Originally posted by kengkia:two words....move out....if u cant stand ya mum....worst come to worst lu su jie tou lor....this is temporary solution but it's still better than ya soul destroyed right....trust me...though i have move out but my soul already destroyed.... too late...trying to rebuild alreadi....![]()
dun be like me...
Originally posted by kengkia:i agree u should take a short break before taking on another job....i was planning to quit my temp job to take my class 3 in "full time" basis when i saved up enough then apply for BC in SBST/SMRTB whereas the job is something that i wanna do once in lifetime then again save up for future studies.....then with papers and outside working experince then i go for better job...the bottomline is what u wanna be before take the chance to fufill it now so that u wun regret it in future and make yourself even more unhappy..![]()
Originally posted by SherLady:firstly i think ur mum are doing all these for a reason but is she suffering from any illness which u dunno ??
do u have something that u wanna do in this lifetime?Originally posted by dreamssie:Still no news regarding my job search![]()
Now i try to catch up on my exercise as long time no exercise liao. This is the only good thing that i can think of which i have done for myself during this tough period.
u said yaself already who know whats for tmr...if u dun spend extravagrantly saving uo shldnt be a problem.....if otherwise try ways to cut down ya expenses lor like i am doing now...Originally posted by dreamssie:move out is not really possible because of finances. As of now, finances quite tight liao so if move out will be even worse.
nowadays, i will avoid my mum if possible so we hardly communicate also.
Still bearable for who knows what is going to happen tomorrow?![]()
Originally posted by kengkia:u said yaself already who know whats for tmr...if u dun spend extravagrantly saving uo shldnt be a problem.....if otherwise try ways to cut down ya expenses lor like i am doing now...![]()
Economy is only good for our leaders...Originally posted by dreamssie:no, i hardly spend these days but still not capable enough to move out and live on my own.
Anyway, mood very down now because father just said why so long still no response for my applications?? Wondering hard since everyday reading papers that the economy is doing very well.
maybe you just make do with a temporary hourly paid job first.Originally posted by dreamssie:no, i hardly spend these days but still not capable enough to move out and live on my own.
Anyway, mood very down now because father just said why so long still no response for my applications?? Wondering hard since everyday reading papers that the economy is doing very well.
yea good point...the i agree u shld go take up a part time job that allows u time for interviews loh...got a waiter job in RCC u wan?$6-8 a hour depending on event n if holiday or not, timing ownself book, so u can haf time to go interview when u wan...i tink quite good la...if u wan can go tryOriginally posted by Gunyandao:maybe you just make do with a temporary hourly paid job first.
low pay also never mind, as long as it offers the flexibility for u to attend interviews? or better still, u could be converted to a perm or u get to know more ppl n they recommend u for other position with the company etc etc etc.
there was a period i was going through a bad patch in my job search also and i have to tell lies to protect myself from further verbal abuse from my very parents. there was one time i took on a very low paying hourly job but kept it from them.
job mkt is much better than the past few yrs but still very competitive.
the differences between candidates applying for the same position can be very marginal. n there could be a lot a lot applying for the same position.
Hi TS,Originally posted by dreamssie:Hi all
I am really on the verge of mental breakdown because of my mother.
Sigh..sometimes i wonder what i have done in my previous life.
I quit my job one month ago because it was too stressful for me to handle.
I am currently unemployed but have been sending lots of resumes and applications out.
My mother is extremely un-understanding and kept saying she is very unlucky to have a daughter like me who is so useless..
All she does everyday is to stress me to find a job..
Sigh..i think sooner or later i surely have to check into the mental institution soon.
Often, i cry to myself and really wish that there is someone out there who can help me.
I also wish sometimes that my parents are divorced as it is getting harder and harder to live with her. My mother only knows how to condemn me from young.
Sigh...i feel so miserable.
Hi Dreamssie,Originally posted by dreamssie:no, i hardly spend these days but still not capable enough to move out and live on my own.
yah .. it will be good to make them understand that u r trying yr best to get a job. the key thing is they must understand how u feel, that u feel sad that u r currently going through a bad patch in yr job search n u need moral support from the closest people around u. not them to rub salt into wound.Originally posted by jojobeach:Hi Dreamssie,
I am sadden to read your postings. I hope you find strength within yourself to weather this trying times.
But may I suggest you keep an open communication with your parents.
Please do not ignore them.
Perhaps you can find a good time, in a calm and rational manner, have a heart to heart chat with them.
Assure them that you are trying your best to find a job. Give them confidence that you are not merely bumming around. Tell them that you want them to be proud of you too.
Maybe ask your father for help, get him involve with your job hunt, show him the resume you sent out and seek his opinions. Your father may ask around for you if there is any job openings you can try.
Referals is always good.
Asian culture is very much about face value. Your mom also wants to have children she can be proud of. Maybe she also feel pressure and lost of face when relatives and friends ask how her daughter is doing. It is embarrassing for her to tell them she is jobless/unemployed. Please also understand her predicament.
Find out from your parents what their expectations are and how they can help you to achieve it together.
Ignoring them and running away from them will only make it worst.
I wish you the best and good luck to resolving the issues at hand.
I realized that older generations like to brag about their children achievements to other people.Originally posted by Gunyandao:haha ... actually it's hard to understand what's going through the mind of the people from the older generation. i fully understand what the thread starter is going through.
for myself, my whole life whenever my mother open her mouth to talk about me in front of relatives n friends whoever it is, i have never heard of anything good that came out of her mouth. so u know, my self esteem is extremely low, confidence low n at times i really felt disgusted about myself, that if i can strike a few millions toto, i will just shut myself from the world since people out there felt disgusted to be associated with me and have this lousy opinion of me.
that was in the past, now it's better that i hardly communicate with them.
the whole life they keep reminding us that we r losers, can never make it in life, don't pin any hope on me bla bla bla...
so u have this mindset that the whole world already condemn u to be a failure then what for even initiate to do something when u will never even succeed.
now that u have decent education they r telling us how come we r not as successful as the others when they whole life they been telling us we r losers.
really confusing n contradicting...
i don't really hate them or anything, i only wonder why they never put themselves in our shoes n understand how emotionally hurt we r to hear those things.
i don't know whether dreamssie r having the same kind of mindset as me in the past?
r u having confidence related problems? or u feel u will have difficulties communicating with people or u feel u tend to shun people?
becoz once u have sever inferior complex, u actually have a lot of worries going through yr mind, for e.g whether this job u can handle or not, or u need to be very vocal n communicate with a lot of people etc etc
hmmm....me got my present job via bo zhua(New Paper) but then the job scope is si bei common one....dun need to say much....clue it is...if u wanna find a out of normal job/interesting whatever u will need to find people with a lot of friends etc...your friends who know a lot of people hence more connection to more things and higher % of getting kan tau already...Originally posted by dreamssie:Thanks everyone for your concern.
My relationship with my parents especially my mother is still OK (touch wood).
Every 3-4 days, she will mention something but I can still take it because i feel her frustrations. I am equally if not more frustrated with my current situation.
Actually, i pity my parents sometimes. I really am faring much worse than my peers. OK, i think i don't wanna talk about comparison here cause it will just made me even more depressed.
So everyone, did u get your job on your own through newspapers, agencies?
Can someone share his/her experience of getting his/her job if it is not through the usual avenue?
Thanks!!