I am following your friend's foot step.Originally posted by relgn:yup, not worth changing course liao. It very hard for poly student to change to the course they like. Especially changing to another poly. One of my friend gone through such experience when he change course last year.
He got 13 points for L1R4 O level. And no poly is willing to accept him because they said he already given a chance when he first enter poly. The system work this way, if u are under JAE u are quite safe. But poly half way change course are considered DAE liao. Even my friend got 13 point, he couldnt even get a engineering course in RP. Cos those JAE (those just finished 'O' or quit 'A' half way) are priority. But fortunate for him, he got his course only the day before school term start.
Btw he went to the extend of meeting MP, writing to Edu minister and his sec principal to seek for help.
So TS better dun change course. Good luck then!
Originally posted by PharaohRayze:
Greetings everyone.
This is my first post and upon reading this thread I think I'd better register and engage myself in the forums.
I am experiencing dilemma about post-secondary education too.
I don't know if it was a really big mistake when I withdrew from Temasek Polytechnic's Mechatronics course after 3 months of study. I have a strong passion for aviation since I was little, particularly being a pilot. Since my L1R4 is average and couldn't qualify for other polytechnic's aeronautical/aerospace courses, I took up Mechatronics in TP as there is an option offered in Aerospace Engineering in the second-year, but only a handful will qualify.
I came to school without any clue of what Mechatronics is, but I kept on telling it that I need time to adapt to changes in a polytechnic education and perhaps it took time for me to like the course. Soon, I discovered I went to school a zombie, not having any interest and just shut my senses in lectures
and I knew I need to do something about it urgently.
I discovered that engineering is just not me, but management is what I want. Since the aviation industry and the travel and tourism is booming. I thought that managing airports and airlines or the IRs and hotels will be good since it is in demand. Physics, Engineering Maths and those mechanical things are not my cup of tea.
Now I'm currently waiting for the next intake after withdrawing. I have two choices:
1. Republic Poly
(However, I fear the PBL and I have no clue what it is)
2. Millenia Institute
I really think that I need and want a diploma rather than an A-Level Cert and I like the polytechnic lifestyle.
I hope to get readmitted to a poly, preferably Republic because it has both courses of interest that I am planning to study but I need someone to shed some light in the PBL system. Furthermore, it is just two bus stops away from my house, unlike TP where I have to leave my house 2 hours before school.
What are the chances of getting another chance into a poly since the JAE are given priority?
I would like to know of anyone who faced the same situation as me.
Many Thanks.
And I miss schooling
I got the EXACT same problem as you!Originally posted by Agenda:But I'll be wasting a good $2,300 for 1 entire year.
Plus there is a chance that I will be asked to go into NS immediately.
I am in TP ITO.
I thought it was a good course. Actually, I never had the intention to get in that course. It was my 11th choice. It was a back-up choice. I actually wanted to go into architectual but I missed by 1 point.
Now I find that, Although the course is easy, It's not exactly what I want to learn. I wanna learn business studies if given the chance. I regretted not putting BIT as one of my choice though I may not be even given entry.
I've just finished my first semester.
I do intend to talk to my careperson about it. It's not that I can't cope with it. It's just that my interest does not lie in IT.
I wanna go to University. Because only then, I will be able to pursue what I really want. Which is business. But I don't want to study private. I wanna go into either NUS, SMU or NTU. At least the cert is recognised.
But my first semester's GPA already destroyed the chances. I got 3.19
Now getting into Uni isa big competition. I would probably need a 3.8 to be able to even compete with other applicants. Sigh..
I wish to transfer to a course which is more business-oriented. But time is running out for me.
he ended in NP, eletrical and computer eng (ECE)Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I am following your friend's foot step.
So in the end, where he ended up?
I prefer solitude, so generally I have lesser friends than othersOriginally posted by alterdesire:Don't ever change your course halfway!!! Its the stupidest decision you can ever make!!! This is from a person who managed to successfully change his course.
It was horrible...While his friend moved on to 2 year he had to restart from first year with people much younger then him and he could not make any good friends because of this.
And the worst part is Just like you he want from a easier course to a harder course and now his As and Bs have become Cs and Ds.
Now he constantly cries thinking of all the good times he had in his pervious diploma and how all the efforts he placed on his projects just become a pile of waste
BTW if you really want to go to uni. I think you should drop what you are doing and go to milliena institude or something. To get into the U with a diploma you really got to be the cream of the crop
Hi. You can call me Darkness/Darkie/Duckie.Originally posted by PharaohRayze:Hmmm. I do believe that time will tell everything in my case.
I can apply for a readmission to a poly and see what unfolds.
During the time I withdrew from my course in Temasek Poly, I knew that I couldn't change course because I see no hope in passing the exams.
I knew nothing about the modules.
I believe that you will learn better if you have a passion for it and will be able to get it fast, hopefully.
Thanks for the links Darkness_Hacker. I read in the RP forums that you are withdrawing from the poly? Why and what course did you pursue in RP?
I let you think what you wish to think. If you have a mindset like that of every particular person in this world studying in a polytechnic, I pity you. I come school for the right reasons and you assume it's for girls and fashion? What makes you think I'm a wannabe? It's my education that moulds my future, the length of my hair will not bother you nor my future. For your information I don't have shoulder length hair like what you assume.Originally posted by LOL @ SGF KIA:see chiobu only and you get really self conscious. So what's the point going into business? I suggest you cut your shoulder-length hair that resembles a typical engineering course xiao boi boi and maybe, yes maybe, someday you would be able to marry a Singaporean and not a vietnam wife.
So meanwhile, continue your course and do what you are best at, a wannabe. LOLOLOL @ YOU
LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOriginally posted by PharaohRayze:I let you think what you wish to think. If you have a mindset like that of every particular person in this world studying in a polytechnic, I pity you. I come school for the right reasons and you assume it's for girls and fashion? What makes you think I'm a wannabe? It's my education that moulds my future, the length of my hair will not bother you nor my future. For your information I don't have shoulder length hair like what you assume.
Darkie, yes, I agree with you. Fight for our dreams till death.
Are you retaking your O Levels as a private candidate this year?
I might consider private but is it well recognized?
Plus the fees is the another thing.
shoulder-length hair?Originally posted by LOL @ SGF KIA:see chiobu only and you get really self conscious. So what's the point going into business? I suggest you cut your shoulder-length hair that resembles a typical engineering course xiao boi boi and maybe, yes maybe, someday you would be able to marry a Singaporean and not a vietnam wife.
So meanwhile, continue your course and do what you are best at, a wannabe. LOLOLOL @ YOU