Lets break it down.
Go NS now, ORD cannot find job. Go back to study also difficult.
Want to sign on also cannot!
How? Die die at least complete his O or N level.
Did I mentioned he's a gangster ~~~~~~~
Originally posted by Yuki~!:Did I mentioned he's a gangster ~~~~~~~
Hmm. How does it matter?
Well, it matters because he's always doing those "gang stuff", not paying attention to homework & such. *sigh*
got a few frens in my camp also bai kia.
they planning to go for private Os after ORD. (they regretted nt studying to at least attain an O lvl cert.)
i feel really proud of them la.
anywae, personally feels its harder to study for Os after NS, mind really becomes stale.
ask those male uni students..also take quite some time to adjust back to studying life. nt easy.
Originally posted by yuko-ogura:got a few frens in my camp also bai kia.
they planning to go for private Os after ORD. (they regretted nt studying to at least attain an O lvl cert.)
anywae, personally feels its harder to study for Os after NS, mind really becomes stale.
ask those male uni students..also take quite some time to adjust back to studying life. nt easy.
Yeah, I also feel that way. I'm afraid that he'll be worse after NS, as in, not wanting to study.
Originally posted by Yuki~!:I'm seeking advice for a friend of mine. He's 17 this year & is retained in Sec 3 for the 2nd time. His principal, school counsellor & teachers recommended that he join the army in April (?) as he is not doing well in studies. This is his 3rd year as a Sec 3 NA student leh, what should he do?
Join the army or continue for studying for the next 2 years & graduate when he is 19?
Then after NS, then how? Private?
If i were you, i would advice him to drop to normal tech, if possible, ask for transfer to sec 4 normal tec, get an N level than go ITE.
Afterwhich than go NS.
Going into Ns without any education actually is no problem (at most only chiong sua for 2 full years than ORD.
but the problem is: what's he gonna do after ORD?
PSLE: 2011? what can he do by then?
Now if transfer to normal tech sec 4: 1 yr.
2009-2010 ITE
2011-2013- NS come out at least can do something at least still got hands on experience and that's worth at least some penny by then.
With only a PSLE education: Going inside NS. Pay also will not exceed $1800 in the next 10years. So much the less what's the future for your friend?
Think carefully.
If there's no other choices, than go for Private Education..or something which can let him have a cert fast..(Only if he/his family can afford it)
Seriously la.
U worry for him also no use.
Only he can help himself.
Originally posted by yuko-ogura:got a few frens in my camp also bai kia.
while it's very true since in the SAF, we were only told to listen and obey orders, going to do things in a sytematic way other known as SOP (Standard Operating Procedure) thus there's not really a chance whereby we'll be able to flex our brains and in the whole 2 years..brain got used to listen and follow, and not used to thinking already..
unless the person is a in slack vocation then have time to take part time studies during NS if the vocaiton allows thus at least the mood for studying will not be lost..
As all guys being through it, or are currently inside knows what's happening inside best..
Oops..![]()
Originally posted by the_fallen:If i were you, i would advice him to drop to normal tech, if possible, ask for transfer to sec 4 normal tec, get an N level than go ITE.
Afterwhich than go NS.
Going into Ns without any education actually is no problem (at most only chiong sua for 2 full years than ORD.
but the problem is: what's he gonna do after ORD?
PSLE: 2011? what can he do by then?
Now if transfer to normal tech sec 4: 1 yr.
2009-2010 ITE
2011-2013- NS come out at least can do something at least still got hands on experience and that's worth at least some penny by then.
With only a PSLE education: Going inside NS. Pay also will not exceed $1800 in the next 10years. So much the less what's the future for your friend?
Think carefully.
If there's no other choices, than go for Private Education..or something which can let him have a cert fast..(Only if he/his family can afford it)
Hmm, okay. I'll give this consideration. Because I plan to have a talk with his parents.
Yar, your mind really becomes rusty after NS. And studying becomes harder then ever. Ask your friend become Ah Long loh.![]()
Hahahahaha ![]()
At least come out with an O level cert first...after that you can sign on as long as you want...
Originally posted by the_fallen:while it's very true since in the SAF, we were only told to listen and obey orders, going to do things in a sytematic way other known as SOP (Standard Operating Procedure) thus there's not really a chance whereby we'll be able to flex our brains and in the whole 2 years..brain got used to listen and follow, and not used to thinking already..
unless the person is a in slack vocation then have time to take part time studies during NS if the vocaiton allows thus at least the mood for studying will not be lost..
As all guys being through it, or are currently inside knows what's happening inside best..
Oops..
true that brains are not totally un-utilised.
however my mind became stale (i was from a slack vocation) as it grew accustomed to obeying superiors' instructions , similar situation for my frens who're in combat counterparts.
studying Os during NS for slack vocation?
i find it tough.
it takes determination to even bother to flip a book to read after a day's work(unless ur an avid reader)..let alone study for exams. my clerks who worked from 8 to 5 retook Os during NS and they scored same or worse than wad they got for Os before enlistment.
opps wad?
Hmm.. ![]()
My friend retook A level during his NS time as his vocation is guard duty slack. ORD go to NUS.
Originally posted by yuko-ogura:true that brains are not totally un-utilised.
however my mind became stale (i was from a slack vocation) as it grew accustomed to obeying superiors' instructions , similar situation for my frens who're in combat counterparts.
studying Os during NS for slack vocation?
i find it tough.
it takes determination to even bother to flip a book to read after a day's work(unless ur an avid reader)..let alone study for exams. my clerks who worked from 8 to 5 retook Os during NS and they scored same or worse than wad they got for Os before enlistment.
opps wad?
Although it's a fact that SAF is mostly paying us to do things like my slack vocation~ would you guys think of how the govt spend it's bills?
Since it's negative, i might just don't say it..
that's part of the oops..
to prevent myself from being caught for blackname the govt..etc..
you know, how sensitive this issues are..
as for studying O levels during NS..forget it..it's super stress lor..
Dip at least isn't that stress, since it's spread over 3 years so the examination period will be after ORD thus it will not add on to the stress whereby u need to report back to camp/ur unit after the examination since there's a lots of unnecessary rules which we need to follow inside..
Go NS discipline himself first.
Okay. Thanks for the replies
I'll tell him & his parents.
If he has woken up and willing to study, then continue to study...
If not, let NS wake him up...
He he want to continue to study, well a retainee isn't that bad either...
I has a friend who stuck in sec 3 for 2 years as well...
He buck up suddenly and this year is in sec 4... hmm i dun really know him wel but i can see he isn't that bad in his study...
Still, going to NS should be the last choice...
And, a N lvl cert is a lot easier then a O lvl cert... A N lvl cert isn't that bad either... At least some school are still willing to take you in. ITE
Nope, ITE isn't that bad...
You can still go to poly after ITE...
I have a friend who took this path too...
Well his life aren't that mess up either...
go NS first .. after tat come out den study again ... cos now since he don wanna study .. no point forcing him
Think he should finish up his NS liability first. In the meantime, he can earn some money, and save up a part of it.
After ORD, if he still desire, with the money he saved, he can sign up as a private candidate.
My 2 cents.
Originally posted by Yuki~!:
He retained in *Sec 3 twice because he simply does not have any interest in studying. Now he is showing improvement but there comes the option of just joining the army instead of continuing to study.He's not stupid or slow. Just lacking motivation. I think that he can improve much more, if he continues schooling.
My motivation came 'cos my ex was there.... but that's cos her parents say I'm not from one of the top schools!
Then I worked doubly hard and went to a top college after O's. After that is zzz though. ![]()
NS as a private or corporal, u can't save much unless u stay in all the way and eat cookhouse.
And your brain will be rusted by all that men talk, army talk, saikang and exercises... unless you're an officer.
tro face leh, y u wan frd such ppl.
let dem hv no frd, c they stil wan to play play play anot.
bt oso gd to hv such ppl ard lah.
if eberione wans to b lky den who cm sweep the floor.