When a person dies, they'll be collected by undertaker. No need to handcuff.Originally posted by manyu882:heard that if u suicide, u will still be handcuffed when the police collect u
yeah, those eat too full nothing to do one.Originally posted by Devil1976:Then it's just because you've yet to meet those people who have dedicated their lives in service for the others... Doing things which they need not have done, and asking nothing back in return...
Life is there for you to make out the meanings of it... And to decide and shape for yourself what type of life you wish to live...Originally posted by Eric Cartman:So life is about enjoying?
Hate to burst your bubble, but to people who are suicidal because they are faced with difficulties or are clinically depressed, all these "beautiful" words will not help them.Originally posted by Life is Precious:To all those who might feel depressed and lonely for whatever reasons and feel like ending their life....
Please dont.
Life is a treasure not to be easily discarded. It is not unwise to also realise that life is indeed fragile also.
Be it your frustrations at work or relationships, time is the greatest healer of all wounds both emotional and physical. In the greatest times of stress and troubles, simple actions like getting enough water and sleep can help one rejuvinate the body and mind. Always remember, you can always find a new job if you are unhappy with your current one. You will always be able to find love from another be it someone else or a pet. But to take your life at the fit of the moment would truely be sad, if not for yourself but also those around you. Hence the motivation to live can be as easily expressed in these few words:
Live to see another day, another chance to learn and enrich ourselves.
Just like no child can hate their parents forever, we must understand that we are never really alone and family intruth is the most important asset any person can ever have, be it a family that you belong,create or become a part of.
I hope in these few words, i can help bring some relief or comforts to those who may need it.
The mountain of troubles is huge when looked from the bottom. It is only when we climb to its peak that we are able to see the vastness beyond the mountain and the beauty of the sky and all manners of wonders under it. And hence despite the many other mountain of woes that may present it self in your journey, as with each breath and step you take, thus your life is enriched through your experiences.
How about dying so you can rest.Originally posted by Devil1976:Life is there for you to make out the meanings of it... And to decide and shape for yourself what type of life you wish to live...
And though it might not be a perfect fit to what we expect it to be, throwing it away would never bring us any closer to the life we wish for...
I like this needle.Originally posted by Cystaire:Hate to burst your bubble, but to people who are suicidal because they are faced with difficulties or are clinically depressed, all these "beautiful" words will not help them.
In fact these words may taunt them to kill themselves.
When a person is suicidal, he or she often sends obvious signals that things are very wrong. Listen carefully for danger signs - they will lament that they are worthless, they are a burden, and may have worked out a action plan for suicide.
If the person is contemplating suicide as a form of emotional revenge for example, if you go on with the "beauty of life" routine you will remind them of how much suffering their death can bring to their tormentors.
Instead of saying all that poetic nonsense, when one detects danger signs, he or she should just listen attentively and refer the patient to a psychiatrist as soon as possible.
Exactly. kiang jiu hor, mai gey kiang.Originally posted by Cystaire:Hate to burst your bubble, but to people who are suicidal because they are faced with difficulties or are clinically depressed, all these "beautiful" words will not help them.
In fact these words may taunt them to kill themselves.
When a person is suicidal, he or she often sends obvious signals that things are very wrong. Listen carefully for danger signs - they will lament that they are worthless, they are a burden, and may have worked out a action plan for suicide.
If the person is contemplating suicide as a form of emotional revenge for example, if you go on with the "beauty of life" routine you will remind them of how much suffering their death can bring to their tormentors.
Instead of saying all that poetic nonsense, when one detects danger signs, he or she should just listen attentively and refer the patient to a psychiatrist as soon as possible.
hmmm....Originally posted by Eric Cartman:Exactly. kiang jiu hor, mai gey kiang.
You think those suicidal people don't know these words by themselves? They are still suicidal because there isn't a way out of this mess for them and they are suffering in every current moment. Talking about how beautiful life is from other peoples point of view will only make it more obvious to them what they dont have.
Originally posted by M©+square:I like this needle.![]()
Originally posted by Cystaire:And i agree.
Sorry to butt in so abruptly, but since my training is related to this topic I feel it is my duty to inform forum readers about the mind of the clinically depressed.
Telling them saccharine sweet happy stories won't work. Scolding them for failing to "snap out of it" won't work. Reminding them how important or precious life is will only insult their intelligence.
Of course they know life is important. That is why they want to kill themselves. The psychological and physiological situation of a very depressed person is different from someone who is just a little down.
A clinically depressed person with suicidal tendencies is a medical emergency. Don't pretend to be a doctor, let the medical professionals handle it.
Frierson et al. 2002 (Vol. 112 Postgrad Med)
[b]Table 1. Elements of a suicide risk assessment interview with a depressed patient
Current suicidal thoughts, intent, and plan
History of suicide attempts (eg, lethality of method, circumstances)
Family history of suicide
History of violence (eg, weapon use, circumstances)
Intensity of current depressive symptoms
Current treatment regimen and response
Recent life stressors (eg, marital separation, job loss)
Alcohol and drug use patterns
Psychotic symptoms
Current living situation (eg, social supports, availability of weapon)
People with problems easily solved by reading this kinda words will not seek suicide in the first place. But if someone suicidal were to read your words, and takes it that this is the best they can get out of another person's advice... die liao. Especially with all the random people saying how great this thread is.Originally posted by Life is Precious:Just like to clarify some issues raise by other fellow forumers.
I am not entirely sure what the motivations or intentions of others on this forums is but i would just offer some impressions i garther from just plain reading.
- First of all this thread should not be used as a subsititue for professional help or medication for chronic clinical problems but rather light reading to help someone realise that the problems they are experiencing now are not the end of the world even if it may feel like it at that time and that they may not be alone with their problems.
-Secondly, If truely words of encouragement and advice are pointless, then this forum has no real purpose except to display a list of help lines invovling no other participation from either those who are seeking aid and those who try to give it. Every topic would just end up with: "Please call this hotline and tell them your problems and go see a mental health specialist." We all understand that some problems we face that affect us adversely at some points of our life can often be avioded or solved using conventional wisdom and hence which to my inderstanding in many cases is what some forumers bring to this forum in response to some of the problems raised.
-Thirdly, this is not a debate club nor is it a place to laugh/jeer at the sorrows of others and i wont participate nor waste time with those whose purpose here are in doubt.
L.i.P
Of course, the Aunt Agony forum can be helpful, to get some tips about relationships, choice of career direction and others.Originally posted by Life is Precious:Just like to clarify some issues raise by other fellow forumers.
I am not entirely sure what the motivations or intentions of others on this forums is but i would just offer some impressions i garther from just plain reading.
- First of all this thread should not be used as a subsititue for professional help or medication for chronic clinical problems but rather light reading to help someone realise that the problems they are experiencing now are not the end of the world even if it may feel like it at that time and that they may not be alone with their problems.
-Secondly, If truely words of encouragement and advice are pointless, then this forum has no real purpose except to display a list of help lines invovling no other participation from either those who are seeking aid and those who try to give it. Every topic would just end up with: "Please call this hotline and tell them your problems and go see a mental health specialist." We all understand that some problems we face that affect us adversely at some points of our life can often be avioded or solved using conventional wisdom and hence which to my inderstanding in many cases is what some forumers bring to this forum in response to some of the problems raised.
-Thirdly, this is not a debate club nor is it a place to laugh/jeer at the sorrows of others and i wont participate nor waste time with those whose purpose here are in doubt.
L.i.P
I dont disagree with you at all infact i agree that medication and professional help for those who are suffering from clinical depression leading to suicide is important.Originally posted by Cystaire:Of course, the Aunt Agony forum can be helpful, to get some tips about relationships, choice of career direction and others.
Maybe for people just to come together and commiserate. That's fine.
It's also entirely fine to discuss whether conventional wisdom is helpful or not.
Sometimes it is helpful, in the case of suicidal patients is not.
Once you mention "suicide" the alarm bells go off.
If people suffer from severe stomach pain, nobody tells them that happy stories can cure their pain.
Why when people suffer from severe psychological pain do so many believe that they will get better with happy stories?
As for your comment about the debate club, actually I see much lively debate in this forum, which is quite normal. I can't dictate to other forum participants what they can or cannot post. That I leave to the moderators.
I agree that this is no place to laugh or jeer at the sorrows of others. Which is why I post helpful information from a medical journal to let people decide if someone (or themselves) need medical assistance immediately.
In addition I personally know what severe (clinical) depression really means to the sufferer, so I cannot take it lightly. Your initial post makes the incorrect assumption that the patient can be easily talked out of his/her condition.
It is my responsibility to point this out, so I don't mind if you disagree with my view, as long as other forum readers benefit from our discussion.
Originally posted by Life is Precious:Haiz... Haiz...
*snip*The above words are merely my opinion and i understand that you are entitled to yours as well. However proclaiming the authority of your ideas over others can be considered as bigotry unless you are speaking in your professional capacity which you should then identify yourself professionally.
As i mentioned before i would prefer not turn this thread into a debate as it takes time away from me if i need to explain very single word, noun, phase or idea which is exhausting.Thank you for the understanding.
Best regards,
L.i.P
I could not have said it better myself. Thanks for sharing.Originally posted by Devil1976:Life is there for you to make out the meanings of it... And to decide and shape for yourself what type of life you wish to live...
And though it might not be a perfect fit to what we expect it to be, throwing it away would never bring us any closer to the life we wish for...
Originally posted by Life is Precious:You mean you are bad at words. Words can lead or mislead. If you are unable to lead, please dont mislead just because you want to look good like a life giver or something.
As i mentioned in a earlier paragraph on language useage, perception and miscommunication, i was not able to write what i needed to express/convey the most important point in the passage that [b] Life is Precious , do not discard it lightly, without including a 100 page disclaimer to "cover" myself?
Would it be better if those words were left unsaid and then only to lament in our own minds when we read of another faceless individual deciding to end their lives for some insignificant reasons?