So...........did u kicked his ass or...........did u go up to his door and got your ass drilled by him???Originally posted by mortified:Last night, was using my computer around 11pm when the family above mine started hammering. The sound was minimal at first, then it grew louder. If it's not enough, the guy started using a drill. I got damn irritated, open my window, shouted at him to stop or i'll kick his ass.
I took a 10m iron rod and shove it up his ass, i think at this moment he still has trouble getting it outOriginally posted by FireAndHell:So...........did u kicked his ass or...........did u go up to his door and got your ass drilled by him???![]()
well, if its just like that, i won't mind. But there's actually some misleading.Originally posted by New Creation:hmm, my advice is.. please cool down. I am sure this drilling incident is just an one-off event. Sometimes, shit just happens and some urgent home repairs is needed. In this case, it is unfortunate that the drilling has to occur after 10pm because like u said the dude cannot do it in the daytime when he has to drive his cab.
Like u also mentioned, the drilling took at most like 5mins ++? Common cut the fella some slack? Everyone is trying to make a living and also trying to be responsible in taking care of each's family. In this case, the dude could be the only male in his family capable to doing such DIY-repairs. So he still has to do it ard this time. Also the repair could be critical? Delaying it further might compromise his family's safety.
What is the loss to your family? 5-10minutes of sleep? Common..
you are one of the lucky ones, check out the rest of the replies, not many have considerate neighboursOriginally posted by dumbdumb!:gosh, i'd prolly do the same thing as you. but luckily my neighbours very considerate wan.![]()
duh... family's safety? unless u tell me it's the ceiling fan.. other wise, if he's wall collapse, it's HDB's responsibility.Originally posted by New Creation:hmm, my advice is.. please cool down. I am sure this drilling incident is just an one-off event. Sometimes, shit just happens and some urgent home repairs is needed. In this case, it is unfortunate that the drilling has to occur after 10pm because like u said the dude cannot do it in the daytime when he has to drive his cab.
Like u also mentioned, the drilling took at most like 5mins ++? Common cut the fella some slack? Everyone is trying to make a living and also trying to be responsible in taking care of each's family. In this case, the dude could be the only male in his family capable to doing such DIY-repairs. So he still has to do it ard this time. Also the repair could be critical? Delaying it further might compromise his family's safety.
What is the loss to your family? 5-10minutes of sleep? Common..
It's 10.30pm...Originally posted by Ferret:No loud noises after 10pm.
how the police proved that they really used bamboo poles to poke?Originally posted by aHGer^83:last time in my previous flat, my nehber downstairs very powderful...
after 11pm, they will use bamboo n poke their ceiling.. which is our floor.. poke n poke fo hrs... den got once, i dulan... i tell my mom.. she go down complain, they duwan to answer the door...
my sis go 1st floor see, their kitchen lights still on...
den call police... the younger ones duwan to open door.. let the ah ma open... but police no softheart.. go in n see... they really using the bamboo to poke...
ask them poke for wad.. they cannot answer.. they tio fine for making noise after 1030pm... hear the fine not cheap... then they even more cb...
got once, afternoon, my hse boh lang.. cos we all went shopping...
evening they come up to my mom n say we dirty their clothes...
they slapping their own face... my next door nehber porved no one was home in the afternoon...
they say wanna call police n sue us...
my mom say sue lor... scared ah... see who in the wrong...
they dun dare...
their clothes was dirty with mud...
there's no mud in my hse...![]()
cos tested mah...Originally posted by dumbdumb!:how the police proved that they really used bamboo poles to poke?
haha, if after 11pm, got marbles rolling how ah![]()
ooo. the kids were playing issit?Originally posted by aHGer^83:cos tested mah...
no kids.. all adults...Originally posted by dumbdumb!:ooo. the kids were playing issit?
maurizio13, if you have encounters like that then that will put you to a better understanding of the distress and disturbances we go through. Sometimes such cases can affect our work.Originally posted by maurizio13:I sympathise with your mom's headache, but suay suay he had to drill today.
If the timing allowed for noise is raised to 11:30pm, then you will bear with the noise?
Likewise, you don't have enough money to buy private property, else you will not have to take banging and clanging from neighbours.
I say live and let live, it's not everyday they do this, sometimes it's something pressing they have to settle.
I think common courtesy is needed, even if you confront him, do tell your neighbour in a polite manner, I won't bump into him in the lift, but chances of you bumping into him is very high and it's not very plesant to meet someone whom you have mutual bad feelings.
What will you do if your neighbour everyday or almost everyday bang loudly when we are sleeping?Originally posted by maurizio13:It's best to maintain cordial relationships between neighbours, else later end up like the Joo Chiat case, then big issue liao.
If it's a once in a blue moon kind of inconveniences, should be able to endure lah. Not like they are running a factory every night after 11pm.
There are people who just don't bother to be nice. We on our part make sure we are nice to them but if they continue to be nasty, we need to take action. I was pretty nice to the bloody old heck and her family, but they go on to be so nasty, to the extent of threatening me and using vulgarity on me.Originally posted by mortified:x2, and my mom was having a little bit of a headache as well, its crappy that they don't have enough money to buy private properties to bang and clang all they want, yet they won't show any consideration for their neighbours. Those people who disturbed your family and your mom should be condemned to hell
Originally posted by vertmonyet:haha, you lead me to a whole new level of "disturbance"
bro the flat i'm staying in for 1 and a half year much worse then your drilling.
but we didn't care less to call the police. we just beared the noise literally.
what did they do?
sounds of heavy things repeatingly dropping like bowling bowl or stamford raffles statue or some sort. [b]NO JOKE happened so many times that i scared our ceiling dont say crack ah, break even.
also got another occasion. 1 am in the morning. was sleeping and mom still outside in e living room. knock on door like nobody's business. i assume he no key go in and everyone's sound asleep inside.
no tai long lah my neighbour. Got alot more disturrbing things lah! heavy things keep dropping, sound is unimaginable, dragging of chairs and tables.
eventually one day my neighbour below called police cause her clothes got oil. what oil? instant noodles oil dropped from ontop. packets of instant noodles stuck to her clothes.
she know not us cos we are so close to each other.
apparently it's them above us. screw their effed up family. the police then said it's not us and them on top.
so far the worse noise is dragging of chairs. heavy ones.[/b]
i agree, you give them an inch, they want a metre(or something like that) so if we're not firm with them, they will definitely go overboardOriginally posted by qlqq9:There are people who just don't bother to be nice. We on our part make sure we are nice to them but if they continue to be nasty, we need to take action. I was pretty nice to the bloody old heck and her family, but they go on to be so nasty, to the extent of threatening me and using vulgarity on me.
There are just people who keep going on disturbing your peace, so be firm to deal with it. Ignore what those insensitive people said for they have no problems like us. It does not happen to them so they can say whatever make them sound so noble. When they have the problem see if they will say the same to themselves. At night it is quiet, and it is at night that even the slightest noise can be loud. Try to report to the police if they make noise from 10.30 pm onwards. The police has confirmed with me that they will step in to help if they make noise from 10.30 pm onwards.
YES! THAT WAS WHAT I'M SAYING! Mata won't bother, so say they kamlan on these kinda cases is pretty trueOriginally posted by DayDreamer.SG:I exp this shit almost every nite. I dont discriminate Indians, but the Indian family staying abv me seems to be doign some carpentry in the middle of the nite. Drilling,banging,dragging....
One day i passed by their house, i was surprise to see alot of Indian God alter in the house and im right.. they are doing some carpentry.. damn it.
Call Mata no use one.. Mata will just warn them only. somemore nt urgent case they will take quite long to attend.
One thing you do is use the embarass tactic. Go tell many people in your block and neighbourhood about the way they make noise to disturb you and family. In no time, words will spread to the market. IN market the nasty neighbour will get to hear the words and hope when they hear this they will stop their nuisance.Originally posted by mortified:i agree, you give them an inch, they want a metre(or something like that) so if we're not firm with them, they will definitely go overboard
Ya, I found that is the only tactic that works. If you call the police, they will take their sweet time to respond and at most they will only "advice" the neighbour to be considerate. If you call the Town Council, you might get a visit from IDIOTS like I did who asked me many times if I am sure if the noise comes from my neighbour's flat as "ah, you know ah, in the night when it is quiet, you might think the sound comes from this flat but maybe it comes from many floors away. We can never tell. And you know in the newspaper got report people hear sound of marbles rolling in the night but there's no one. I not saying it is ghosts who we don't know if its really your neighbour making the noise" - ????Originally posted by qlqq9:One thing you do is use the embarass tactic. Go tell many people in your block and neighbourhood about the way they make noise to disturb you and family. In no time, words will spread to the market. IN market the nasty neighbour will get to hear the words and hope when they hear this they will stop their nuisance.
Originally posted by qlqq9:One thing you do is use the embarass tactic. Go tell many people in your block and neighbourhood about the way they make noise to disturb you and family. In no time, words will spread to the market. IN market the nasty neighbour will get to hear the words and hope when they hear this they will stop their nuisance.