aiyoh eh ah..........well, i guess.......for everything else.....if it doesn't hurt you, your lifestyle and those around you............erm, hopefully when the novelty wears thin, u will ween yourself off?Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Im not addicted to game. Im addicted to SGForums , MSN , Friendster , Imeem , and com . How?![]()
Hmm............interesting!!! Thanks for the insight eh. Didn't know there was such report but it's good to read views from other angles.Originally posted by Twice A Day:Yeah gaming is supposed to be a healthy activity. Have been wondering what makes gaming so addictive. Till i read an article somewhere that people turn to gaming to experience the kind of events that they know they could not possible go thru in real life. The success in the games kind of fill up the emptiness of that person and make that person fill better. Sounds good huh.
But addiction to gaming surely have crossed the line. Wonder if there is a panacea for this. More gaming perhaps.![]()
huh? no lah....i am not totally against the play. i hope the actions can come from player himself rather than an impose.Originally posted by ironpeasant:delete the exe. file.
hee hee..........oei, bassie..........si mi lai eh? PS3? sony ah?Originally posted by BÃ¥seline:Hoh seh, PS3 ai lai liao for the masses in SG.
Sorry to OT.![]()
like this ar....Originally posted by littlestream:huh? no lah....i am not totally against the play. i hope the actions can come from player himself rather than an impose.
but thanks yah, ironpeasant
Its easy. Let's say u spend 5hours a day gaming. Every day, u cut off ur gaming activity 10mins earlier. So, if let's say I game 5-10pm everyday, starting today, i game from 5-9.50, then tomorrow, 5-9.40pm and so on.Originally posted by littlestream:I can't believe I am actually posting in agony!!!!
But seriously, how do one get off the addiction???? Do you just get up one day and decide "okay, that's it, i'm done with it!"? Or do you get grounded for spending too many hours (per day) on it???? Or do you re-direct yourself to other activities?
Come one, come all.....got tips or no-fail recipe(s) to share?
Xie xie....thank you.....kum siah........terima kaseh....dou che......![]()
Errr I do what have to be done firstOriginally posted by littlestream:I can't believe I am actually posting in agony!!!!
But seriously, how do one get off the addiction???? Do you just get up one day and decide "okay, that's it, i'm done with it!"? Or do you get grounded for spending too many hours (per day) on it???? Or do you re-direct yourself to other activities?
Come one, come all.....got tips or no-fail recipe(s) to share?
Xie xie....thank you.....kum siah........terima kaseh....dou che......![]()
har? si mi lai eh?Originally posted by WiNtEr'SkiLL:Imeem is ? new to me...
hmmm..........okay, noted. thanks for sharing yah, logistic.Originally posted by logistic:I was once game addict too... so crazy over games
guess the only way would be to find a new hobby for urself..
e.g. sports? im-ing with frds? or juz hangout with frds..
going into cold turkey wouldnt help much.. as the temptation will still be there.. so the best way would be to direct ur interest to some other stuff..
btw how old are u? still school-ing?
hee heee..........well, he is in his final year in high school and only has 3 courses left. so i guess a lot of time at hand.Originally posted by shinta:hohoho
warcraft is easy...
u cut his allowance... den he got no money to subscribe den cannot play liao lor~
find out why is he playin so much to begin with. is it bcos a fren recommended this game to him? or becos he got nth to do?
hee hee...........maybe i shd change my tele number?Originally posted by shinta:like this ar....
den u really need to find out why he's gaming so much lor...
when i got interesting stuff to do outside gaming.. i'd stop and do it before i go back to my games.
but war craft a bit hard. cos of the raids... his guild members might spam his phone.
that sounds like a plan....slowly weening off instead of an abrupt stop eh?Originally posted by nanren4ever:Its easy. Let's say u spend 5hours a day gaming. Every day, u cut off ur gaming activity 10mins earlier. So, if let's say I game 5-10pm everyday, starting today, i game from 5-9.50, then tomorrow, 5-9.40pm and so on.
Also, u can try going out more often during ur gaming time. Go out with friends, catch a movie or something. Then when u reach home, don't immediately go straight to ur PC and turn it on. Go read the newspaper, take a bath, and go to bed after tat. Slowly, u will find urself going to ur PC less.
ah gui chuop the console liao.Originally posted by meltz:give away yr pc or psp or ps or any other console
actually get yrself buzy with some other things slowly u will cut down on yr gaming time ..
oohhh....thanks, elindra......for explaining to me how this thing (wow) works. at least i understand and can discuss better.Originally posted by elindra:Errr I do what have to be done first
Family, Friends & Work is greater than gaming.
Don't matter who gears up first really.
Coz once they finish gearing I dun have competition
But it has to do with his guild members too Streamy
If his guild is the hardcore ones then it's hard coz there will be peer pressure
Plus the hardcore guilds penalise if you don't turn up for raids and you lose your raid spot.
I have friends who did the extreme which is selling off their account or deleting their charc and uninstalling the game and throwing it away to get rid of their addiction. They all say the same thing. "I'm doing it for my family"
Maybe you should talk to your son and remind him that WoW is nothing but a game. Don't get lost in a virtual world.
i don't know if i jump the gun a little early. but i was troubled lah. i guess he will be busy once his summer job starts.Originally posted by elindra:Actually Streamy, other way to get rid of the addiction is to keep yourself busy with activities and stay away from the pc
After a while you dun feel the urge to game anymore.