i study at tampines. so dun think u've seen me b4.Originally posted by charlize:I study at Tim Hortons.
Originally posted by udontknowme:my teacher does.
why bother trying to do your homework when you cant get the basics right???
forget about your homework and work on the basics first!!!
you have two months this holiday. im sure you can afford to spend two weeks working on the more basic stuff.
and besides, no one does ALL the holiday homework questions. [b]the teacher is not going to mark them or look throught them ALL. pick and choose some to do.
if you get your basics right now, you might find math more easy next year. at least it'll be better than now...hopefully [/b]
how did that miracle happened ?Originally posted by shinta:i'm in the minority i was very good in sec sch science (sub science ar) but veyr lousy in my maths
a miracle happened when i got b3 for my maths
i was expecting a D![]()
such a good teacher..Originally posted by shinta:go back to the basics...
tats what she did in sec 3... she went back to the basics with us, explainin why the algebra rules are like this etc bla bla bla![]()
and assessment... i did the same as darkness... topic by topic... until every qn is correct before i skip to the next topic..
but i did 1 topic over a few days
your teacher SAYS he/she will right?????Originally posted by crucifiedx:my teacher does.
she really can do it. not joking. and my sch is hiring teachers from other schs to help mark our holiday h/w. i think. 200+ questions can be done in 2 mths. its that i dun noe how to do. at all.Originally posted by udontknowme:your teacher SAYS he/she will right?????
i mean...look. each class has 40 odd students. and im sure she teaches more than one class. and if each of you have 200+ questions...
200X40=8000. and thats only for ONE class. NO WAY can your teacher MARK all that.
look. just get your basics right first. no point struggling with your holiday homework now. there is no point. might as well just copy...who on earth finishes all the hol h/w anyways...
cos that year paper very easyOriginally posted by crucifiedx:how did that miracle happened ?
thnx for ur comment. but i dun like tution. when i study, i need to have someone around so that i can clarify my doubts. for me, i think tution = wasting $$.Originally posted by smudgey:maths is not that difficult.
get a teacher to teach you.
do not memorise the solution. Understand the steps.
and after u understand it, practice it a million times....
so good. how do i overcome the phoebia of maths ?Originally posted by shinta:cos that year paper very easy![]()
erm.. constant practise lor...
i tot i'd have a lot of careless mistakes to fail me..
end up... i did so well careless mistakes oso didn fail me![]()
start with 1+1 = 2Originally posted by crucifiedx:so good. how do i overcome the phoebia of maths ?
so basically you are also saying, get your basics right first then as you go along, it wont be all that difficult...Originally posted by shinta:start with 1+1 = 2
den slowly increase the difficulty
soon u'd be thinkin chey maths nia... so easy![]()
x + 2 = 0Originally posted by fudgester:I must say that what udon said is very true.
If your foundation sucks, then you seriously shouldn't even bother on working on your current syallabus. By all means go and dig out your lower Sec Maths textbooks and revise everything from the very start.
I once tutored a Sec 3 boy who was EXTREMELY weak in his foundation Maths. He slacked all the way through his Sec 1 and Sec 2, and got demoted to the Normal stream as he had screwed up his Sec 2 streaming exams badly.
When I first taught him (at the end of his Sec 2 year), he didn't even know how to do this question:
x + 2 = 0
He just stared at it blankly as though I had just asked him to buy a barrel of gummiberry juice from Muddy Murphy's.
I spent the next few months giving him a crash course in Lower Sec maths. And I mean CRASH. He complained that he wanted me to teach him E Maths, but his foundation sucked so much that he really couldn't do any of it when I tried teaching him the Sec 3 syllabus.
If you already can't solve x + 2 = 0, then how the heck do you solve this:
2^(x+2) = 8
Even so, the damage was too much for me to reverse. In the end, his mother fired me. No reason was given, but I suspect that he screwed up his final paper as well. I have no regrets - I did my job to the best of my abilities.
You don't want to end up like this kid? Get back to basics.
not bad can solve but hor sec 1 opics definitely neededOriginally posted by crucifiedx:x + 2 = 0
x = -2
correct ma ? i forgotten how to solve.
as for 2^(x+2) = 8, think thats an upper sec ques. im still sec2, starting sec3 next yr.
i forgotten the sec1 topics totally. are sec1 topics required in upper sec ?
Are you kidding?Originally posted by crucifiedx:x + 2 = 0
x = -2
correct ma ? i forgotten how to solve.
as for 2^(x+2) = 8, think thats an upper sec ques. im still sec2, starting sec3 next yr.
i forgotten the sec1 topics totally. are sec1 topics required in upper sec ?
Originally posted by hisoka:not bad can solve but hor sec 1 opics definitely needed
as i said, and a few others, go back to your sec 1 and sec 2 work. go thru it slowly and try to understand. goto the next harder topic only when you have understood the easier ones.
build up to it slowly. forget abotu the homework if there isn't time. you're in sec 3 the grades don't matter as long as you are promoted to sec 4
go borrow one lor.Originally posted by crucifiedx:agree. but what if i lost my sec 1 textbk ?
why leh ?Originally posted by shinta:wah my mrs chan went back to primary sch maths
what if im not plannng to take engineering?Originally posted by fudgester:Are you kidding?
I'm in NUS. Mechanical Engineering. Yr 3.
And I'm still applying Lower Sec Maths right now.
The concepts I tackle are much more complex of course - but a lot of the tools I use to solve them are very familiar to you: simultaneous linear equations, quadratic equations, Pythagoras' Theorem... you name it.
If you seriously think you can get away with not knowing it all, then you're in serious trouble in Upper Sec.
I'm not trying to scare you - I'm just stating the truth.
better mahOriginally posted by crucifiedx:why leh ?
I had almost the same problem as you. The KEY is to LISTEN to your class and UNDERSTAND no matter how much you hate the teacher... Tell yourself you don't hate that subject and has to be responsible to yourself... The more you FEAR and AVOID it, the WORSE the situation would get....Originally posted by crucifiedx:i understand my pri sch topics well. i think its becos of me not listening to anything my teacher said during sec 1 that lead me to this F9. i also lack of confindence and also have the fear of doing maths.
sec 3 is starting in 2 mths time and i dun think im able to cope well.
lol. why better ?Originally posted by shinta:better mah