Then technically he is screwed. Ask him to quit poly and retake O's English till he gets at least a B3. Otherwise he won't even make it.Originally posted by rainee:his english is not dat good...
actually his english is horrible...can't even form a correct sentence properly...
yet they accepted him into my course, and now I am left with the responsibility of making him pass...
my lecture is in english, the textbooks, handouts, everything is in english...so obviously he is kinda overwhelmed...like how i wud feel if i attend a lecture in mandarin (my chinese is not dat good)
but i do not how to help him to improve his english...cos he shud have attained certain standard before they let him register...
tell him for every successful uneducated person, there is a thousand failures,Originally posted by rainee:Alright, this isnt really my problem, since I am already done and over with my studies...
But anyway I am teaching now, and one of my students have been doing poorly in his studies. I have given my class 2 exams so far, and he has failed both of them. I asked him to resit the test, but he refused. After that he started missing his classes and when I called him to ask why, he said he has a lot of other things to do.
I told my manager about this and he contacted his parents, who in turn contacted me just now to tell me about his situation. Basically he feels like giving up in his lessons and feel that he will never pass the exams. And his parents said that he has been mixing with the wrong type of friends who told him that education is not important, since a lot of uneducated people also can make it big nowadays...
Now the parents want me to encourage him and talk to him so that his interest in his studies will be renewedHe has been forced to come for his lesson tonight and I guess I have to talk to him about this...but I do not know how to encourage him (I have done that before, but don't think it is really that successful).
Any ideas?
Help him find his dreams. Everyone has a dream.Originally posted by rainee:Alright, this isnt really my problem, since I am already done and over with my studies...
But anyway I am teaching now, and one of my students have been doing poorly in his studies. I have given my class 2 exams so far, and he has failed both of them. I asked him to resit the test, but he refused. After that he started missing his classes and when I called him to ask why, he said he has a lot of other things to do.
I told my manager about this and he contacted his parents, who in turn contacted me just now to tell me about his situation. Basically he feels like giving up in his lessons and feel that he will never pass the exams. And his parents said that he has been mixing with the wrong type of friends who told him that education is not important, since a lot of uneducated people also can make it big nowadays...
Now the parents want me to encourage him and talk to him so that his interest in his studies will be renewedHe has been forced to come for his lesson tonight and I guess I have to talk to him about this...but I do not know how to encourage him (I have done that before, but don't think it is really that successful).
Any ideas?
Malaysia, Malaysia, Malaysia.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Then technically he is screwed. Ask him to quit poly and retake O's English till he gets at least a B3. Otherwise he won't even make it.
Not enoughOriginally posted by nuttawood1990:give award..say try harder...Dun give up..i know u can do it...![]()
I have already listed them out in point forms, but that means he needs to attend the lecture to be able to understand the notes...but since he oledi missed so many classes then dunno how he is going to catch upOriginally posted by smudgey:maybe when teaching that class you can try to list the impt parts in point form.... in the simplest english possible?
most of them still in their teenage years ma...so become like this lor..Originally posted by hisoka:erm i thought you teaching adults? how come your problem like sec school one?
i think ur problems worst den secondary school sia.Originally posted by rainee:most of them still in their teenage years ma...so become like this lor..
same lohOriginally posted by rainee:I have already listed them out in point forms, but that means he needs to attend the lecture to be able to understand the notes...but since he oledi missed so many classes then dunno how he is going to catch up![]()
Make the point forms more detailed?Originally posted by rainee:I have already listed them out in point forms, but that means he needs to attend the lecture to be able to understand the notes...but since he oledi missed so many classes then dunno how he is going to catch up![]()
SeeOriginally posted by rainee:wait till i tell u wat happened yesterday
Yesterday I told him that since he has already paid for the exams, I hope he will study harder and put in more efforts. I asked if he finds the subject difficult and if he finds it hard to catch up, I can spend 1 hour extra every week just to coach him...
Then he said dun need, he is busy with other stuff, no time to study for his exams at all...Then after that said he wants to leave and go back because his mom called him to go back early today...
when I asked his frens in the class they said he has been lying to me![]()
so my question is...shud i still continue to put in effort to encourage such a student?Originally posted by zaxis:See
may be you can find him @ pub after your lesson
johor kids are different from Singapore.
drive to lesson, not happy or pig friend phone call bye bye lesson leow
Originally posted by rainee:so my question is...shud i still continue to put in effort to encourage such a student?![]()
when his mom called me yesterday, she said i shud exert enuff influence to be able to make his son stay in school and make sure that he doesnt give up. but judging from the way he treats me and his studies now, dun think I am able to do that.Originally posted by choco B:What you mean by encourage?
Won't take much to be nice & say some encouraging things now and then.
As for remedial work, put it in his court - "If you need help, let me know, I can see you after class ". If he doesn't take it up then that's his problem.
i did this last time but when i elaborate too much they cannot understand the words i useOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Make the point forms more detailed?
Like this:
etc.
Originally posted by rainee:when his mom called me yesterday, she said i shud exert enuff influence to be able to make his son stay in school and make sure that he doesnt give up. but judging from the way he treats me and his studies now, dun think I am able to do that.
So I am more worried abt dat. Of cos I can say nice and encouraging words every now and then but when he is not even in class, how to say it to him?
let him be la.Originally posted by rainee:when his mom called me yesterday, she said i shud exert enuff influence to be able to make his son stay in school and make sure that he doesnt give up. but judging from the way he treats me and his studies now, dun think I am able to do that.
So I am more worried abt dat. Of cos I can say nice and encouraging words every now and then but when he is not even in class, how to say it to him?
yesterday i oledi said some of the things u mentioned,but his mom specifically asked me not to let the student know that she has called me. Then the worst thing was I called his mom at home just now, she was not in but the student picked up the phone ><Originally posted by xShevchenkox:Allowed me to say sumtinz here...eh rainee...sumsort l can understand the student u hav..cuz l myself is actually a very lazy student and always nt very keen or motivated to study de....but however still l will force myself..l am now hanging on to complete my poly studies cuz l noe the importance of having a cert and l dun wish to disappoint my parents..
Actually communication is the key...be patience with him and keeps on toking with him, asking him y like that? And tell him that u will try ur best to help him pass as long as he put in a bit of effort..try motivate him.....Tell him the issue that his parents had come find u for help...and told him lo...to tink of the parents oso..our parents hope us children to receive a good education and then had a stable career nxt time...all they want to see us is to be safe and okie..they dun expect much..tell him that he bear to disappoint his parents mehz? l tink as l grow..l began to tink of nt disappointing my parents and to be true...to make them happy is very easy de =D
haha yeaOriginally posted by choco B:His mom is dreaming
Like I said, do what you're able to, don't get upset over what you can't change.
Steady liao lor...Originally posted by rainee:wait till i tell u wat happened yesterday
Yesterday I told him that since he has already paid for the exams, I hope he will study harder and put in more efforts. I asked if he finds the subject difficult and if he finds it hard to catch up, I can spend 1 hour extra every week just to coach him...
Then he said dun need, he is busy with other stuff, no time to study for his exams at all...Then after that said he wants to leave and go back because his mom called him to go back early today...
when I asked his frens in the class they said he has been lying to me![]()
yea lor...Originally posted by Ito_^:let him be la.
do ur job during office hours or when he takes the initiative or show signs to buck up. otherwise u'll juz be adding unneeded stress to urself.
I am already picking the questions for him...but since he never comes to class, there is no guarantee that he will even make the effort to memorize the questionsOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Steady liao lor...
Give up on him...
This type of people need something to whack them hard to wake up. No, not a hammer nor an axe. Reality will, someday, sometime.
Assuming that you won't give up, do what zaxis says. Pick the questions that are most likely to come out in the exam, provide the answer, and ask him to memorize. There's no need to care if that's spoon-feeding or whatever, because it isn't.