But erm, by forcing me to do what i dont want, it will only increase in my hatred for them, i shuld study for myself, not because they told me to.