Aiya.. if u tink can help den help lor.. cannot den cannot.. as long as u think it's constructive it's ok.. those certified are being paid to do their jobs.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Yes....
I dread to know that people here are being advised and helped by people who cannot uphold their own honour first.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:or they are just any tom dick and harry which thinks they can function as aunt agony who frankly has no experiences or training for counselling?
Or are they moderators here, which frankly, should not be advising people except to try to keep the forum clean and free from abuse?
why not.Originally posted by Gackt247:It's like asking Gedanken to offer his shrink expertise for free in sgf lidat.![]()
Thought it's listed at the forum?Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Who are the moderators and what is their role?
Long time ago, at other forums. We had moderators who goes around giving advises, asking some gals out and attempting to have relationships with the troubled gals.
Then we had moderators that make use of their standing in the forum. Ie...being a moderator so means must be knowledgeable enough to critisise, heckle & muddle issues to their favours...
How many can swear by their own honour/professions/trainings n this forum?
It makes business sense when it is making profit. Otherwise, why are people expecting free advice and the advice needs to come from a certified source?Originally posted by Ito_^:why not.
it make good business sense leh.![]()
agreed.... a lot of ppl have problems... in fact EVERYone have problems....Originally posted by Yunhaier:AA here functions as a channel to express individual problem/s experienced, with the wanting to gain additional insight into their problem/s. There's no actual 'Aunt Agony' behind AA - the closest is probably the regular posters - as anyone could drop their two cents worth of thoughts in their reply.
Of course, some people do not provide constructive comments and occasionally transformed that into bashing topics of some sorts - this is where the moderators come in.
They regulate this forum; which is their primary responsibility. Everything else is secondary. So you are right in the sense that they are not trained counsellors, after all, SGF-AA is of no affiliation to any government/non-profit organization. They are ordinary folks from the street - willing to spare some time doing extraneous 'duties' like these.
On whether the advice is taken or ensured that it's taken, it depends entirely on the individual. No follow up is taken unless requested by the individuals.
People in dire situation/serious crisis are often asked to seek professional help from the list of organizations posted here. Aunt Agony here has never meant to replace professional organization in any ways- if one can't seemed to find any useful help here, they are encourage to call those hotline posted by Devil.
P.S: We faced all sorts of problem everyday - Aunt Agony merely provides an informal setting for people to share these problems. And indeed, you don't need to be certified to be able to lend someone a listening ear.
Cheers
So is it agreeable then, that moderators should just be moderators instead of replying, posting their knowledge, personal views and their private perspective?Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Or are they moderators here, which frankly, should not be advising people except to try to keep the forum clean and free from abuse?
nope...Originally posted by viciouskitty74:So is it agreeable then, that moderators should just be moderators instead of replying, posting their knowledge, personal views and their private perspective?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:So is it agreeable then, that moderators should just be moderators instead of replying, posting their knowledge, personal views and their private perspective?
they are not regular forumers if they are using their moderators nick to post personal views lah.Originally posted by choco B:They are just regular forumers with the access to keep their forum neat e.g. closing threads etc.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:So is it agreeable then, that moderators should just be moderators instead of replying, posting their knowledge, personal views and their private perspective?
It's entirely based on merit of posts. Of course, there isn't such a thing as 'whose post is better' - but certainly, the moderators here are regular posters over the years in Aunt Agony and they dispense decent advices in general.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:BTW, who has the moderators guidelines here.
or is it just a case of, "Oh I know you as a friend, so you are my friend and you will also be a moderator!"
So are they allowed to post advices to the threadstarter or to the others forumers too.Originally posted by smudgey:they should and are allowed to post advices or even problems.
Inspires me to get offline, get a real job and earn real money.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:they are not regular forumers if they are using their moderators nick to post personal views lah.
moderators is a position of power agree?
and what does the power inspire?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:they are not regular forumers if they are using their moderators nick to post personal views lah.
moderators is a position of power agree?
and what does the power inspire?
Yes.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:So are they allowed to post advices to the threadstarter or to the others forumers too.
And what certifies them to? because they are moderators, or because they do know better?
hmm...Originally posted by choco B:What power?
okay...so if their postings do not help.Originally posted by DeadPoet:Yes.
Because they just want to help.![]()
the power to close threads, banned and what else?Originally posted by choco B:What power?
and what is the time in Sg now? I believe its still a work week?Originally posted by ditzy:Inspires me to get offline, get a real job and earn real money.![]()