I read in the papers of one woman complaining that her son is a straight A student and is not accepted in NUS medicine. My hubby said that it is likely because of Dragon's year competition.Originally posted by aiglosicicle:i am really terrified now. since the feb till now i've been hearing and reading all sorts of horror stories of a'level students scoring straight As but are still unable to get into their course. stories of people who do so badly they cant study in singapore.
perhaps it is because the a'level class of 2005-2006 belongs to the dragon year? so the competition is tough...?
do you think this trend might not settle down and instead continue with the a'level class of 2006-2007?
not to mention some scholars can't WORK at all... it's as if they used up all their brain cells to get those As....Originally posted by Xiaozzhen:I read in the papers of one woman complaining that her son is a straight A student and is not accepted in NUS medicine. My hubby said that it is likely because of Dragon's year competition.
I then highlighted this to my son to show him not to be complacent.
Having this knowledge is power. You are now aware what you must do.
I think there is not much point worrying. Instead spend that time in your study. What is important is you try your best. Sometimes, you don't have to score all As to have a bright future.![]()
Dragons that retake not are so powerful dragons any more!!!Originally posted by Qex:2006 a'levels was for the dragon babies.
so hope this yr 2007, the dragons dun go and retake, if retake, walowe, im in deep shit already.
x2!!!eh but sia la, the dragon year remains, will drop to our year leh!isit?but new syllabus...what happens to them arh?Originally posted by Qex:2006 a'levels was for the dragon babies.
so hope this yr 2007, the dragons dun go and retake, if retake, walowe, im in deep shit already.
2 years?NS arh lol...but wun it b applyin to the same year?i mean ur still applying places for 2 years ahead whatOriginally posted by teraexa:Dunno, then no basis for comparison lor and less pesky parents complaining again.
Bah after JC i still got 2 more years = 2 more chances to apply.
correct.Originally posted by de_middle:just study & dun bother so much lor
hmm i dont understand what you mean. if you apply later while you're in ns, wont it mean you'll go uni one year later then if you applied the year you got your results.Originally posted by teraexa:Dunno, then no basis for comparison lor and less pesky parents complaining again.
Bah after JC i still got 2 more years = 2 more chances to apply.
nusmedicine all along is even if straight A also may not get in deOriginally posted by Xiaozzhen:I read in the papers of one woman complaining that her son is a straight A student and is not accepted in NUS medicine. My hubby said that it is likely because of Dragon's year competition.
I then highlighted this to my son to show him not to be complacent.
Having this knowledge is power. You are now aware what you must do.
I think there is not much point worrying. Instead spend that time in your study. What is important is you try your best. Sometimes, you don't have to score all As to have a bright future.![]()
LOL HELLO T.Originally posted by xortw:JUST STUDY HARD, WS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!