His daughter and her mum live in Australia. He flies down to see her ever so often.Originally posted by Gazelle:1) I wont consider 26 years old girl as young
2) I neither would I consider a 43 man is as old. think Brad Pitt, Tom Cruise
3) I believe your biggest challenge will be to live with his 10 year old son and his mother. Care to share with us your relationships with them?
the age gap is certainly too huge. You better think twice. Marrying such an old uncle is really no joke. Like marrying your old grand father. Old men are boring. Think twice. This man like to go for young girls, and dump old ones, like his aged wife.Originally posted by norm:some young girls get attracted to old uncles, and then live to regret later.
Singapore has a CPF scheme called ElderCare for all old uncles who are 40 years and above. Marrying an Elderly man means you will need to take care of him when he is too old too walk one day. You become his maid. At your age group, can try to look for a man who is 35 and below.Originally posted by norm:the age gap is certainly too huge. You better think twice. Marrying such an old uncle is really no joke. Like marrying your old grand father. Old men are boring. Think twice. This man like to go for young girls, and dump old ones, like his aged wife.
Sorry to ask what breaking point are you at ?Originally posted by sooks:Hi there,
I am a 26 year old woman, dating a man 17 years older than myself, who has a 10 year old daughter who lives in Australia with her Mum.
Our relationship is complicated, and I can't even begin to explain.
My problem is that, because of our huge age difference, coupled with the fact that he already has a child, I am not sure if he wants the same things as I do.
I want 3 - 4 kids, and when I asked if he would like more children, his reply is "I don't mind'. We are in very different stages of our lives. I am young and full of hope for my future, whereas he has pretty much achieved what he desired (Career, kid), hence, he doesn't seem to enthusiastic about OUR future.
I feel resentful, and when I talk to my partner about this, he always says that I have nothing to worry about.
I stepped into this relationship understanding that there will be baggage, and I have put my own feelings aside and braved them all. I've met his ex-partner, faced her friends, gone for family gatherings in Australia and moved into his home. I've done all this despite my own anxieties.
I'm resentful of the fact that my life is and will continue to revolve around him and his past. That this relationship (I quote him) is "so easy" whereas I feel like I am battling everything on my own.
I am at breaking point.
So what if you know there are other people in the same situation as you? Everyday, when u r in the bus or MRT, other people in the same situation as you!Originally posted by sooks:I just want to know if there are any other people who are in the same situation as me.
1) huge age gap
2) dating man with kid
You 26 years oldOriginally posted by sooks:Hi there,
I am a 26 year old woman, dating a man 17 years older than myself, who has a 10 year old daughter who lives in Australia with her Mum.
Our relationship is complicated, and I can't even begin to explain.
My problem is that, because of our huge age difference, coupled with the fact that he already has a child, I am not sure if he wants the same things as I do.
I want 3 - 4 kids, and when I asked if he would like more children, his reply is "I don't mind'. We are in very different stages of our lives. I am young and full of hope for my future, whereas he has pretty much achieved what he desired (Career, kid), hence, he doesn't seem to enthusiastic about OUR future.
I feel resentful, and when I talk to my partner about this, he always says that I have nothing to worry about.
I stepped into this relationship understanding that there will be baggage, and I have put my own feelings aside and braved them all. I've met his ex-partner, faced her friends, gone for family gatherings in Australia and moved into his home. I've done all this despite my own anxieties.
I'm resentful of the fact that my life is and will continue to revolve around him and his past. That this relationship (I quote him) is "so easy" whereas I feel like I am battling everything on my own.
I am at breaking point.
Most people will avoid going into this kind of relationship.Originally posted by sooks:I just want to know if there are any other people who are in the same situation as me.
1) huge age gap
2) dating man with kid
There is nothing wrong with the age gap, (infact that is quite a good match) nor dating a man with kid if he is already divorvcedOriginally posted by sooks:His daughter and her mum live in Australia. He flies down to see her ever so often.
I get on very well with his daughter, as we try to see each other as much as we can squeeze in. I've only met the ex once, and it was pretty awkward, but she was nice.
My issue isn't even about the ex or anything personal against the daughter. It's that my life now revolves around him, which revolves around his daughter. I don't feel like I have any say in our life plans, because ultimately, I can never underwrite any decisions that he makes (which of course, will involve the daughter). I feel like I have little control over how the next few years pans out.
I just want to know if there are any other people who are in the same situation as me.
1) huge age gap
2) dating man with kid
This hasn't really got much to do with whether he is "angmoh" or not. I accept that we have different value systems.
Like most people on the forum, many find that this is a "strange" relationship that I am in. I am not because with him because he is an "angmoh" or what else. I am genuinely love and have deep respect for him, it is just that circumstances are tough.
You will end up exactly like her one day. The old man has obviously hurt her badly to make her want to move to Australia. He can do it to her, he can do it to you as well. You better wake up now before it is too late. Don't end up another victim like her. But I think its already too late for you now, from the way you write.Originally posted by sooks:And also, I was not the cause of their breakup.
They had broken up 4 years before I met him.
His ex used to live here as well.
But after the breakup, she took the kids and went back to Australia.
Ya, as an Auntie, have you thought about the other Auntie (his ex) being hurt and sad about your intrusion. Have a kind heart lah, afterall, all you aunties are women, should understand each other, a woman happiness is another woman heartbreak, do you understand, you do it, it will fall on you one day.Originally posted by norm:You will end up exactly like her one day. The old man has obviously hurt her badly to make her want to move to Australia. He can do it to her, he can do it to you as well. You better wake up now before it is too late. Don't end up another victim like her. But I think its already too late for you now, from the way you write.
how do you know the reason for the divorce when the TS didnt mentioned anything?Originally posted by norm:You will end up exactly like her one day. The old man has obviously hurt her badly to make her want to move to Australia. He can do it to her, he can do it to you as well. You better wake up now before it is too late. Don't end up another victim like her. But I think its already too late for you now, from the way you write.
Hmm, either you are really that naive at 26 or ignorant of lives. What makes you think you are so special in this world that you are the only female that dates overage man with children? You said you 'genuinely' love him but I seriously doubt so. If you really 'genuinely' in love with this overage with a child guy than what has his number has to do with your decision or desire to be with him. Let's try an analyze a little further in your unfounded doubts about this relationship.Originally posted by sooks:His daughter and her mum live in Australia. He flies down to see her ever so often.
I get on very well with his daughter, as we try to see each other as much as we can squeeze in. I've only met the ex once, and it was pretty awkward, but she was nice.
My issue isn't even about the ex or anything personal against the daughter. It's that my life now revolves around him, which revolves around his daughter. I don't feel like I have any say in our life plans, because ultimately, I can never underwrite any decisions that he makes (which of course, will involve the daughter). I feel like I have little control over how the next few years pans out.
I just want to know if there are any other people who are in the same situation as me.
1) huge age gap
2) dating man with kid
This hasn't really got much to do with whether he is "angmoh" or not. I accept that we have different value systems.
Like most people on the forum, many find that this is a "strange" relationship that I am in. I am not because with him because he is an "angmoh" or what else. I am genuinely love and have deep respect for him, it is just that circumstances are tough.