Chapter 9
Today, I was worked to my bone; I finished some logistic backend work and left the store one and a half hour later. Though itÂ’s claimable monetary-wise, but nevertheless laborious. Alvin urged me to leave earlier, but itÂ’s not my character to leave someone in a lurch with all the burden of work.
In that sense, all is equal when it comes to official work; both man and woman.
I came out of the station and decided to steal a quick puff. None of my immediate family member knew of my smoking habit, but even if they do, actually, it doesn’t really matter. Mum did suspect, but I merely dismissed it as friends’ cigarette smoke tainting the smell of my clothes. The gist of my tales is always about others and my naïve mum always buys my story, no matter how bizarre.
‘POW!’
I was flailed by a wicked force, lost my balance and sending me directly to the floor, chin first. A deep abrasion lined my chin and streaks of bright red blood painted my palm when I touched the wounds.
A maddening rage saturated my mind as I was determined to see who the assailants were. Before I could turned my head around, I felt a kick blow towards my right, followed by several other kicking and stomping in similar fashion. I rolled about in a defensive stance and amid of being battered by a group of approximately six girls, I caught a familiar face among the aggressors.
‘FUCK YOU CHANEL!’
‘Sia lan eh, le zhe bai si liao wa ka li gong…CCB. (Bitch, you are dead shit now. Fuck.)’
I saw Chanel raising a hand signal and the kicking ceased. Before I could recover, Chanel lunged forward and reached for my tresses, yanking it up with all her might. An unspeakable pain coursed through my body as I screamed in utmost pain and her other unfettered hand went across my face in one tight slap. As if possessed by a crazed demon, I threw myself towards her and brought her down together with me. The falling impact, with me above her, literally crushed her breasts and stomach as her eyes widened with the unanticipated sudden throe of pain. I took the opportunity and grabbed two generous handful of her hair and pulled in two separate directions.
Chanel let out a pitch-breaking yelp, mixed with some Hokkien profanities.
Then I felt many pairs of hands on my back, desperately trying to pull me away from Chanel. In midst of that chaotic confrontation, I instinctively executed a deadly elbow-blow to this petite girl on my right and the blow hit squarely into her chest. Then she backed to the nearest wall, with her hands holding tightly to her chest and a face full of agony.
One plus sized girl sunk her fingernails into the skin of my right arm and drew southwards. I tried to fend her off, but her other three friends kept raining blows on me and I had to use my other hand to parry their attacks. Blood was all over my body and as far as I know, those were my own blood.
Chanel got up furiously and launched a foot into my stomach and I literally sprawled to the same wall as petite girl. Then conveniently, petite girl tried to pull my hair, only to be met by my fist smashing into her face. Drops of blood spurted disgusting and I could see her crying as she was completely disabled by me.
As if enraged by my reprisal, the remainders regrouped and assaulted me once again. This time, their hits became more frenzied and I couldnÂ’t retaliate anymore as I was engulfed by the pain of my injuries, helplessly fend off their attacks. Their beating persisted relentlessly and the ordeal seemed like eternity. I almost felt that I could just die instantaneously and today could be the day I meet my maker.
‘OEI!!!!!!!’
It was a familiar voice and the next thing I know, I saw Rick, fighting his way to where I was. I could see from the corner of my injured eyes that he was trying to push the girls away and getting hit by a couple of them as a result.
‘Eh siao lian eh, zarbo sio pa, le chap simi? (Hey kid, girls’ fighting here, what’s your problem?)
Then it dawned on me that there were actually two guys keeping watch. Due to RickÂ’s timely intervention, the girls stopped their beatings. Peering through my partially covered eyes with blood and sweat, I had the insane urge to hug Rick and cry in his embrace.
But it doesnÂ’t seem to be over yet.
Rick stood in front of me, with his protective arms outstretched.
‘You guys are fucking lawless!’
‘Siao eh, wa ka le ho seh, le ka wa ‘Fuuck’ simi law…wa xiong le si beh tio liao lor…’ (Hey kid, I talk to you nicely and you fucked me back. I think you need to be taught a lesson).
The bald guy who responded to Rick is heavily tattooed, probably signified the street gang heÂ’s from. He towered at an approximate height of 180cm tall and had massive built. He cracked his knuckles and flexed his neck menacingly as he inched maliciously towards Rick, like a tiger advancing towards a wolf.
ThereÂ’s no way Rick could take him on without certain death.
Inside me of me, I prayed for divine assistance.
Rick stood his ground.
(To be continued...)