I do not know if you even know the root of your own problem. Is it simply a matter of not having a common interest? Or is there more to what you want in a friend?Originally posted by whenwilllifegetbetter:hi, thanks for all the advice, was really eye-opening... i think i should follow some of them, like being more proactive and asking pple to go for lunch, outings, etc, and talking to pple sitting next to me... and i should probably stop going around with a sad face, cos it makes pple think that i don't wanna talk to anybodyalso i hould call up old friends, esp those who are in the same course. (sorry, i'm not in computing, i'm in engin... maybe that's why i'm so lonely, cos it's mostly guys... when i was in sec sch it was an all girls sch, and in jc my (few) buddies were all girls... i've never really been close friends with guys... hmm, maybe that's what i meant when i said that i feel like an alien)
but i dunno about some of the other suggestions, like joining hall and more clubs and societies... cos when i joined my current cca, it wasn't just out of interest, but also to meet pple, but now it feels like pple are leaving me out... and about hall, it's possible to join hall and still be lonely, just look at that Cho fellow.. (and pls dun worry, i'd never even think of pulling off a stunt like that.) but apparently he stayed on campus and even shared a room with pple, yet he was so isolated... i think in the end it's really me that needs to change my behaviours, otherwise no matter how many halls, clubs or societies i join, pple will still be leaving me out... and speaking of Cho, when i heard about the sort of person that he was and how isolated from others he was, it dawned on me that i'm also lonesome like him... just not twisted and psycho, but definitely isolated, especially in nus... ok lah, i'm not as bad as that, as in when ppl talk to me i do try to smile and be friendly, but they're all the "hi and bye" type like some of you said... and yeah,in uni, it's normal to have lots of "hi and bye" friends like some have said, but at the moment all of the pple that are talk to are that type, and there aren't any close friends...zero
I can't remember the last time i ate lunch with other pple, but i remember thinking that lunch is so much nicer with company, and that i really took for granted all those regular lunch buddies from sec sch and jc...
and yep, being lonely is possibly a good thing, i'd have more time to concentrate on my studies, but now we're having vacation, and it's really been plaguing my thoughts... and the Cho thing also scares me; i dun wanna be like that
maybe i'm just thinking too much since it's the holidays, maybe it's part of being an adult like somebody said... being lonely..sorry if i sounded immature/ low self-esteem that day; was crying and not thinking properly... i'm not sure what to do now; on the one hand i could try to keep occupied with sch/work and just forget about this; on the other hand if i ignore this problem then possibly nothing will change, and i'll grow old all alone and i'll die with noone at my funeral...![]()
Knn, in the ad, the ang moh girl was so excited to come to nus.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Behind the facade, it is, for some.![]()
NUS is not boring, but with the kind of system they have, its really hard to know other people better and become friends. I am not in NUS, but i have friends who do, and it seems to me that they too have few friends they can speak of in NUS. They were the kinds that were extremely popular and friendly during JC days, so it couldn't have been them.Originally posted by charlize:NUS so boring meh?
I think........ you think too much....Originally posted by whenwilllifegetbetter:hi, thanks for all the advice, was really eye-opening... i think i should follow some of them, like being more proactive and asking pple to go for lunch, outings, etc, and talking to pple sitting next to me... and i should probably stop going around with a sad face, cos it makes pple think that i don't wanna talk to anybodyalso i hould call up old friends, esp those who are in the same course. (sorry, i'm not in computing, i'm in engin... maybe that's why i'm so lonely, cos it's mostly guys... when i was in sec sch it was an all girls sch, and in jc my (few) buddies were all girls... i've never really been close friends with guys... hmm, maybe that's what i meant when i said that i feel like an alien)
but i dunno about some of the other suggestions, like joining hall and more clubs and societies... cos when i joined my current cca, it wasn't just out of interest, but also to meet pple, but now it feels like pple are leaving me out... and about hall, it's possible to join hall and still be lonely, just look at that Cho fellow.. (and pls dun worry, i'd never even think of pulling off a stunt like that.) but apparently he stayed on campus and even shared a room with pple, yet he was so isolated... i think in the end it's really me that needs to change my behaviours, otherwise no matter how many halls, clubs or societies i join, pple will still be leaving me out... and speaking of Cho, when i heard about the sort of person that he was and how isolated from others he was, it dawned on me that i'm also lonesome like him... just not twisted and psycho, but definitely isolated, especially in nus... ok lah, i'm not as bad as that, as in when ppl talk to me i do try to smile and be friendly, but they're all the "hi and bye" type like some of you said... and yeah,in uni, it's normal to have lots of "hi and bye" friends like some have said, but at the moment all of the pple that are talk to are that type, and there aren't any close friends...zero
I can't remember the last time i ate lunch with other pple, but i remember thinking that lunch is so much nicer with company, and that i really took for granted all those regular lunch buddies from sec sch and jc...
and yep, being lonely is possibly a good thing, i'd have more time to concentrate on my studies, but now we're having vacation, and it's really been plaguing my thoughts... and the Cho thing also scares me; i dun wanna be like that
maybe i'm just thinking too much since it's the holidays, maybe it's part of being an adult like somebody said... being lonely..sorry if i sounded immature/ low self-esteem that day; was crying and not thinking properly... i'm not sure what to do now; on the one hand i could try to keep occupied with sch/work and just forget about this; on the other hand if i ignore this problem then possibly nothing will change, and i'll grow old all alone and i'll die with noone at my funeral...![]()
u study business ah? which yr already... My next yr is my final yrOriginally posted by soulwinner:Meet me in business hall too...