You gotta practise lah, but dont practise now, O levels come first. It's like strengthening your left arm so you can have same vol. with your right. It's natural that your right hand is more comfortable and easier to control, so practise to have that same feeling for your left too.Originally posted by HideX:How do u make sure tat ur left hand make the same
vol. as the rite ??When I m doing the single parariddle.. the
timing doesnt sound rite... is it becox of the difference of
power of the hand ??Wat is a upbeat ?? I tot it is the beat where u
raised ur arm and strike it...
Yes, ghost notes are soft taps on the snare. It requires an moderate amount of independence and control of your left hand to execute ghost-notes properly.Originally posted by HideX:I dun really noe how to ply a ghost stroke...
Iz it hitting the snare veri lightly ?? Like a sound produce
by tapping the snare wif ur fingerIs the ghost note same as the sound of the grace stroke
of the flam rudiment ?
Wow...u noe ur stuffs well...Originally posted by Seventh_Signs:hmmm see that some guys are interested in drumming.. actually yamaha lesson is not that bad but well u need to find time to practices yourself.. learn alot more by your self 1 hour of drumming a week wont get u anywhere.. i can say u dont need drum pad or a drum set to practices from the beginning... last time i practice by playing on the pillow... u may say it dont have bounce but u actually will learn to control and able to catch the bounce it help alot ...
paras is R L R R L R L L double stroke is RR LL RR LL
triples is RLR LRL single is RLRLRLRL just practise this few stroke well first lah ... that what u need to know for stroking for time been ..
as from drumming.. well u need to condinate with your .. R L hand and well for beginning R leg.. the left leg can start abit slower but it is good to practice too as it help to strengthen your leg..
yah practise pad can get in yamaha.. it can structure like a drum set..but well there is not sound.. if u are rice enough you can get the DTX electronic percussion system ... by yamaha ... those percussion freak pad in arcahe type lah but of course u play it like a drum set.. but it is good for a 3 room flat aleast u put on your headset or .. on the speaker to the volume that is ok .. else u sure get complaint if u get a drum set...
i myself owns a recording custom by yamaha .. but end up have to sound proof my room ...
the best is really pick up lesson from someone .. or join some church/temple association who has good drummer and get pointers lah it is quite hard to start by yourself without the right guideline.. but if u have the determination sure u can do it one.. can always self learn.. listen to more songs .. the older songs are better as the drums playing have more feeling in it...
HaHAOriginally posted by Hawaiian Koa:You gotta practise lah, but dont practise now, O levels come first. It's like strengthening your left arm so you can have same vol. with your right. It's natural that your right hand is more comfortable and easier to control, so practise to have that same feeling for your left too.
RLRR LRLL - single para. you gotta make sure that every stroke is even and of the same pace. try to play slow and relax, then slowly build up in tempo.
Upbeat refers to the &'s in an 8th note pattern. You know in 8th note- 1 & 2 & 3 & 4 &. Downbeat is the 1 2 3 and 4's. Backbeat is the 2 and 4's.
I've explained the terms upbeat and downbeat before. I think that up and down movements are upstrokes and downstrokes, not too sure bout that.Originally posted by HideX:HaHA
I really haf nothing to do other than drumming...hehe
I practise abit onli lah... need to take a break from studying mah...
So dun woorrry...though I m a little worri myself..heh
Still dunn understand the upbeat...Is upbeat making a hit on the snare ?? Or it is a moment when u rise ur stick readying for the downbeat ??
How mux is a metrometer (duno the correct spelling)
You can listen to Dave matthew's band. the drummer, carter beauford is one of the best around. their music is a fusion of pop, funk and jazz.Originally posted by HideX:Can recommend me some album other than Rock?? Ani type of music oso can ?? I haf never listen to Jazz b4 ?
Can get them from tower records ??Originally posted by Hawaiian Koa:You can listen to Dave matthew's band. the drummer, carter beauford is one of the best around. their music is a fusion of pop, funk and jazz.
other great fusion bands are Niacin and vital information. some jazz materials are hard to get online, sadly.
Actually, some chinese pop records have a very solid drum tracks. like that latest nicholas tse album was recorded by my instructor. jay chou's album have some very groovy drum tracks too. Stef sun has a damn good drummer too, check it out.
Of course you can. Just scout around the jazz section of HMV and Tower records.Originally posted by HideX:Can get them from tower records ??
No question at the moment.. I will post it here if I haf prob...Originally posted by Hawaiian Koa:Of course you can. Just scout around the jazz section of HMV and Tower records.
Oh, and by the way, good luck for tomorrow.
Do U consider urself as a gd drummer ???Originally posted by StQwerty:are sure this is the correct way to drum?
if u didnt specify, i thought that is the way your brain works. lol
Turn it on, switch to the tempo you want. then play along to the click.Originally posted by HideX:How does a metronome works ??
I planning to buy one after 'O'
Ok...thksOriginally posted by Seventh_Signs:play more practise more.. listen to more.. learn to control your stroke... fine tune yourself .. can try tape it and hear your stroke to know the different... ghost notes can be play with any hand.. but i can say more on the left hand cause your hand if play a drum your left hand will hit the snare ..see how u put it in lah .... learn the basic first lah .. those extra like ghost notes can do it and explore yourself in future when u familarlise with your drum playing..
the important about drum is know your basic... know how to play and hit your stroke clean, sharp on timing and make sure your timing dont go fast and slow.when u are 100 percent sure about that then u go on to more progessive stuff... drum are like the heart beat of the music .. with out the beat u dont have music feeling... must have the 'feeling' in play drums...
what i can say is even u are very good very clear can do many tricks with your strokes but lack of the feeling your music wont sound nice too ... might as well get a drum machine and program the beat into the music right? ... try to listen to yourself control your stroke, practise the basic before u learn how to fly.. it will help u alot in your playing..![]()
In other word..Originally posted by HideX:Hmmmxx.. How u ply an open hihat ??? I totally confused..
These is two ways to ply it rite ?? One: release n step the
pedal.. Two: smash the hihat with the stick while releasing
the pedal ??
You dont actually play with an OPEN hi-hat cos that will only drown out much of the other parts of the drumset.Originally posted by HideX:In other word..
How a open hihat is plyed ??
Ohhh, I've met very few females in the drumming-game.Originally posted by shirurinu:Hiyee~!
Nice to hear you guys chatting about drumming. I am very interested in drumming and was inspired by Dir en grey's drummer Shinya whose idol was X Japan's Yoshiki. Haha
HideX: We might have some connections haha.
I ever went to Contempo Pop music School (The yamaha at PS) to take the basics of drumming for 2 months. What you can really learn there is actually reading of notes, especially for those who do not have any music knowledge from young...
Actually the course last for 6 mths.. the fundamentals... however, i stopped. Coz at that point of time, my work is taking too much of my time. Secondly, i do not have friends that were into this sort of things.... I would very much like to go jamming... but.. for my standard.. nahzzz
My instructor in my school every told us before, that you should practise your co-ordination 1st. Only if you can co-ordinate, then you can play well and invent your own style. Well.. the fundamentals are basically co-ordination, reading of notes, and beat. Thats roughly what i learn there. After that i seldom practise cause i have no friends whom i can ask... and practise with.
However, thats not an excuse la.. i know that
but i really like the way sound is produced when you drum. And its a good way of releasing your emotions.
Nice .. really nice to know that you guys are really into it! Ganbatte!!
Anyway, i'm 20 f. Nice to meet you guys