ok i shall share the whole story here. not to push blame or what. just need someone to advise me on how to tackle my problem, namely him.
started out a few weeks before holidays end. poly holis
we took up a project by Grid network to launch their services into consumer market. i asked if he wanted to pair up with me so we both do together since we last sem already in the samegroup, we more or less know each other working pattern. he said ok, lets do it.
after accepting , we were both bz , me with IMF , him with some camp. so we met Grid contact after like 1 or 2 weeks. that was our first meeting, introduced and stuff, blah blah blah. then on that very week, we said to meet on sat to discuss, he say ok. but on sat when i ask him if he is ready to go, he said he not free. then i ask we already say hao liao sat meet, when last min tell me not free. he said o because friday night i no msg him abt sat meeting, so he thought sat meeting is off. KPKB here and there then decided decided tues we meet.
we met and for the first and only time we sat down to discuss our project. brainstormed a few ideas. he said he will do the report, ok so i let him do it since i ok with it. pairwork ma, must split up. up until fri night, he still no do anything. tell me all kinda crap reasons. so i ok nvm i do it, but he say no need he sat do it. ok so i waited, and he sunday night then send me.
forgive forget, i sun night took his report and edited. but by then i had already came up with my own report also. his report is more or less a ripped off from my report but since we are pairwork, ideas are most likely the same. so i used his report added a few new points from mine, and sent it to our boss. told him to think of some service plans. he said ok.
wed(ithink) morning we went to grid again. he came dressed in slippers. i so disgusted. then we went for our meeting. and we shared our proposal. ok ok ok. share liao, but i included my service plans in our proposal. then after our meeting , he kpkb why i tell him to think of service plans when i already included mine into the proposal. i was like, wtf? you mean just because i already had mine and i put them in, doesnt mean that you cant put yours in what! but i didnt say out la. i apologize and we went to school after that.
then following that we had quite a few quarrels, over our proposal. i cant remember exact details but i rmb i promised that we will send our new proposal to Grid on the monday of the next week. he say he do report but end up no do, so i again do it myself. then he kpkb why i do it and send in without his approval. i was like wtf you no do, and you blame me for doing it?
then because i am the contact person in my group, all emails are sent by me. ya and then after that we decided to meet our tutor for some advice on the first week of school. he told me on thurs morning that Fri 11am we can go meet our tutor. and that our 9am lecture v impt. i was v tired but i turned up in school at 9am for our lect and to meet our tutor at 11. my partner called me at 8.50am, pal i not going to lect, help me take notes. i will reach around 1030. i said ok you better come. then at 1045 he still no come, so i sms him, whether he want buy calculator anot. he say ok, he leaving house liao. i was like 1045 leaving house when we meeting tutor at 11? wtf?
so i waited, 1145, he called me, after my repeated sms to him. i was v unhappy that he fly my kite. he had to cheek to tell me , at 1145, that he is waiting for bus at his place's busstop. i was v angry liao. and of course my tone was v irritated. he actually said this to me, zhou she me, bu shuang ah? over the phone. i was like about to explode liao. so i told him as calmly as possible, we are supposed to meet tutor at 11am. what time is it now. he kpkb here and there then we hung up.
then we met up only at 3pm after our lecture. he came to take his calculator and left with his gf. citing that he got other committments to go to. ok lo he go i also dont care. fri evening, should go out de. but i stayed back for 2 hours till 5pm to meet our tutor ALONE.
then we quarrelled over our project during the weekends i think. we were discussing about a gameshow on the roadshow. it was my idea, but he wanted to use his. and his is crap. 3 days, many groups, and many members in each group. how are we going to get enough helpers and prizes for the winners. he just doesnt get it. he insisted on using his, because always i am right , he is wrong. he just wants to go against me and prove he is better. so ok i let him have his way, ask him do a simple words doc to explain his idea to me, he kpkb what waste resources. blah blah. in end i told him i not going to listen unless he put in word doc because i going to bed. and with that i really went off to slp.
was really pissed off he threatened to leave our project because some other group wants him in, so he says.
then we went school as per normal. i emailed my tutor to ask for help and he gave me a slot on thurs, which i have no class but my partner has. but he told me he going driving lesson because he fri has driving test. and so i went to meet tutor alone again.
discuss, advised, and stuff. i waited 1 hour till my partner finish class to tell him what our tutor told me. he orh orh. then went off after 30min.
then after which we put our project on hold. i continued to email our grid contact. and last wed we had a quarrel again i think. cant rmb the details.
but thurs i went to meet Grid alone because they wanna pass me the new phones to test. then after which my boss brought me out to kopitiam for lunch and asked about our proposal. so i told her as much as i can rmb. then she said ok, next time she wants to see us, she wants a list of helpers and posters location, poster design, and roadshow booth locations in our campus. i told my partner on thurs night, and on fri we discussed again. that we have to get ready all this stuff by monday, which is today. because my boss will be having meeting with the CEO and most likely she will want our materials by this week.
my partner hasnt done the poster design. but on fri night when he said he will do it, i said ok, he asked me, "then you do what?" i was like , since when i did nothing for our project? then he kept quiet.
what i was doing this 2 days is really nothing much, i suck at design. i was thinking about how to resolve our conflicts and how to combine both our ideas into 1.
my current situation
he wants our roadshow to have 3 booths at different locations. and to increase our helpers from 20 to more than that amount. each booth will set up a "mini class" space because he wants to have "classes" at 15min interval to teach our potential customers on the benefits of Grid's services.
and when i questioned his idea for more than 20helpers with the reason that we only have 20 phones to loan out. he said then dont give them the phones lor. then the class, who so free to go set up and who will go listen? he said get helpers set up lor, then get them to teach at 15min intervals.
for me, i want to cut down to 2 booths, minimizing the number of helpers to as low as possible. and to let each helper have the phones to use, so they know how to use it, and can convince potential customers easier.
how can you convince someone to buy, if you the salesman yourself are not willing to buy or dont know how to use?
and the cost for loaning out the 20 phones is like 12k because the company cant resell them as new sets because they have been used.
tell me which idea is more feasible? i thought of combining both ideas together, but there is a clash of interest so to speak.
and i also thinking of a new tagline and term for our project, and how we can organize the mini contest. and my partner just doesnt know it but still questions my contributions. btw our project will start on next week. see how rush i am...our marketing effort will start next week. and my partner and i still havent come up with a proper quiz or the design of posters. great right?