are u sure it's not one sided?Originally posted by Zarks:Marriage with same family name.. forbidden ?
I and this gal.. we liked each other but the prob... same family name.. sigh
Are your surnames uncommon ?Originally posted by Zarks:Marriage with same family name.. forbidden ?
I and this gal.. we liked each other but the prob... same family name.. sigh
how to retrace ancestry?Originally posted by jojobeach:Are your surnames uncommon ?
If it is uncommon, I think you need to retrace your ancestry to make sure.
Genetically, your off springs may be at risk.
You can marry her, but you must reconsider if both of you are ever going to have kids of your own.
thats what im afriad of... the kidss.. will it really affected ?Originally posted by jojobeach:Are your surnames uncommon ?
If it is uncommon, I think you need to retrace your ancestry to make sure.
Genetically, your off springs may be at risk.
You can marry her, but you must reconsider if both of you are ever going to have kids of your own.
True also...Originally posted by hisoka:actually if you are worried about such things, even different surnames also should be worried.
remember we are in a society that we take the male parent's name normally. this means that its possible diff surname but the grandmothers or even the wife is related to your family
Wow lah !!! You all \already the how many generation in Singapore already .... !!! Waht is the chance of your ancestor back in china is related ? even related - so many generation already, it is ok ...Originally posted by Zarks:i know. just wondering if it is possible.. need to do more research ma... yea we confess each other but this prob is worrying her and myself too cuz we are not that young oledi la
hm ..Mayb i n her worry too much bout this.. yea, i only need to know if theres really possible for same surname to get married and have child.. seems like its not impossibleOriginally posted by huiz:i have a colleague who has the same surname as her hubby and they got married.
I feel peaceOriginally posted by hisoka:if i remember correctly, what i read last time was as long as its more than thrice or 4 times removed the odds of genetic problems is almsot the same normal unrelated.
Ccan't gurantee if i remember correctly though. but if its related like 1000 years ago just forget it
hm.. different dialect diff blood typeOriginally posted by 798:do u check whether both of u having same blood type? same dialect group? if so, good luck to u!
Then you guys should be safe. Don't let it bother you too much. THe thought of a woman having same surname as her husband sounds odd, though.Originally posted by Zarks:hm.. different dialect diff blood type
Wanna be safest, go do a DNA test lor........Originally posted by Zarks:True also...
U made me think outside the box.. what u said is true,.. diffrerent surnames might also b related to us..
anyone please teach me how to trace my ancestry ?
I think he's more worried abotu the kids having genetic problems rather than superstitionOriginally posted by :Shouldn't be a problem anymore..... What age are we in now? Otherwise, those surnamed Lee ma si liao - so many of them around!![]()
Otherwise, dun marry lor - cohabiting is just as good, no![]()
Both of you should go for genetic testing to avoid this kind of tragedy.Originally posted by Zarks:thats what im afriad of... the kidss.. will it really affected ?