then wat can i do if i don make i to poly after higher nitec ?Originally posted by Trump_Card:I have to tell you the bitter truth - Getting a high GPA in your higher nitec cannot assure you a place in year 2 in poly
I'd encourage you to take your O levels
but i want u to noe is that... gng to poly from O level.. is really not that hard.. unless u want to take those low intake type courses..Originally posted by gunner77:ya. true
tats wat i wanna say too
i understand tat poly need maths and scienceOriginally posted by mystee:but i want u to noe is that... gng to poly from O level.. is really not that hard.. unless u want to take those low intake type courses..
companies in sg.. look at certificate.. imagine u didnt pass ur higher nitec, u wont have a cert.. u will only be paid as a N level..
tats is a cold hard truth.. unless u are super lucky to find a good job lor..
O level is very impt.. even as a degree student now, ppl still wan my o level cert leh.. is really stupid..
Don't question yourself "what if..." , if you make up your mind to do something there is surely a way . Most important thing is not to be half-hearted .Originally posted by gunner77:then wat can i do if i don make i to poly after higher nitec ?
You should not have this kind of mindset. So many Sec 5 students have made it before to Poly even Jc.Originally posted by gunner77:i understand tat poly need maths and science
but as u can see from my N level result
my maths and sci is only B3
in other words, in O level standard i will just obtain a borderline pass.
wat if poly do not want to take me in, with such borderline passes ?
imagine if i take my O level , and if i get all c5 or c6 maybe some B4
who wanna hire me ? which poly wanna take me ?
tat is the truth between sec 4na and sec 5
im sad to say im a person tat is flicker-mindedOriginally posted by Trump_Card:Don't question yourself "what if..." , if you make up your mind to do something there is surely a way . Most important thing is not to be half-hearted .
If you have decided to enroll in ITE then you just have to give your 100% , do your homework , attend lectures etc ... At the same time , there will be lots of distraction . If you believe you can do a good job , there is no reason as to why you can't make it into poly ...
must have confidence. if u take sec 5 yr goal shld b to go to poly or jc. avoid ite thats the purpose of taking sec 5 otherwise wasting time.Originally posted by Rockhound:wat i learn from life..
studies..ns...or work
if u say "wat if" at everything
u sure waste ure time and fail one
u made a good pointOriginally posted by Rockhound:wat i learn from life..
studies..ns...or work
if u say "wat if" at everything
u sure waste ure time and fail one
poly top students happen to come from ITE..Originally posted by bryanw:must have confidence. if u take sec 5 yr goal shld b to go to poly or jc. avoid ite thats the purpose of taking sec 5 otherwise wasting time.![]()
tats why i wanna go ITEOriginally posted by Rockhound:poly top students happen to come from ITE..
thats was my cohort arh..lol..went straight to uni....
but if u got chance to go sec 5...take it
there are many many ways to go to a local U
y u keep taking ur N level as a guideline to ur O level? doesnt mean tat ur N level get B3, ur O level will get C5, C6..Originally posted by gunner77:i understand tat poly need maths and science
but as u can see from my N level result
my maths and sci is only B3
in other words, in O level standard i will just obtain a borderline pass.
wat if poly do not want to take me in, with such borderline passes ?
imagine if i take my O level , and if i get all c5 or c6 maybe some B4
who wanna hire me ? which poly wanna take me ?
tat is the truth between sec 4na and sec 5
yes man. either 2 ways. 1) take sec 5 o lvl do well go poly or jc. 2) go ite now then do well go poly. bear in mind if u take sec 5 o lvl n get gd results who knows u might decide to try for jc instead of poly at that pt of time. gd luck.Originally posted by Rockhound:poly top students happen to come from ITE..
thats was my cohort arh..lol..went straight to uni....
but if u got chance to go sec 5...take it
there are many many ways to go to a local U
The one thing I regret after leaving secondary school for poly is not putting in effort in my studies , I hope you will not regret anything ... Right now you have the chance to study in sec 5 ... and you should see O levels give you more choices upon graduationOriginally posted by gunner77:im sad to say im a person tat is flicker-minded
i cant make decision, tats wat i hate about myself !
i always cant make a decision, i always have to tink so much, worry about many things before i make a decision![]()
u are very lucky u din go to ITE based on ur O level result.Originally posted by mystee:y u keep taking ur N level as a guideline to ur O level? doesnt mean tat ur N level get B3, ur O level will get C5, C6..
there is moderation... & other factors too... just try ur best...
to tell u frankly, i m oso from N level.. my result is only 9 point.. my science is B3, math I tink is 5..
my O level, my math is still 5, my science is still 3..
my O level result is damn poor, becos i m not those who like studying... always wait till the very last min.. & i really mean last min.. not like those who say din study lar... but actually at home study tilll like sh1t..
with my super poor o level, i go into poly, of cos a course that i dun like.. but heng heng, i manage to score well in my poly despite my last min study.. & now, i m in NTU..
if i am not wrong, u can only go poly year 2 if the course is relevant?Originally posted by gunner77:if i go higher nitec now 2 years
after tat i can join poly YEAR 2 not YEAR 1 ( tats wat my teacher say)
total 4 years.
if i go sec 5 = 1 year
if i go poly after sec 5 = 3 years
total 4 years
in the end , SAME
but if i fail my O levels = 1 year
i have to go higher nitec = 2 years
after tat poly =2 years
total 5 years
wat im trying to say is.. i don have confidences to make sec 5 into a useful year![]()
u wont noe till u try... if i have a chance to go poly, i will go.. i will not choose ite unless i dun have a choice..Originally posted by gunner77:u are very lucky u din go to ITE based on ur O level result.
and for ur info, MOE has show tat the result in N level is 2 times in O level
tats y im making N level as an guideline. u have many "luck" on ur way to NTU
ITE Engineering --- > Poly EngineeringOriginally posted by dumbdumb!:if i am not wrong, u can only go poly year 2 if the course is relevant?
which means your options are limited. u can only go into elec or mech engineering.
if u go O level and do well, u hv more options, business, accountancy.. etc
bryan thanks for ur encouragmentOriginally posted by bryanw:yes man. either 2 ways. 1) take sec 5 o lvl do well go poly or jc. 2) go ite now then do well go poly. bear in mind if u take sec 5 o lvl n get gd results who knows u might decide to try for jc instead of poly at that pt of time. gd luck.![]()
buddy, higher nitec has business and accountancy tooOriginally posted by dumbdumb!:if i am not wrong, u can only go poly year 2 if the course is relevant?
which means your options are limited. u can only go into elec or mech engineering.
if u go O level and do well, u hv more options, business, accountancy.. etc
Not all direct entry into year 2 ... but the course will let you forgo some modules in year 1Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:ITE Engineering --- > Poly Engineering
ITE Biz ---> Poly Biz
JC doesn't need pure Science.Originally posted by gunner77:bryan thanks for ur encouragment
but i have to tell u, JC in not even in my mind
and let me tell u why NA student will suffer in JC
i current take 6 subs, JC require L1R5
which means i have to do well for all 6 subject. i fail one of my 6 subject and i cant go JC. Even if i make it to JC, the syllabus in JC is totally different from NA standard. for example : JC need pure sci, i don take pure sci in my NA standard.
and besides,u don see many NA student qualify for JC, only maybe 1 or 2 ?
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:JC doesn't need pure Science.Pure Science will be an advantage.
JC is a 2 year route to A level. There is also a MI 3 year route to A level. It's less stressful.![]()