then ask them to get lost if not police. act stern and serious.Originally posted by racingmafia:i didnt even collect any deposit frm them...
Originally posted by jojobeach:this is a great idea!!! seriously u hv been a great help
Actually, at 4 years old, the boy should be able to self feed.
Foods like pancakes are "finger food". He shouldn't need the older sister to feed him.
ummm...the boy is 8mths old the girl tat fed the bb is 4yrs ,eldest is 8yrs...
Depending on the dexterity of the child, a 4 year old should also be able to use spoons or forks to feed himself, although they may be messy when they do. Note that he should be using safety forks , available in the infant departments. Do not let them run around with drinking straws or forks, incase they trip and fall, they will get hurt.
A 8 year old shouldn't have to look after any younger child, usually children who are at least 12 years old are given the responsibilities to take care of younger siblings.
8 year old may be considered independent, but they lack the rational to care for young kids.
I think your friend's wife is trying to sneak in a break since she thinks the children are doing ok with you. Means she actually trust you enough to help her handle the children.
I bet you make a good father later.
@,[email protected] she shd at least see i got things to do ma...but i do enjoy having time teaching kids only when im free..
About the discipline part, there is always a good cop and a bad cop in the family.
Meaning, is your friend the more strict disciplinarian ? If he is, then the mother must play a more lenient role. You cannot have 2 parents being the strict punisher. This is to make sure the children won't feel trap and develop a complex.
my frd is strict but he reali has no time for the discipline things...
When I was living with my brother's family. My brother was very strict, sometimes his punishments are very extreme. I used to have to use my body to shield my nephews because my brother is very heavy handed when he spank the children. So, my nephews are very close to me, because they know I protect them. Children are smarter than we like to give them credit for.
Child proofing the home.
Meaning you anticipate any possible dangers in the home and prevent it from happening.
Children are very curious creatures. They like to get into EVERYTHING.
Things you need to be careful are...
Electrical outlets. Get some plastic plugs.
Control knobs/movable parts, these are finger traps or if they come off, choking hazards.
Electrical wirings/cords, babies will chew on it, electrocution and strangulations.
Kitchens, knifes, access to fire stove.
Sharp corners , example, coffee tables,
Unstable furniture, babies learning to walk will grab onto furnitures to pull themself up. Sometimes heavy furniture can topple and crush them.
Bath, toilet..pails of water, 2 inch of water is all you need to drown a baby.
Chemicals or medications. Toxic to children, always keep them out of reach.
Super glues, alcohols... dangerous to young children.
Install gates to contain young child.
Some items you can find in the stores are like electrical plugs, wiring covers, corner protectors, door knobs covers, drawers locks. et cetera.
I found a website that has a lot of the stuff I mentioned, But I think this one is not in Singapore. But you should take a look so you know what I am talking about.
http://www.onestepahead.com/catalog/section.jsp?siteId=117&parentCategoryId=85183
!!!...u hv kids?????i bet u do!
Yes is a lot of work, but you only have to do it once. At least untill the youngest is about 3 years old.
Also, it is better than having to rush to Emergency Room and wait hours.
My brother says it is a small investment to prevent disasters.
true...
Before that, it is best to keep furnitures to the minimum. Since children likes to climb, it's in their nature to explore.
I used to have to pluck my nephews and niece off tables and grill gates. And they can really climb high.... because they have no sense of fear at such a young age.
Sometimes I help out my SIL, so she can get some time to do her own stuff like cutting nails, get a shower, run downstairs to tah bao her favourite hawker food. All these little things are great help to her.
I found the website that offers part-time nanny/babysitter.
They seem to charge reasonable rates at $10 per hour.
Not sure if the minimum hours apply to part-time service.
It is worth it for your friend's wife to have someone come in once a while to give her some "time- off"
http://www.a-team.com.sg/
sry...i cant do that...Originally posted by rathcycle:then ask them to get lost if not police. act stern and serious.
Originally posted by jojobeach:
8 month old baby can use their hands to feed themselves already.
But you must cut the food into small pieces for them.
O.0ll...u sure???
4 year old should not be allowed to feed a 8 month old.
Next time, just put them at separate ends of the table.
well tats wad i tot also but after telling her she didnt seems to listen...
I've lived with my brother since his children were born.
2 nephews and 2 nieces. Learned a LOT about child care from my SIL.
Since I also help out, I must make sure I know how to take care of them properly.
You'd get the hang of it eventually.
im trying to...
Actually, this thread makes me miss those little "terrors".
Couldn't wait to go visit them again when I go back SG. I hope they still remembers me.
im sure they ll rem u..u r such a nice person![]()
Just remember, young children response better to love and care.
Originally posted by dreamykite:
Well..this is certainly not my case. I find nephew and niece too nosiy to live with. besides, living with in sis-in-laws also lost privacy too. That's why I didnt live with them.
Anyway, 5 pax in a room is really too much. No landlord will do such thing to rent out a rm to 5 pax.A rm themax is 2 persons. I am astonish that you did that. Your mom is right, it will cost ard 700. I guess you can ask your mom for help by asking your friends to move out.
ummm...im not thinking of asking them move out...
6-8 month old babies can sit up unassisted.
Self feed means picking up finger food themselves and putting it in their mouth.
Not mean they can totally feed themself lah.
Usually parents will give them baby snacks like cheerios... or small diced pieces of soft fruits.
For main meals, adults still have to spoon feed them.
o...
Your friend's wife... I believe she is having post-natal depression.
i tik so...a bit weird when she smiles...
Either that, or she is simply exhausted to want to bother about the children.
Sometimes mothers will neglect their children if they are in distressed.
Does your friend have any off days during the week ?
He cannot be working 15 x 7 , right ?
Does your friend spend any time with the children when he is off work ?
he has got offs on sundays usualli but he wake up late like at 1pm...too tired liao. he loves the kids very much...whenever we go out he only look for things for the kids and wont buy what he needs...eg tat time when we go JB i saw his wallet dame old and torn liao and asked him to get a simple 1 in JB he replied me "i look nice for wad!?Im proud as long as my kids look good...he wants to be a good daddy"
I wonder, how did they end up in such a situation ?
Where did they live before they rent your room ?
they use to live with my frd's parents but his wife cant get a long with the in laws so they ended up lik tis lor...
I'm sure they couldn't possibly want a 3rd child if they don't even have a place of their own right ?
hais...the 1st 2 kids doesnt belong to my frd...i tik u knw wad i mean.
If the 3rd child is unplanned, chances are, the mother will not be very attached to the child.
i tik the mom loves the bb but i tik she focus too much on the bb liao...cos the bb doent give too much problem...main problems are usually frm the 2 elder kids.
btw u not in sg now ar?u at where...?pai say ar jus KPO nia![]()
Oh.. wow... I a bit speechless...LOL
Your friend really have a very complicated life.
The marriage must be a much coveted one
Not easy for your friend's parent to accept his wife.
Not easy for the two older child to accept your friend as the "new" father either. Maybe that's why they are giving the mom a hard time.
i tik so...
The biological father/family of the two older kids, are they still in contact?
Does he provide for the children at all ? Child maintenance ?
ummm...i dun tik so..not in contact i guess...
I am on the other side of the world... Texas.
!!so far...studies?business?