Chapter 14
The scene from the roof is amazing: Below us, I could see hundreds of brightly lighted homes with people walking passed their windows randomly. And above us were myriad of universal sky jewels, gleaming and sparkling with quiet joy.
I led Rick to a secluded corner, into a small spacing in between the water tanks and there was enough space for two people to sit around comfortably.
Then, I could see imaginary question marks hovering above his head.
‘How did you know this place?’
‘Whenever my dad gets aggressive and threatens to hit me, I would always race along the stairs, go up to the roof and hide in here.’
‘But it’s so dangerous here. Lightning could strike any time.’
‘You know Rick, we are so different,’ I commented causally as I peered through an aperture and reveled in the scenery on the other end, ‘the place you thought as dangerous is in fact my only safe haven in this hellish place’.
Rick paused and considered my words - it was as if he is putting himself in my shoes and thought for a moment.
‘So what do you want to tell me Rick?’ I turned to him and my tone become serious.
‘I am going army real soon...’
‘Yes, you should, it’s about time I guess,’ I murmured.
‘…And after that, I will be leaving for New Zealand to further my studies…’
My heart sank when I heard this; I think Rick sensed my disappointment because I thought I reacted pretty blatantly. Somehow, in his presence, I cannot fetter by emotions because I cannot concealed myself to someone who has seen all gamut of my dramatic emotions.
Someone who have witness it all, albeit he will wonÂ’t be able to comprehend.
He eyes started avoiding mine and there was an awkward moment of silence. Tucking my lips inwardly, I tried to shape a smile simultaneously and outstretched my hands.
‘Congratulation, I wish you all the best.’
Rick stared at my hands momentarily, before looking at me. I tilted my heads a little towards my right and raised my brow, tacitly imploring him to reciprocate my wishes. Then he did something completely random; he dig his pockets for something and placed it into my hands.
I opened up my palm and saw an Agnes B dog tag with his name on it.
‘Just in case you forget who I am; this will jog your memory a little.’
Then, I leaned over and kissed his lips.
‘Thanks for everything…really…’ I whispered into his ears as I clutched the gift fondly towards my heart, ‘Do you still remember you owe me one favor?’
‘Quite reluctantly, but yes…’ joked Rick. I could see his face flushing red from my affection.
‘Promise me that the day before you enlist into Army - date me out one last time. I want you to be my boyfriend for a day until midnight.’
(To be continued...)
Ah hoon, why?
why cannot be together when he go Army?
why pretend to be attached for one day nia?
silly..
but i guess that's why it's beautiful..
beautiful things dun last.
woohoo seems like chapter 15 will be fairytale-like
*crosses fingers*
They gotta treasure the 1 day of romance~
Yun, make it a little bit twisted leh....there's a sweeter and prettier and more compatible girl waiting for Rick.....
Chapter 15
The day has come; I spared all extra effort to doll myself pretty, insofar as I hoped he will remember me in my most gorgeous moments since the day we were friends. Almost two hours on make up, dressing up, touching up and last minutes changes before I was finally satisfied with my final outlook.
I know I am already a pretty thing; just that today, I felt I was at the zenith of my attractive powers.
Rick is so sweet; he sent me a snail mail that arrived yesterday, reminding me about the date today. He composed the letter himself and in the letter, there was this personalized drawing, done by him, of a cartoon representation of me.
I didnÂ’t know if I should laugh at my silly boy.
Checking that dad is still sleeping, I crept out of the house surreptitiously upon RickÂ’s SMS that he has arrived.
Rick was waiting placidly by his car; as I walked towards him, he gradually revealed a bouquet of flowers behind him – a bunch of white lilies.
‘You know, rose is so passé; so I got for you something else which look just as great.’
I was elated and received the flowers in an unspoken joy. Girls simply loved being showered with love and undivided attention.
I caught Rick gazing at me from the corner of my eyes – at least the time utilized for today’s occasion was indeed well spent.
‘You looked gorgeous today…’
‘Thanks…’
‘So as your boyfriend for the day, shouldn’t you at least kiss me before we leave for dinner?’
Bashfully, I reached over and pecked his cheek.
Rick drove to Intercontinental Hotel; apparently he has made reservation for the Japanese restaurant – KÔ. The ride down was pleasant and we had conversation like the days when he was my customer; it was as if nothing had ever happened.
‘Play that song - Toccate and Fugue. I want to listen… You know it was my first classical piece I heard in your car…’
I could see Rick smiling.
Shortly, we arrived. The Japanese restaurant had great ambience and there wasnÂ’t many people - then I uncovered the reason why when I flipped the menu.
Gosh! The price is insane!
‘Don’t worry about the cost – as your boyfriend for the day, I will take care of everything.’
‘Are you nuts? It’s so expensive here.’
‘We only have four more hours before your favour will cease to take effect; let’s just enjoy ourselves, shall we?’
I began to understand why I had fallen for him; Rick is so natural that he always makes you feel as natural and at ease as he is. Being with him is somewhat like being myself – it’s so rare to be able to know someone who is able to exude such aura that you find so comforting to be around with.
Our conversation continued, added with slight dosage of flirting and flippant remarks, like what you might overhear from a couple revelling in their honeymoon stage.
It was magical.
The food was divine – the good culinary skill contributed only one factor, more importantly, the other factor lies with whom you are dining with. I can safety say the same thing, even if our meal was chicken rice, with a plate of dao gey and a can of coke.
We lingered for hours until the restaurant had to conclude for the day. A quick check on time revealed that we probably only had one and the half hour left.
‘Let’s go somewhere where we can sit around…’ said Rick.
We ended up in Esplanade and sat around the open public area while watching the sea waves washed up the shores. As time advanced nearer to midnight, I actually felt depressed, even just by thinking about it. And when Rick was about to make some lame comments (about this other couple sitting on the other side); I lifted my finger to his lips and hushed him.
‘Let’s keep this final hour to ourselves, ok?’
I lay my head on his shoulder and closed my eyes. Albeit time is ticking as per normal, everything felt too fast. A dream; collapsing from the awakening of the nightÂ’s rest and emerging as consciousness; does it mean that I will return back to where I first came from?
(To be continued...)
Wa sad sia.. I thought i first... Lol..