yea...but i dun tink he treats me like a fren...very hard to get them to treat me like a frenOriginally posted by Bontakun:Treat him like a friend. The lessons should still go ahead, but you can try to call him out for an appointment. Then slowly talk to him. Have him tell you what is happening. If he is not willing, then wait patiently. This may take time and more than often, there is more to it than meets the eye.
As long as you do not give up, some day he will realise it and come to you.
he is a guy...Originally posted by zaxis:which level? K1 , K2, P1 - P5? S1 - S4?
B or G?
what subject?![]()
my school doesnt have a specific counsellor...so usually the teachers wud have to be the counsellorOriginally posted by crofty:alright.can you try to let him know the importance of education and treat him like a friend firstDo not say any discouraging words to him or it will make the condition worse
get him a counsellor if he ever return to school..
How about ..u give him a little gift when he improve in his studies or something?
the most important thing is,get him back to school
hope you are successful in nurturing the young children
Just be patient and show your concern. Email him or write him a letter loh.Originally posted by rainee:yea...but i dun tink he treats me like a fren...very hard to get them to treat me like a fren![]()
What subject are you teaching him? Maybe it's the subject nature that he finds difficult to deal with.Originally posted by rainee:he is a guy...
and anyway he is not young anymore, he is 19
i m teaching a diploma course![]()
Completed NS? or half way thru?Originally posted by rainee:he is a guy...
and anyway he is not young anymore, he is 19
i m teaching a diploma course![]()
diploma in business...Originally posted by crofty:Diploma in...?
some ppl chose the wrong course at the start and wish to have a transfer
his english is not dat good...Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:What subject are you teaching him? Maybe it's the subject nature that he finds difficult to deal with.
btw, he is not a singaporean...we are in malaysiaOriginally posted by zaxis:Completed NS? or half way thru?
is the course of his interest?
part time diploma course?
he sign up course to stay out? (army due to lesson night class)
bo pianOriginally posted by rainee:btw, he is not a singaporean...we are in malaysia
and yea, it is a part time course...he is attending another school sumwhere else...
his parents said he signed up the course cos he was influenced by his fren last time, the fren is currently in the class oso...
lolz...dun think he will make that kinda effort...it is like he knows he is weak, but he doesnt wan to do anything...Originally posted by zaxis:bo pian
the only way I help low standard student
hand written copy notes, as him to copy notes from your lesson, every note hand written at less 3 times
because during hand copy he will try to read and write the same time
that will also help him during exam or test.
hand pick or spot pick exam question for him loOriginally posted by rainee:lolz...dun think he will make that kinda effort...it is like he knows he is weak, but he doesnt wan to do anything...
so dats y i m at loss on how to motivate him to work harder...
the exam is this coming may btw...
Tell him that INDEED some people managed to make it BIG without much or any cert... But NOT everybody can do that.... Without the cert, if he can't make it BIG through the 'shortcuts' in life, he'll have NOTHING... With the cert, at least he still can DO much even if the 'shortcut' doesn't work... It's like buying an insurance and backup....? And if he doesn't get his cert now, in the future it'll be TOO LATE to REGRET.... There're 2 TYPES of people who 'supposingly' can have a chance to 'make it BIG'... Tell him he can go ASK THEM PERSONALLY... One type is those BIG BOSSES (he might not be able to get too near them)..... The OTHER TYPE is QUITE EASY to talk to... Those ah peks working in coffeeshops... Washing toilets and sleeping on the road... Those type he can go ask for 'advices'....Originally posted by rainee:Alright, this isnt really my problem, since I am already done and over with my studies...
But anyway I am teaching now, and one of my students have been doing poorly in his studies. I have given my class 2 exams so far, and he has failed both of them. I asked him to resit the test, but he refused. After that he started missing his classes and when I called him to ask why, he said he has a lot of other things to do.
I told my manager about this and he contacted his parents, who in turn contacted me just now to tell me about his situation. Basically he feels like giving up in his lessons and feel that he will never pass the exams. And his parents said that he has been mixing with the wrong type of friends who told him that education is not important, since a lot of uneducated people also can make it big nowadays...
Now the parents want me to encourage him and talk to him so that his interest in his studies will be renewedHe has been forced to come for his lesson tonight and I guess I have to talk to him about this...but I do not know how to encourage him (I have done that before, but don't think it is really that successful).
Any ideas?
Johorean metal think slightly different from SingaporeanOriginally posted by Devil1976:Tell him that INDEED some people managed to make it BIG without much or any cert... But NOT everybody can do that.... Without the cert, if he can't make it BIG through the 'shortcuts' in life, he'll have NOTHING... With the cert, at least he still can DO much even if the 'shortcut' doesn't work... It's like buying an insurance and backup....? And if he doesn't get his cert now, in the future it'll be TOO LATE to REGRET.... There're 2 TYPES of people who 'supposingly' can have a chance to 'make it BIG'... Tell him he can go ASK THEM PERSONALLY... One type is those BIG BOSSES (he might not be able to get too near them)..... The OTHER TYPE is QUITE EASY to talk to... Those ah peks working in coffeeshops... Washing toilets and sleeping on the road... Those type he can go ask for 'advices'....
And ask him this final question... If he can't even complete a diploma.. What are the chances that he can 'make it BIG' in this complicated wrold out there...?
Also, maybe he's just lacking in confidence to face his studies... BOOT him UP on that PLEASE!!Tell him AT LEAST he TRY... There'll still be a CHANCE... CHANCE is what people GIVE TO THEMSELVES and OPPOTUNITIES what they GRAB... End of the day if he couldn't be bothered... You'll still be a teacher, but his future is in HIS OWN HANDS....
maybe when teaching that class you can try to list the impt parts in point form.... in the simplest english possible?Originally posted by rainee:lolz...dun think he will make that kinda effort...it is like he knows he is weak, but he doesnt wan to do anything...
so dats y i m at loss on how to motivate him to work harder...
the exam is this coming may btw...
Where got Secondary 19 yrs old oneOriginally posted by hisoka:erm i thought you teaching adults? how come your problem like sec school one?