mine is hereOriginally posted by the.owl:
Nice one.Originally posted by Nelstar:Lastly
+1 post to ...
18888 posts.![]()
Originally posted by ditzy:Vote all you want, they don't want, you also lan lan.![]()
can we try this theory?Originally posted by Tan Ah Teck:Highly recommend, Space1999 and viciouskitty74. The last mod can either be Kenashi, Ladi, or xShevchenkox!![]()
volunteers dont get paid. average of 0 is still 0. lolOriginally posted by Bontakun:So da pay thing is kay siao 1 lah. chey~~~~~~~~~~~~~
in some forums, yes.Originally posted by browniebaobao:first time i see moderators are paid..![]()
Originally posted by browniebaobao:first time i see moderators are paid..![]()
Originally posted by Yunhaier:
[b]SINGAPORE, April 23 (Reuters) SGF Hottest and Coolest Moderator may soon be getting a hefty pay rise as part of a controversial moderators salary hike that has infuriated many forumers.
FireIce, who is estimated to earn about S$2 million (US$1.32 million) per year, said last month that the salaries of SGF top moderator have fallen way below benchmark commercialised moderators' salaries and may need to be doubled.
"It is critical for us to keep these salaries competitive, so as to be able to bring in a continuing flow of able and successful people," Jason said in a speech yesterday.
Jason said that SGF top moderators, who currently earn about S$1.2 million (US$800,000) a year, should be earning S$2.2 million (US$1.45 million). Details of the new moderators' salaries will be announced in SGF on May 20.
But the latest salary hike, which comes at a time when income disparity in Singapore is wider than ever, has sparked an outpour of unusually blunt criticism from Singaporeans.
Some forumers argue that the activity rating do not reflect the quality of post in SGF and cannot be used in gauging performance.
"No matter what happens to the economy, ChitChat will always win in rating," Laurence82 said, comparing current overwhelming rating of CC as of 1117 to that of Bar with only 491.
"I am rather disappointed with the statistic," reader Mospeada, MOD of UoC, said, 'I suspect ChitChat is cheating - there's no way I could get such elite salary as there's no way I could beat the top three forums in SGF!'
But the sharpest criticism was online. The 'awesome raise on top of their already obscene pay is completely unjustifiable,' read an online petition that has gathered 304 signatures.
Given the rare public outcry, analysts said the SGF may now hesitate to raise salaries by the full S$1 million.
"I would be surprised if they implemented the full formula that would give them over S$2 million," said Ditzy.
Chief Janitor Jason defends the high salaries as necessary to attract the brightest people and to prevent corruption.
"If we don't do that ... corruption will set in and we will become like many other forums," Chief Janitor Jason was quoted as saying in the SGF Times last week.
Top forum MODs' salaries are set by different wage formulas, depending on their seniority. The figures are not readily available to the public, but the hottest and coolest moderator FireIce earned S$1.94 million in 2000, who is holding portfolios of top forums like Chitchat, Bar, etc.
The wages for moderators of top forums were last raised in 2000, but were cut in 2001 and 2003 during the economic downturn, although the cuts have since been reversed, the Chief Janitor Jason said.
"ABLE GENERALS"
Some argue that top moderators are not overpaid, but that moderators of other forums elsewhere are underpaid.
SGF is an oasis of wealth, peace and law and order in a region rife with poverty, violence and corruption.
"According to a Chinese proverb, an able moderator is worth more than 10,000 junior members. So too is the worth of our leaders if they have the wisdom to help us weather global forums competition," an unnamed reader said.
"The cure to all this talk is really a good dose of incompetent MODs," Chief Janitor Jason spoke in SGF yesterday, adding that it is "absurd" for forumers to quarrel about moderators' pay and warning that SGF would suffer it the moderators are not paid competitive salaries.
"The IT stability and security will be at risk and our women will become junior members in other people's forums," he said.[/b]
Depends on which organisation you go toOriginally posted by bladez87:volunteers dont get paid. average of 0 is still 0. lol
Explain NKF, explain Matilda Chua.Originally posted by bladez87:volunteers dont get paid. average of 0 is still 0. lol
I am paid. But not in monetary term.Originally posted by FireIce:in some forums, yes.
but not here.
too bad.
SGF organisation lehOriginally posted by deathscythe99:Depends on which organisation you go to
truthfully, after i seen the mindef intranet forum mods, and their tonnes of rules and regulations, i think u're like the statue of liberty incarnate.Originally posted by FireIce:in some forums, yes.
but not here.
too bad.
isit?Originally posted by FireIce:in some forums, yes.
but not here.
too bad.
Originally posted by Yunhaier:nice one!~
Sgforum moderators' salaries far behind commercialised forums like STOMP.
[b]Jason discloses the wide gap and urgent need to retain talent in SGF.
TOP commercialised forum moderators salaries have surged ahead of those in SGF and Chief Janitor Jason revealed last night just how far the pay of Moderators has fallen behind. A Moderator should be drawing $2.2 million a year or more, according to benchmarks approved by SGF in 2001 to ensure competitive salaries for a competent and honest forum.
But their actual salaries have fallen to 55 per cent of the benchmark, that is $1.2 million, and 'we have to close this gap', Jason said last night.
He did not say if Moderators' pay will be raised fully to this amount, or when it will go up. Details of the salary changes across the civil service will be announced in SGF on May 20.
Speaking at the Aunt Agony Forum, Jason explained that salaries had to be reviewed so the SGF can keep its share of talented Singaporeans.
'This is an urgent problem. We have experienced on previous occasions the painful consequences of responding too slowly when the private sector surged ahead,' he said.
Moderators (MODs) are at a 'critical decision point' in their careers, and SGF must keep their salaries market competitive to retain the able ones.
Today, their salaries are in line with the commercialised forums benchmark created for this group. But with salaries for young professionals moving up, especially in the Aunt Agony Forum, Jason expects salaries in this group to 'soon come under pressure'.
Fast-growing salaries explain why SGF has embarked on a review of Moderators' salaries covering all services where pay has fallen behind the private sector.
Also important is to review the salaries of other MODs, senior members and premier membership holders said Jason.
'It is even more critical for us to keep these salaries competitive, so as to be able to bring in a continuing flow of able and successful people to be Moderators.
'Unless there is a first-class political leadership and judiciary, SGF, however capable and dedicated, will not be able to function properly,' he said. [/b]
Originally posted by browniebaobao:![]()
good one ah hoon~!![]()
hoon is yun lor.Originally posted by Yunhaier:Why u keep calling me ah hoon???
What's ah hoon?
Cheers
Second that. Especially those with motives, agendas, vendettas, sh1t-stirring ones.Originally posted by MooKu:none of those involved in the latest saga should be made the moderator
Originally posted by SumOne:x1!
[b]VK FOR MOD!!!!
Best candidate![/b]