i'm also learning manual currently, also having some fear but it gets better each time.Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:thanks for all the respondit made me feel better.
but the fear is still there, what is this i am feeling ? i can't put it into words, once in the car i am almost blank, on the main road i am as good as a block.
wad can i do to get a hold of myself ? slap myself or sth ?
Lol, drive till u get bored.. thats the way man,,im serious, i did that..Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:i am currently learning how to drive, manual. i am taking the test as a private.
and i get all nervous and really tense whenever my driving instructor brings me to the main road.
my call don't stall or diffcutly in gear changing when inside the kallang area where there isn't a lot of cars.
this is totally different when he bring me to the main road, i get so nervous my call stalls, my gear change is no longer smooth, and i get so tense my hands and feets are trembling. my mind is at almost blank.
my instructors also gives out command like machine gun, look here , there brake clutch, accelactor, thne change gear.
i know driving is not easy, and to be a good + safe driver is even harder.
i fear running into somebody because of my lousy driving.
i fear causing trouble to other road users.
i don't want to cause a jam on the road.
by the way this is only the second lesson i had, i am really scare of drving with so many cars, when ever that happens i just go blank.
can somebody give me advise or share similar experience with me ? how do i overcome it ? will more lessons cure ?
Great to hear such a responsible comment from an aspiring driver. I hope this perception does not change after you obtain your license.Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:i am just trying to protect myself as well as others.
i am here trying to find a way to overcome the fear, because i want to drive.
Since when I joking ?Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:wah serious ?
but thanks jojo it is very nice advice.![]()
Now, thats why i said u shud have funOriginally posted by jojobeach:Since when I joking ?
You are most welcome.
I know exactly how you feel about driving lah.
Because I am worst student than you ok ?
Second lesson on the road, my instructor fired me.
Yes, he sacked me, his student.
Why ?
Because I was so scared when approaching a red light.
Instead of stepping on brakes to slow down, I ram the accelerator.
Then I freaked out , released my hands from the steering wheel to cover my eyes !!!!!
Lucky my instructor pull the manual brake.
Now I drive like this
http://youtube.com/watch?v=MdqviG9pZ4w
If you cannot see the vid. go to youtube.com and search for "Power Wheels Mustang GT "
Aiya, Uncle, u scare scare, dun drive lor, like me, take MRT, taxis, buses, save alot of money and also dun hv to worry about what COE, ERP, road tax, summons, offences, maintenance, TP, accident, die, handicap, half die, car scratches, car dents, carparks coupon, etc etc etc.....Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:you guys are right i should be so scare, since i am L plate.
i really hope to be a skillful and responsible driver.
even when i pass, i hope to go on the road to spread good road manners.
i have seen how ppl lost their lives in a road accident, thus i want to prevent that.
fear i guess it is common, so with more practice i can over come it.
thanks for all the encouraging msg.![]()
i won't be able to bring anyone around at my wish.Originally posted by angel7030:Aiya, Uncle, u scare scare, dun drive lor, like me, take MRT, taxis, buses, save alot of money and also dun hv to worry about what COE, ERP, road tax, summons, offences, maintenance, TP, accident, die, handicap, half die, car scratches, car dents, carparks coupon, etc etc etc.....
Somemore if you take public transport, someone drive for you, you can see here and there, look at handsome boys and sleep ZZzzzzzZZZzzzzz
try some stretching before driving.Originally posted by venny:wah u all sound so pro in driving. everytime i drive, my legs get numb after awhile...![]()
ha ha but normal drivers don't horn me, only taxi drivers hor me like mad dog barking. they really CANNOT wait hor ?Originally posted by anfieldheroez:Its normal for you to be scared. I was scared too man. My engine stall and behind me the car horn,my instructor luckily one happening fellow, bugger lower down window and point at that fellow,fuking funny.
But slowly,i now can drive smoothly.My engine hasn't installed for so long already during lessons already.My test is next month though and i am very prepared.If you scared while moving off from stop,i tell u what to do.
1.While having stopped,for the first few times,after you have stepped in full clutch,release slowly with the other foot pressing the break pedal,release slowly,very slowly till you see your gear stick vibrating.
2.Then when ready to move off,let go your breaks pedal and press your gas pedal till rpm arn 1.5 or smth,try not to look at the metre.
3.Once you press gas,slowly let go your clutch.Do it gently.Then while you press for more gas let go your clutch,don't let go 1 shot.
No need to hurry,remember you are L plate,ppl horn at you, you have every right to stick a middle finger at their faces.
As for your u-turn right, relax. Simply wait for all the cars to move off. You have every right to do so. I think you are afraid people horn at you only. Screw em man. But just take it easy.
don't care la.Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:ha ha but normal drivers don't horn me, only taxi drivers hor me like mad dog barking. they really CANNOT wait hor ?
aiyah...LJ la..where got such thing....i horned at pple one during one of my lessons at outside road my instructor also nv say anything....Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:
L plate cannot horn ppl, not quailfiled enough to do so![]()
indeed...when i started my driving lessons on Jun my first lesson...i was quite scared to accelerate cos scared of banging other cars....also cos that time i cant coordinate clutch well with acclerator....but then with more lessons and with more practices on outside road....i become more ''daring'' to drive...to the extent of instructor having to tell me to slow down.....slow down...Originally posted by ditzy:More lessons will definitely cure.You need to loosen up.
When people see the "L" plate, they keep 5 car lengths from you, so relax.
Go ahead and burn the clutch, after all, you paid for it. Manual cars only need replace one clutch.
indeed...but without their ''inconsiderate'' nature....do u think we be able to get to tour location fast?...ironic isn't it?Originally posted by stellazio:don't care la.
taxi drivers are one of the most inconsiderate around.
majority of em are impatient and reckless.
u female?? if u r, dun drive...Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:i am currently learning how to drive, manual. i am taking the test as a private.
and i get all nervous and really tense whenever my driving instructor brings me to the main road.
my call don't stall or diffcutly in gear changing when inside the kallang area where there isn't a lot of cars.
this is totally different when he bring me to the main road, i get so nervous my call stalls, my gear change is no longer smooth, and i get so tense my hands and feets are trembling. my mind is at almost blank.
my instructors also gives out command like machine gun, look here , there brake clutch, accelactor, thne change gear.
i know driving is not easy, and to be a good + safe driver is even harder.
i fear running into somebody because of my lousy driving.
i fear causing trouble to other road users.
i don't want to cause a jam on the road.
by the way this is only the second lesson i had, i am really scare of drving with so many cars, when ever that happens i just go blank.
can somebody give me advise or share similar experience with me ? how do i overcome it ? will more lessons cure ?