Equality doesn't always have to be measured... If you start measuring it, there's never an end to it...Originally posted by ahhaoz:if this is what we are striving for... then perhaps the gals can stop bringing up the guys should pay for everything, the guy should open the door for the gal... maybe shouldn't bring up "feng du" at all..
dates should be on dutch basis etc,
wad everyone think...?
i may be wrong.. so enlighten me!
Yahhh.. I agree lah... let there be equality.Originally posted by ahhaoz:if this is what we are striving for... then perhaps the gals can stop bringing up the guys should pay for everything, the guy should open the door for the gal... maybe shouldn't bring up "feng du" at all..
wad everyone think...?
hmm..Originally posted by ahhaoz:if this is what we are striving for... then perhaps the gals can stop bringing up the guys should pay for everything, the guy should open the door for the gal... maybe shouldn't bring up "feng du" at all..
wad everyone think...?
Fyi, there is guys who is taking care of the house chores instead of gals. Its only they cannot help gals to give birth.Originally posted by jojobeach:Yahhh.. I agree lah... let there be equality.
Men can stay at home and look after the kids also mah.
Do the house chores and take care of the household lor.
If can , best is get pregnant and boob feed lah.
I am ALL for gender equality.
Nowadays girls also earning as much or sometimes more than the guy lor.
So , can lah....
One more thing, if you are the one paying, ask her not to talk so much. Demanding and dominating girl. edit: don't ask, just tell her to keep quiet and enjoy your company.Originally posted by ahhaoz:yea kinda.. ahhahah
u see .. i'm student.. and attached.. she recently mentions abt how her younger sis's bf (who is a VERY RICH) buys her all the things and pays for everything.
so i tell her that im' only a student.. as much as possible I would like to buy u dinner every friday nite at a very nice restaurant too! but i can only try and when my budget permits me to.. if that month i spend more.. then tat's it le.. i still have to eat wad..
so she said" why i say this. i'm not complaining u don't.. just telling you abt this."
i was like.. ok. a bit duh for me .. but ok..
to me she's just comparing and implicitly complaining.. then i think.. why do the guy have to pay for everything? just bcos she can give birth and i can't???? sorry a bit crude.. but ya..
This is not about equality... it's about being gentlemanly!Originally posted by ahhaoz:if this is what we are striving for... then perhaps the gals can stop bringing up the guys should pay for everything, the guy should open the door for the gal... maybe shouldn't bring up "feng du" at all..
wad everyone think...?
oh.. tehn can u tell me wad it takes to be lady like...?Originally posted by Slipshade:This is not about equality... it's about being gentlemanly!![]()
Have you wondered why some girls are materialistic ?Originally posted by Saint`:i had a female fren whom i was rather close b4 .. but it is on n off thing .. so a few mths ago i said wanted to meet her .. i was kinda appalled at what she said .. she said drive to meet her or something .. well i m a nsf nw .. so car is outta question .. she is jus freshly grad from poly .. i koe she is materialistic .. but didnt koe she is SO MATERIALISTIC .. lol ..
Originally posted by ahhaoz:oh.. tehn can u tell me wad it takes to be lady like...?
Like that i so poor forever stay home n be single till the day i die man.Originally posted by ditzy:Who asks who out, who pay. Its that simple.![]()
Definitely nothing to do with money.Originally posted by ahhaoz:oh.. tehn can u tell me wad it takes to be lady like...?
This doesn't really address couples in a relationship, but those who are still in the courting process.Originally posted by SpeedStar:Haha, like this kind of narrow mindset, u sure cannot get a gf. Anyway be a gentleman lar, it does not hurt to treat a gal for din rite? And I think its nice helping people to open the door, not only for gals. Its a show of courtesy which i dun get to see it in singapore much often.
And lastly, y r u so calculative??![]()
I won't say it's just Singapore alone. There are always women looking for a free ride anywhere. Unless the guy doesn't mind paying all the way, guys should be careful if the girl is just taking you for a "cabbage head". Equality really? haha..(maybe only to those who show no qualms in abusing the word "gentleman" for their own benefit)Originally posted by walesa:This doesn't really address couples in a relationship, but those who are still in the courting process.
The challenge is really to seperate the worthy ones from those who are just out for a free lunch. In many parts of the world, women wouldn't even accept - much less expect - freebies on a regular basis from men with whom they do not envisage a romantic future. In such cultures, if a man offered to buy a woman dinner and she accepts the offer, it's a cue in itself for the man to proceed further. Ironically, in Singapore, I've seen quite a number of cases whereby women would have no qualms accepting freebies repeatedly (on the pretext of claiming the offers are made to them) from men whom they themselves do not fancy, sending out the wrong signals to such men, only to lament about the overzealousness of such men who interpret such acts as a cue to proceed further. Talk about social etiquette.
It's hard justifying a case to shower excessive chivalry on people who do not exercise social etiquette responsibly...
Hmmm.. food for thought.Originally posted by walesa:This doesn't really address couples in a relationship, but those who are still in the courting process.
The challenge is really to seperate the worthy ones from those who are just out for a free lunch. In many parts of the world, women wouldn't even accept - much less expect - freebies on a regular basis from men with whom they do not envisage a romantic future. In such cultures, if a man offered to buy a woman dinner and she accepts the offer, it's a cue in itself for the man to proceed further. Ironically, in Singapore, I've seen quite a number of cases whereby women would have no qualms accepting freebies repeatedly (on the pretext of claiming the offers are made to them) from men whom they themselves do not fancy, sending out the wrong signals to such men, only to lament about the overzealousness of such men who interpret such acts as a cue to proceed further. Talk about social etiquette.
It's hard justifying a case to shower excessive chivalry on people who do not exercise social etiquette responsibly...
So where's the contribution from a woman to suggest she's someone who'd keep her marital vows when she eventually ties the knot? The part where she vows to stick with him through "thick and thin" and "in sickness and in health"...Originally posted by jojobeach:Have you wondered why some girls are materialistic ?
Do you think perhaps it is part of survival that women wants to be materialistic ?
Women prefers men who can provide for the family if they have a choice.
Think about this, you are pit poor. You married a wife.
Both of you have to work to pay for expenses and mortage etc.
Your wife gets pregnant.
You cannot afford to keep the child if she don't work and help bring home the dough.
Now, what would you do ?? Abort the child ? Keep the child?
Keep the child but wife have to work.
Your child becomes another latch key baby.
Don't you think it's sad ???
Male and females have specific roles in the society purely because of their physical abilities.
Unless you decides not to have children, then become DINKS.
So good lor, in the end maybe year 3000 what will become of human??
That's why if a man can provide material needs to the woman, it would meet one of the essential needs to start a family.
Even in the animal world, the females mates with males who had to win the fight with other competing males. Why ???
Human are still animals in every sense.
I'm not saying every woman in Singapore doesn't know how to exhibit responsible social etiquette, but just a substantial number (at least, compared with those from other countries I've been resided in) who do not know how to conduct themselves like a lady. The irony in this is they expect their beaus(or those courting them) to exhibit chivalry of the highest order(some are ridiculous to the point that even if you asked them out as colleagues after work, they'd actually expect you to pay). I'd liken this example to someone who can't pass his PSLE but expects to get admitted to Harvard. It's clearly a mismatch of reality and expectations. It's got something to do with the culture as much as anything...Originally posted by dokono:I won't say it's just Singapore alone. There are always women looking for a free ride anywhere. Unless the guy doesn't mind paying all the way, guys should be careful if the girl is just taking you for a "cabbage head". Equality really? haha..
Anyway, well said.
doko