Oh dear...Originally posted by Gunyandao:i hardly communicate with anyone in my family. normally just normal conversation surrounding work and stuffs, apart from that mostly i just keep to myself.when i was a kid and being bullied by that someone in my family, a number of times i try telling my mother i feel very sad hearing those things, she just brush me off.
from then on, i never tell her or my father anything regarding my personal feelings for everything. i just keep to myself.
now if my parents tend to be a bit more concern about me, i feel really uneasy and it really gives me goose pimples. that's why i think it will be quite difficult to recall past unpleasant experience.
a few years back when i mentioned to my mother over all these abuse i suffered as a kid, she denied it, saying i remember wrongly, that no such things happen.
my father even worst, claim that i am talking rubbish.
my parents are quite naive people. my mother thought i will grow out of it.Originally posted by Bontakun:Oh dear...
What you have remembered in the past from your point of view is not the same as their point of view. I am not sure how letting them know about what happened to you before could further help now, since you said they deny it. Shirking any possible responsibilities and further chances of fostering a good relationship between you and them...
Do you want to seek professional help? From what I see, unless you let this go, you will have some difficulty relating to other people because of these affecting you at an emotional level.
This is only my suggestion. You don't have to go through this channel and still can make friends.
adapting to new work environment will be very tedious for me. my life has partly been plagued by severe anxiety.Originally posted by sheri:Actually I am a pessimistic person too...haha. But no $ to see doctor, so cure myself lah.My parents sometimes suan me about my non-existent career too....so I think its better not to tok to them anyways on anything
Dun let wat your parents say about your career put u down. If there is a problem with your current job, maybe can consider changing yourself, e.g. your work habits etc, or does not help, than change the job lor. See...at least u overcomed your parent's predictions, and got a reasonable education and career wat!
A person does not need that many friends one lah, can be difficult keeping up to appearance. Just have a few friends u like, and like u is enuff.
correction: should be "it appears that you are eligible to qualify for a lifetime membership at the Institute of Mental Health liao.Originally posted by :It appears that you are a very eligible to qualify for a lifetime membership at the IMH liao.........![]()
very encouraging stuffs you wrote.Originally posted by sheri:Actually I am a pessimistic person too...haha. But no $ to see doctor, so cure myself lah.My parents sometimes suan me about my non-existent career too....so I think its better not to tok to them anyways on anything
Dun let wat your parents say about your career put u down. If there is a problem with your current job, maybe can consider changing yourself, e.g. your work habits etc, or does not help, than change the job lor. See...at least u overcomed your parent's predictions, and got a reasonable education and career wat!
A person does not need that many friends one lah, can be difficult keeping up to appearance. Just have a few friends u like, and like u is enuff.
Originally posted by Gunyandao:is there a connection between the two?
my mood is very unstable and everyday things i see, hear or the environment i am exposed to can affect my mood greatly.
like someone saying not so favourable things, angry gestures, facial expressions , or a new environment i am not used to for example can leave me very down, hurt and depress.
i will then feel like shutting myself in my own world, unable to focus on what i am doing, even completely losing interest in what i intend to do n dwell over what happened.
i do have very very low self esteem due to those very harsh condemning words i was frequently exposed to as a kid.
i am not sure whether mine is solely a self esteem problem or it is due to some other disorder like mood disorder or is it because some unpleasant things i was exposed to everyday could remind me of those so called trauma i was exposed to as a kid that's why i ended up depress
You are caught in a vicious circle.Originally posted by Gunyandao:adapting to new work environment will be very tedious for me. my life has partly been plagued by severe anxiety.
don't know leh, i feel that it is partly also because my "shell" is too weak.
i mean my esteem is way too low.
life in itself is a journey full of stumbling blocks, and you must have an objective and a dream in life which you want to reach. time and again when you fall down, you must learn how to stand up again to continue with the journey to reach your objective in life.
you must have the will, the confidence, drive and determination to succeed.
for my case is as if the shell is too weak.
i am very prone to negative feedbacks and setbacks.
people looks towards moving towards their objective in life, mine is plagued by all kinds of worries and negative thoughts and sometimes i feel so tired having all these worries so heavily weighing on my mine.
the best solution is not to do anything and my mine will be free from worries.
think i am still trying to improve.
still trying to find out problems i am facing so that can read up on solutions tackling my problems.
i think there are certain jobs i may not be that suitable because my stress response system is hypersensitive to stress. i suppose i have to start off from there, learn how to calm myself down.
relationships can make or break a life... and that includes family.Originally posted by Gunyandao:very encouraging stuffs you wrote.
you sound rather positive now.
hmm....i hope to emulate you.
this society got all kinds of funny creatures and i met one as a kid, surrounded by lots of them as an adult. they try all kinds of ways to pass nasty comments to put us down. just like some funny replies i received to my thread.
anyway, must choose frens wisely.
true frens are people who will support each other and lend a helping hand whenever one is in distress. these r ppl who will help to keep us positive in out attitude towards life.
thanks for your wise words of advice.Originally posted by mancha:What ever damage that has been done, has been done, there is nothing you can do about it.
That's why the old addage, let bygone be bygones.
Start afresh from now.
You need to change your way of thinking. You can change your attitude.
Psychiatrists know that they cannot cure their patients, they can only make them feel better, live better.
Decide what you really want.
Look forward and try for a better tomorrow.
Do not blame yesterday, for what you are today. It gets you nowhere.
Start today.
Today determines tomorrow.
NB: The state of the inner mind is like that of the physical body.
The physical body in order to be well groomed, needs constant care, exercise, and upkeep. There musn't be any let up, else the state of the physical body deterioate and become unkempt. Do nothing and you become untidy and filthy.
Therefore to be well dressed and snappy you need to put in a lot of ceaseless effort.
Similarly
The mind also need constant grooming in the right direction. Think always in the positive, look for the good, talk about the good, give compliments, praise yourself. Generally feel good at all times without let up. Of course, don't be a fool and ignore bad experiences. Learn from bad experiences and get past them. Do not harbour grudges or think retaliation. Learn so that you do not experience the bad again, and move on. Control your mind. Abandon the control and what do you get. You dwell in the past, resentment grows, you pity yourself. Your is mind goes into negative mode automatically. It as easy as falling down. That what happens when you let your mind go.
Take control of your thoughts. Think positively, think good, without let up.
Twenty minutes of positive thinking cannot undo 20 years of negative thinking.
Persistent effort is required.