Originally posted by shade343:u are wrong. i am not trying ask people whether i am filial or not.i want views on this incident. if my sister went along with my mother, yes i would have gone and meet my friends. so u say if i go party with my friends, i am not filial?then how about the thousands of people on the streets of orchard road last night?
From what I gather, you mentioned in your first post that "[b]where young people like me should go out and have fun with friends and count down to the new year. so i thought, since she is going out with her boyfriend, then i be the good boy and sacrifice my new year eve and spend it with my mother, accompany her. "
Wouldnt this imply that if your sister had volunteered to go out with your mum in the first place, you would have opted to party with your friends? Is that being filial?
And again, I question you for the need to tell others that your sister is from a JC. Was there even a need to do so in the first place? What are you trying to insinuate? [/b]
But isnt that what you are implying? YOu said this---> "you know i wouldn't have a problem accomapanying mum if my sister had followed along...the fact that she rather stay at home and watch tv pisses me off..."Originally posted by R3SsH|n:u are wrong. i am not trying ask people whether i am filial or not.i want views on this incident. if my sister went along with my mother, yes i would have gone and meet my friends. so u say if i go party with my friends, i am not filial?then how about the thousands of people on the streets of orchard road last night?
tsk...
i tell everyone she was from a jc is to emphasize on my point on why i don't like jc students.
anyway jc is not the crux of the topic,so i suggest if u have nothing to contribute with regards to the topic, then go away.
Originally posted by shade343:jeez...u don't get it don't you. she suppose to have a date. fine, she can go away and spend it with her boyfriend while i will accompany mum. yet eventually she didn't and yet instead spend the time watching tv. if she is not going out, at least say so and offer to follow mum, instead she rather watch tv and say going out with mum is boring.
But isnt that what you are implying? YOu said this---> [b]"you know i wouldn't have a problem accomapanying mum if my sister had followed along...the fact that she rather stay at home and watch tv pisses me off..."
So now you are employing double standards. Its ok for you to go out and party and let your sister accompany your mother, but its NOT ok for your sister to watch TV at home while you accompany your mother.
And If JC isnt the crux of the topic, why bring it in in the first place? So now you finally admint its irrelavant to the topic. Good.[/b]
no lei, i ask her since she not going out with her boyfriend, why don't she go downstairs...Originally posted by nanren4ever:My post may sound harsh to the TS, but its just my opinion..
Going with your mother because of obligation doesn't make you a fillial son, but rather, you come across as fake, that you wanna potray that you are a good son.
Don't blame your sister. You should have confirmed with her earlier, rather than get pissed off at her when u discover only later that she is staying at home. Don't assume anything.
And I don't see what your sister's level of educatiion has anything to do with this incident. By making this point, it just makes you sound dumber.
You should have just gone ahead for your celebrations. Ur mum won't have hold it against you anyway.
yoko matsugane lor.Originally posted by M©+square:ahem...your avatar model looks familiar.Sorrie...
i already told her, since she originally wanted to go out with her boyfriend, then she go lor...i have no quelmes..Originally posted by dumbdumb!:well, u're definitely getting our views on this incident.. =P
just that i think they're not to your favour.
and i agree with shade.. its really double standard lor..
i think if u dump your mum with your sis, she will also be thinking the same thing.. why my brother can go out party, but i hv to be stuck here and be labelled as unfilial if i don't want to join my mum but rather watch tv...
Again I say, What relevance does your sister actions has on your decision? If you are fillial, you would accompany your mum out whethere your sister is free or not. That is the main point.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:jeez...u don't get it don't you. she suppose to have a date. fine, she can go away and spend it with her boyfriend while i will accompany mum. yet eventually she didn't and yet instead spend the time watching tv. if she is not going out, at least say so and offer to follow mum, instead she rather watch tv and say going out with mum is boring.
shade, u just want to add the jc part into the topic don't you? seriously, look into the mirror when u say someone is discriminating others...
i want to add she was from a jc. i am no lying and that is a fact. how come u so protective of jc students? guilty conscience?
childish? you can't understand my pov, aren't u childish oso?Originally posted by darkskies:GUYS i say forget it, TS is just too childish to understand our POV.
If u think filial piety means obligation, then go ahead and be a filial son.
And the fact u bothered to point out that your sis was from a JC shows u are trying to insinuate something. IMO u just don't know enough about JC people. I was from a poly myself. And no I do not have a guilty conscience.
Its also a good chance to brush up your skills on spotting logical fallacies...Originally posted by ditzy:Love threads like these, they always extend beyond 5 pages in 2 days, makes for good reading while waiting for downloads to finish.![]()
i suggest u read up from page 1 and start understanding the whole story before contributing nothing but flaming...Originally posted by shade343:Again I say, What relevance does your sister actions has on your decision? If you are fillial, you would accompany your mum out whethere your sister is free or not. That is the main point.
The fact that you are complaining about missing out your party with your friends reveals the true reason as to why you resnt your sister not accompanying your mother.
You want your sister to accompany your mother so that you can go out partying because you would feel satisfied that somebody is doing the job of taking care of your mother.
And again I say, Why the NEED to include the JC part? You yourself admitted that it was unnecessary to this debate. And you have yet to answer this question.
you know i am not the one harping on the jc thingy...Originally posted by 798:u pple can stop mentioning JC thingy?![]()
skill?u are just going round and round the same thing. i gave u an answer to your question. you don't understand the answer and start asking the same question again.Originally posted by shade343:Its also a good chance to brush up your skills on spotting logical fallacies...![]()
Originally posted by R3SsH|n:I see...
i suggest u read up from page 1 and start understanding the whole story before contributing nothing but flaming...
if she was to go along we us, i wouldn't have a problem...
if she go out with her boyfriend, and i followed mum, i wouldn't have a problem...
but she stayed at home and said it was boring going downstairs...
are you blind of something?
[b]I WILL SAY THIS ONE MORE TIME, I INCLUDED THE JC PART BECAUSE I DON'T LIKE JC STUDENTS.THIS IS BIG AND BOLD.READ PROPERLY AND KNOW THIS IS WHAT I FEEL.YOU CAN'T CHANGE MY VIEWS.THE FACT THAT SHE WAS FROM A JC JUST STRENGTHEN MY VIEWS ON JC STUDENTS.[/b]
But you started it, and by doing so, you are directly encouraging it.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:you know i am not the one harping on the jc thingy...
i resent my sister because not totally because i missed the party. i resent her because she was inconsiderate to me and her mother..Originally posted by shade343:The fact that you are complaining about missing out your party with your friends reveals the true reason as to why you resnt your sister not accompanying your mother.
You want your sister to accompany your mother so that you can go out partying because you would feel satisfied that somebody is doing the job of taking care of your mother.
you the one kept talking about jc jc jc...you just wouldn't let it die...Originally posted by shade343:But you started it, and by doing so, you are directly encouraging it.![]()
i know lah.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:you know i am not the one harping on the jc thingy...
jeez...watching tv is entertainment eh?Originally posted by shade343:I see...
ok, so now you finally confess that you want your sister to sacrifice her entertainment along together with you. Isnt that selfish of you?
so its ok for you to go and party and leave your mum alone while expecting your sister to accompany her ah?Originally posted by R3SsH|n:jeez...watching tv is entertainment eh?
so following mum and brother is not as entertaining as watching tv?
damn...if that is wat happening to u...i feel sad for u...
whats worse? mum going downstairs alone or mum going downstairs with her daughter/son?Originally posted by shade343:so its ok for you to go and party and leave your mum alone while expecting your sister to accompany her ah?
I think we are all sad for you that you feel this way.