Above was successful against a female, using vulgar language on text, traced thru her friend cos the complainant knows the fren who knows her.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Opps, my bad. It should be the criminal registry.
Both registry are side by side at the sub court. I remembered wrongly which one I went into.
But here's roughly how its done, when you are insulted, especially on text.
~~~~~~
Step 1: Filing of a Magistrates' Complaint
A Magistrates Complaint can be filed by any person who wishes to seek redress for an offence that they believe has been committed against them. The person filing the Complaint is known as the Complainant and the person against whom the application is made is known as the Respondent.
The complaint should be made in the standard Complaint form (click here for the form).
The completed form should be submitted to the Complaints Counter of the Crime Registry, together with a copy of a Police report, if any and a photocopy of the ComlplainantÂ’s NRIC. The Complainant has to affirm or swear to the truth and accuracy of the matters stated in the application form before a Magistrate. If the Magistrate is satisfied that the application is in order, he may do any of the following:
Issue a Notice to both the Complainant and Respondent;
b) If the Respondents address or particulars are not available, direct the police to ascertain the particulars and thereafter issue a Notice to both the Complainant and Respondent;
c) Issue a Summons against the Respondent provided that the Charge(s) are available;
d) Direct the police to investigate the Complaint;
e) Dismiss the Complaint
Step 2a : Issue of Notices
When the Judge directs that a Notice be issued to both the Complainant and the Respondent, the Crime Registry will prepare the Notices informing parties of the date and time they are required to appear before a Magistrate in chambers for what is known as Criminal Mediation. At this stage, no fee is payable by the Complainant.
Step 2b: Service of Summons
Where a Summons is issued, the Complainant has to pay $1 for the issuance of the summons. The Complainant must serve the Summons on the Respondent. This is to give the Respondent notice that a Complaint has been started against him. Service may be effected by:
(1) personal service: an authorised person (usually the Court Process Server if the Complainant does not have a lawyer) must hand the Summons to the Respondent personally. The Complainant will have to accompany the Court process server to serve the summons on the respondent. Transport charges for the service of the summons are borne by the Complainant.
If the above service fails, the process server may obtain the court's approval to serve the summons by:
(2) leaving the summons with an adult member of the Respondent's household; or
(3) posting the summons on the front door of the Respondent's place of residence
It should be noted that a summons cannot be served on a Respondent who is residing outside Singapore. Also, if the Complainant does not know the current address of the Respondent, the court will try to ascertain the address through available official records and effect service there.
However, if it can be shown that the Respondent is no longer residing at the address that is reflected in available official records, the Complainant has a duty to find out the Respondent's current address. If the address cannot be determined, the Complaint cannot proceed.
Step 3: Criminal Mediation
When a Magistrate directs that a Notice be issued to both the Complainant and the Respondent, it means that the matter is fixed for criminal mediation before a Magistrate in Chambers.
The Complainant must be present on that date of the Criminal Mediation as otherwise, it will be deemed that the Complainant is no longer interested in pursuing the Complaint and the Magistrate will strike out the Complaint.
When both parties appear before a Magistrate, any of the following may occur:
a) The Magistrate may refer both parties to a Community Mediation Centre(CMC). The CMC has a panel of trained mediators who are respected members of society coming from all walks of life. If the matter is settled, parties will sign a settlement Agreement. Where there is no settlement, fresh Notices will be sent to the Complainant and the Respondent to appear before the Magistrate.
b) The Magistrate may mediate the matter . If a settlement is reached, the Complaint will be withdrawn and no further action will be taken.
If there is no settlement and the Complainant may wish to proceed to trial by way of a private summons, a summons will be issued once the Complainant has prepared the necessary charges against the Respondent and a fee of $1 for each summons is paid.
c) The Magistrate may refer the Complaint and the Respondent to a Court Mediator for mediation. If a settlement is reached, the Mediator will inform the Magistrate and the steps taken would be as b) above. Similarly, if no settlement is reached, the steps taken would be as b) above.
If the Respondent is absent on the day of the Criminal Mediation, the Court may either issue a fresh Notice or a Warrant of Arrest against him. If a warrant of arrest is issued, it is handed over to the Warrant Enforcement Unit (a division of the Singapore Police Force) for them to execute. The police will arrest the Respondent and produce him in Court. The court will offer the Respondent bail and re-fix the case for mediation. The execution of the warrant of arrest may not be immediate.
Enquiries on the status of execution of warrants of arrest can be made to the Warrant Enforcement Unit which is located at 391 New Bridge Road, D0308 Police Cantonment Complex, Singapore 088762, Tel Nos: 6557 5316/6557 5310.
Step 4 : Hearing of Summons
At the hearing the Respondent will be asked to enter a plea of guilty or not guilty. If the Respondent pleads guilty, he will be sentenced by the Court immediately.
A trial will be conducted if the Respondent pleads not guilty. The parties will each have to give evidence in open court, to prove their respective cases. They will also have to call witnesses to support their case. The parties and their respective witnesses will be "cross-examined". "Cross-examination" is carried out by the other party or the party's lawyer, who will ask questions on what was said in evidence. The respective lawyers will also make "submissions", i.e. present a summary of your case, and make arguments supporting your case, to the Judge. The whole process may take anything from one day to several days, depending on the number of witnesses and the complexity of the case. At the end of the hearing, the court will decide whether the Respondent is guilty of the offences as charges.
In the event that the Respondent is absent on that day, the Court will issue a Warrant of Arrest against him. The warrant of arrest is passed to the Warrant Enforcement Unit (a division of the Singapore Police Force) to execute. The police will arrest the Respondent and produce him in Court. The court will offer the Respondent bail and re-fix the case for mediation. The execution of the warrant of arrest may not be immediate enquiries on the status of execution of warrants of arrest can be made to the Warrant Enforcement Unit which is located at 391 New Bridge Road, D0308 Police Cantonment Complex, Singapore 088762, Tel Nos: 6557 5316/6557 5310.
well......the molest issue did made it into the press. You missed that picture?Originally posted by gigabyte14:well, i wonder how it would look like in the press.
seriously, kitty, i dont mind, if devil is guilty of this, he would be left to the legal system to be dealt withOriginally posted by viciouskitty74:Aunties ranting. dont mind me.![]()
it's not like every female is a victim. What about when the guy gets molested by the girl but the female accuses him instead? Isn't that unscupulous? It's like a win-win situation for them.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:And definitely more work-able to make it a success once you got informed choices then listening to gossips and hearsay or blinding respecting someone and wishing for peace, even when it means closing blind eyes to the behind the scene abuses.
Originally posted by striderz_o405:So now....striderz....you are very innocent of flaming?
fu[b]ck you. troublemaker. it's so damn obvious that you are foaming in AA despite the fact that devil is not a mod already.
are you having any verbal diarrhoea? or suffering from any deprivation of posting in forums? i don't think you should make a scene and blow up the whole matter in the 1st place.
just let nature takes its course. fellow forumites, please do not feed the troll. thanks.
i am not going to join in the war or side anyone whatsoever. just cannot stand the fact that some people cannot spend time on constructive stuff and instead doing some useless and meaningless flamming in forums.
just my 2 cents worth. [/b]
forget it! do u really think the victims are brave enough to step forward? already quinsy n beegal have been labeled n condemned by the crowds.Originally posted by Kenashi:i contacted some of them liao, they haven't reply yet but i don't think anyone will keep such sms or pm lah
who will keep something so sick n pervertic
should ask FI, maybe she kept them, last time she posted out a few for all to see![]()
browniebaobao already posted itOriginally posted by gigabyte14:well, i wonder how it would look like in the press.
i know that u prefer to be sitting on the fenceOriginally posted by dokono:Hold it, relax. You can believe whatever you want la. I have no wish to stop you. Like I said, I have better things to do than to give accusations first. I think you need to read my previous post again to see my view.
I did not say I believe Devil or Quinsy. Kind of disappointing tha you did not read my post correctly and carefully.
Maybe you let your emotions get the better of you, so cool it.
doko
lets just say, when I was personally attacked by devil himself regards to my real life experiences on girls cutting their wrists and then the subsequent issues on my person by the rest of the forumites regards to the characters or the mods here.Originally posted by laurence82:seriously, kitty, i dont mind, if devil is guilty of this, he would be left to the legal system to be dealt with
this, i would not go have stand till the case has a verdict
but again, what i want to stress is, i seriously think the ensuing brawl, personal spats and the opportunity for other trolls to take cover would never help anything at all
i dont like the way this issue change from 'against devil as a pervert' to become 'against devil whatever it takes to hantam him'
these can be seen just from the last few pages
hallo, never say never!!Originally posted by dokono:Because it will never happen. Happening here means it will be a big news.
doko
Embaressed or not, sg forumites still has to learn and grow.Originally posted by laurence82:browniebaobao already posted it
but then again, since long time ago, for one issue or another, sgforums got embarrased in the media
pardon my language just now, BUT i just hope you can do something more constructive rather than floating around.Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Above was successful against a female, using vulgar language on text, traced thru her friend cos the complainant knows the fren who knows her.
She was summoned to appear in a magistrate court judge and make to contribute S$2000/- to a charity fund as well as offer a apology in person to the complainant.
Originally posted by dokono:it's not like every female is a victim. What about when the guy gets molested by the girl but the female accuses him instead? Isn't that unscupulous? It's like a win-win situation for them.
doko
Understand that the police are already dealing with this. And I don't have solid evidence who did this or that. It's just words. Everything is so grey.Originally posted by Kenashi:i know that u prefer to be sitting on the fence
so that u can put yrself out of everything
i am more disappointed that more n more singaporeans r like u!
i wonder what will happen when something happen to u, like that incident where the kid got bashed up in public n nobody give a helping hand!
everyone just want to put themselves out of harm's way n watch the din!!
they never care what happened unless it happened to them, then they will
b!tch that nobody help them, just like what u r doing now!
i may be emotional but at least i use my head, i can differentiate the right from the wrong not like some ppl in the forum!
then how?Originally posted by viciouskitty74:lets just say, when I was personally attacked by devil himself regards to my real life experiences on girls cutting their wrists and then the subsequent issues on my person by the rest of the forumites regards to the characters or the mods here.
I would say the mod did a good job in showing that everyone can run amok against another person when its discovered that the person did wrong in posting here.
So now the table is just kinda turned. Is there something to be ashamed of now?
arghhh...thats where psychology comes in.Originally posted by dokono:it's not like every female is a victim. What about when the guy gets molested by the girl but the female accuses him instead? Isn't that unscupulous? It's like a win-win situation for them.
doko
what about hushing things up?Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Embaressed or not, sg forumites still has to learn and grow.
Would it serve any purpose to hush issues up?
Ok. So now I am accuse of creating flame wars. I must be sooo guilty because you say so.Originally posted by striderz_o405:pardon my language just now, BUT i just hope you can do something more constructive rather than floating around.
and just let bygones be bygones. let nature takes its course. there is absolutely no need for you to create flame wars within the forums right?
my tinkings are juz abt the same as 798Originally posted by 798:if u have done something wrong in the past, it is forgiven if u learnt from ur mistakes n not to commit it again in the future.
but i dun see a need to defend oneself n shame the victim by posting her picture n label her 'she'll the last person i will look up wif'.
for pple who do not feel guilty of his actions is worse than a beast!
When it happens then it happens. The chance of it happening now is very low la. Of course there will be exceptions.Originally posted by Kenashi:hallo, never say never!!
in the past, ppl said that Singapore will be a poor developing nation, but what r we now??
all u care about is NEWS???
do u care about what r the consequences???
if not, i rather u keep yr silence to yrself
hurhurhur....lau di..gu gu ji bai i eng nia....Originally posted by laurence82:ah dee nowadays so eng arh?
yes...same sentiments....Originally posted by Ito_^:when it comes to her..
this joke become not funny any more.![]()
here's how.Originally posted by laurence82:what about hushing things up?
huh?
u sound so unrealOriginally posted by dokono:When it happens then it happens. The chance of it happening now is very low la. Of course there will be exceptions.
Kenashi I know you are a a very very very upright person. I hope to see more people like you.
doko