I think that explained everything. Take your time. You can sit at your chair the whole day doesn't mean you can't move your butt up and take the initiative to have a chat with other colleagues? Provided you settle your work at that moment.Originally posted by sheri:I recently changed job, and the culture here is to lunch in , alone in the cubicle / eat with their ex-colleagues / gather at a table talking about their children 24/7. I choose not to eat at the table, because its irritating hearing "my child did this, my child did that". I just feel so old.
All the talk is work related, and although they are nice helpful people, I just feel so alone.
My previous job was very different in terms of job scope, so I am wondering if most office jobs are like this? In view that my job does not need interaction with others, its like I can sit at my chair whole day w/o talking![]()
I don't really talk that much with my colleagues too..? Just chat when we've got time and also things to share...Originally posted by sheri:Err...recently as in more than 6 mths. Sometimes I think is it that hard to find someone with common topics / interest / is it my problem. But actually among themselves , they either dun tok / is about complaining their job / tok about children.
Yes...haha I sit alone with internet access. The only people I communicate with these days are via forums, or my friends (also seldom).
Originally posted by sheri:I recently changed job, and the culture here is to lunch in , alone in the cubicle / eat with their ex-colleagues / gather at a table talking about their children 24/7. I choose not to eat at the table, because its irritating hearing "my child did this, my child did that". I just feel so old.
All the talk is work related, and although they are nice helpful people, I just feel so alone.
My previous job was very different in terms of job scope, so I am wondering if most office jobs are like this? In view that my job does not need interaction with others, its like I can sit at my chair whole day w/o talking![]()
Originally posted by snoopii:actually hor, if u observe those office workers eating together during lunch - it's quite obvious that some are together just because they have to, not that they like each other or have something in common to talk about. after talking about bo liao stuff, they will keep quiet and eat their food. some people are just too afraid to be seen eating alone so they stick to a group for convenience.
as for me, i dun really care. it's better i get some peace and quiet for that 1 hr of lunchtime
i remember reading an article which says that japanese office ladies have such a phobia of being seen eating alone, that they would rather starve.Originally posted by crispylips:I notice that guys can often eating alone and don't talk. But ladies must have someone to eat meals with. Its a gender thing
people are nice only if and when there are no conflict of interest.Originally posted by F.raon.I.R:life is so meaningless...we get concern n worrid abt this sort of things...can't juz every1 be friendly with on another with minimal "polictics" ...
maybe because you are new guy. some people do take time to warm up to new people. it depends on the culture too. in a culture which is full of politics, people tend to be suspicious of those whom they don't know too well yet, because of backstabbing, gossip, etcOriginally posted by Sakuragi86:I now NS work as clerk.Then my new collegues also not friendly one.Never automatic call me go eat with them.How to break into their group ?cause we like dont have common topics and interests like that.Isit i new guy that why they dont talk to me or because they not close to me yet?Am i thinking too much or is there other people like me?