Yes but WHY? Exceptions? Is it wise? How does it help you make decisions? Are the decisions you make based on this "good decisions"? Are there better alternatives to living life "Never do yourself the thing that you criticize in others"Originally posted by Patrik:Erm.
Never do yourself the thing that you criticize in others, counted?
If you have a good philosophy for living... you can avoid many problems in life. Prevention is better than cure.Originally posted by Devil1976:Why is this in AA?![]()
Pretty much sums up what kinda person one is if he is criticizing someone this moment abt a particular issue and the next moment,he is doing it,isnt it?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Yes but WHY? Exceptions? Is it wise? How does it help you make decisions? Are the decisions you make based on this "good decisions"? Are there better alternatives to living life "Never do yourself the thing that you criticize in others"
This is very typical... most of, if not all people never think about this and go from one crisis in life to another crisis in life.Originally posted by seotiblizzard:I dunno leh.
nvr thought of it.
Philosophy doesn't always work... Those that work, people often don't practise it always....Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:If you have a good philosophy for living... you can avoid many problems in life. Prevention is better than cure.
how to create one?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:This is very typical... most of, if not all people never think about this and go from one crisis in life to another crisis in life.
If you say "as a general principle" that might be acceptable... but two people can do the same thing for very different reasons and the reason can be valid (making the actions justifiable) or invalid (making the actions unjustifiable), no?Originally posted by Patrik:Pretty much sums up what kinda person one is if he is criticizing someone this moment abt a particular issue and the next moment,he is doing it,isnt it?
Its more of a principle thing, i guess.![]()
hehehe, to each his own I guess, but I choose to be constantly aware and conscious of my own "philosophy" when for example, my emotions get the better of me....Originally posted by Devil1976:Philosophy doesn't always work... Those that work, people often don't practise it always....
I used to hold quite a few simple philosophies to my life, but now... I've either totally forgotten about 'philosophies' to life or already absorbed them into my system...![]()
Yeah... Basically, just like what I used to do...Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:hehehe, to each his own I guess, but I choose to be constantly aware and conscious of my own "philosophy" when for example, my emotions get the better of me....
When I have to make a decision (some times even small decisions) I run through my basic philosophy to remind myself of how I should act/react/feel instead of acting instinctively.
wah liaoz otherwise, emotions can run wild and you think that you are acting/behaving logically and instead, you are messing up big time and you cannot see it until you have messed it up real good.
hmmmm.... I hope my answer above gives you an idea?Originally posted by seotiblizzard:how to create one? basic philosophy means wad i still dun understand
wah laoz... you is the man....Originally posted by Devil1976:Yeah... Basically, just like what I used to do...
Now I usually don't have much of any emotion... Unless I PURPOSELY allow it to GENERATE...![]()
very the chim.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:hmmmm.... I hope my answer above give you an idea?
so easy you would have already known it wat...Originally posted by seotiblizzard:very the chim.
Chill chill man.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:so easy you would have already known it wat...
so easy no nid to discuss in AA, just tok kok sing song in Cool-Girl's kopitiam![]()
Not just guide lines... because guide lines can be like LAWS/RULES and REGULATIONS.Originally posted by seotiblizzard:Ok.
so it is like some kind of guildlines??
It is more of a case-to-case basis i think,but so far,i have kept to it.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:If you say "as a general principle" that might be acceptable... but two people can do the same thing for very different reasons and the reason can be valid (making the actions justifiable) or invalid (making the actions unjustifiable), no?
So if you criticize someone for doing something, you yourself can justifiably do exactly the same thing (for different reasons), no?
hmmmm.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Not just guide lines... because guide lines can be like LAWS/RULES and REGULATIONS.
Like do not cross the road when it is the RED man and cross only when the GREEN MAN is flashing.
If you are on a straight road and there are no cars around, do you still follow the RED man GREED man guide line?
When do you follow the RED man GREEN man rule and why? The answer to that question is a little closer to a basic philosophy in life but you are not there yet.