i already apologised. =/Originally posted by teraexa:You were wrong in browsing through her handphone.
But in any case, DO NOT sign the contract/statement. It only serves to indict you in any future legal cases.
An apology is the way to go.
And she is just being anal. Do not help her in the future.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:it is clear from this Act that a handphone is not a Computer. So how can she sue you?
hmm down here it says this:
[b]Interpretation
2. —(1) In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires —
"computer" means an electronic, magnetic, optical, electrochemical, or other data processing device, or a group of such interconnected or related devices, performing logical, arithmetic, or storage functions, and includes any data storage facility or communications facility directly related to or operating in conjunction with such device or group of such interconnected or related devices, but does not include —
(a) an automated typewriter or typesetter;
(b) a portable hand-held calculator;
(c) a similar device which is non-programmable or which does not contain any data storage facility; or
(d) such other device as the Minister may, by notification in the Gazette, prescribe;[/b]
ha.. i thought that Act seems to say that a handphone can be considered a computer..Originally posted by norm:it is clear from this Act that a handphone is not a Computer. So how can she sue you?
the Act does not mention anything on handphone. Why do u think it includes handphone? Its not the Handphone Misuse Act leh.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:ha.. i thought that Act seems to say that a handphone can be considered a computer..
anyone can confirm?
because its an electronic data processing device device which performs logical and arthimetic functions and store data?Originally posted by norm:the Act does not mention anything on handphone. Why do u think it includes handphone? Its not the Handphone Misuse Act leh.
oic. Then it may include handphone.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:because its an electronic, device which performs functions and store data?
she gonna kill you or wat???Originally posted by dumbdumb!:The next day, she called me up again, and said she was still feeling pissed, and she wants to protect herself, and want me to sign a contract stating my misdeed, she quoted some computer misuse act law and said I broke it (she's a law graduate from TP), and if i divulge any information, she will take criminal action against me. If I don't sign the contract, she will go to the police, or magistrate court and I will have everything to lose. She won't even need to pay a single cent for lawyer fees etc.
yeah legal actionOriginally posted by BaByBoY:she gonna kill you or wat???
u mean legal action is it??
when talking abt law it`s better to be careful ya
if she`s a law student and saying abt taking CRIMINAL action against u then u luff u heads off.
ha... i kinda coined that word.. because odex using the same method now.Originally posted by WinnieThePooh:... Very misleeding. Dont turn odex into a verb.
x 2Originally posted by freedom4ever:she law student also cannot be lawyer in singapore. diploma nia then talk big. i suggest u dun sign the letter. if i'm u, i would have took the phone back and smash it in front of her and tell her "oops, i lost it somewhere". anyway, she already lost the phone. this type of people dun have as a friend better.![]()
I think she is just very afraid that u will leak out something. She is making u sign the agreement to scare u, so as to make sure that u will not dare to leak out anything.Originally posted by norm:there may be something very private in the hp that makes her very afraid of leaking out. She thinks you have seen it.
Put yourself in her shoes, and try to figure out what is the next step she will take to protect her privacy from leaking out.
I doubt she will really want to sue u. If she had wanted to, she would have done so. She just want to ensure that u dont leak out anything that will potentially harm her.Originally posted by norm:I think she is just very afraid that u will leak out something. She is making u sign the agreement to scare u, so as to make sure that u will not dare to leak out anything.
even if it is private, the moment you lost your phone, it is no longer your privacy anymore. anyone can have access to that damn phone and whoever holding it can read whatever inside. Because, you already lost it and might not have a chance to get back again.Originally posted by norm:there may be something very private in the hp that makes her very afraid of leaking out. She thinks you have seen it.
Put yourself in her shoes, and try to figure out what is the next step she will take to protect her privacy from leaking out.
if this is recognised by the law, then ok lor. but i don't think it is. and i think because i told her that its childish etc.. so she's determined to prove that she can have it her way.Originally posted by freedom4ever:even if it is private, the moment you lost your phone, it is no longer your privacy anymore. anyone can have access to that damn phone and whoever holding it can read whatever inside. Because, you already lost it and might not have a chance to get back again.