gangerster ah?
if laidat ask him dun waste his time lar..
go NS, come out seegot wad job do lar.
repeat repeat like got alot time laidat..
confirm don get him into private school.
private school requires more discipline and he like that sure cannot make it one .
tink he go for n level then go ite.
ITE cert oso quite good, recent report says that most can find job with it. and oso u can further ur studies in polys for diploma if u really wan a good pay job
If your friend leaves... he's not gonna get a cert that easy. If your friend still have a chance in his studies, at least get an O cert first!
Then decide whether to go for dip or NS first.![]()
Originally posted by Yuki~!:I'm seeking advice for a friend of mine. He's 17 this year & is retained in Sec 3 for the 2nd time. His principal, school counsellor & teachers recommended that he join the army in April (?) as he is not doing well in studies. This is his 3rd year as a Sec 3 NA student leh, what should he do?
Join the army or continue for studying for the next 2 years & graduate when he is 19?
Then after NS, then how? Private?
go NS 1st...more life experience might help him decide wat he really wants to do.
What does he want ?
It all boils down to him .. to put in the effort to excel in whatever he wants to do in life.
Originally posted by pierre^^:NS ftw
maybe he will be more mature and start to tink abt his future
agree on this part..
NS first, then he will know what he want in life
Originally posted by Yuki~!:
I asked him what he plans to do after Os, he said:"Go poly lah"
-.- Go poly at 20..
i start my poly education at the age of 21..
some of my classmate start at 25..
Tell him to give it a shot, even if his results could not admit him into poly in the future (Assuming).
Definitely, if he at least attempted studying . I am sure he would be able to get into ITE and from there he can learn some skills.
I have this friend who did not study well. He went to sign on with the navy, EVERYDAY i would hear him complaining about his "job".
continue schooling if he got hope in his studies..go NS if he got no hope for studies :)
Okay, I talked to him today about all the advice I've gotten from you guys so far
& Honestly, he doesn't really seem as worked up about it as me -.-
Sigh, for now, he's still studying. But I think he really has no credibility when it comes to making these kind of decisions for himself
Looks like his parents are sending him into NS..
Unless I try giving them a call (?) zZzZzZzZzZz
Originally posted by Yuki~!:Okay, I talked to him today about all the advice I've gotten from you guys so far
& Honestly, he doesn't really seem as worked up about it as me -.-
Sigh, for now, he's still studying. But I think he really has no credibility when it comes to making these kind of decisions for himself
Looks like his parents are sending him into NS..
Unless I try giving them a call (?) zZzZzZzZzZz
it's good that at least thier parents know what to do...
Why study if he has no interest? He can be a chef, set up a business.
Ask him what are his interests. Specialise in the interest.
NS will show him the reality of paper qualifications. But most often, successful people dont depend on their certificates. It is their own independent thinking and determination that counts. ![]()
continue lor
u dunwan him to think "aiya, if only i studied more" in 10 years time rite?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:NS as a private or corporal, u can't save much unless u stay in all the way and eat cookhouse.
And your brain will be rusted by all that men talk, army talk, saikang and exercises... unless you're an officer.
after being inside army for quite some time..
went through couple of exercies with them..
all i can see is that only the young 2LT are being ordered here and there..it makes no difference lor..
only during inside the camp, they at least can have some form of command..but sad to say..although they are the most junior officers, they are none the less the smallest in terms of rank compared to the seafood restaurants in the big camps..
ever seen a warrant scolding 2LT?
i've seen it lor..haha..
the benefits for a NSF officer is only the compensation of $1000+ salary only..other than that..there's nothing to worth it to be an officier..
even if wanna take leave as an officer..having negative superiors above them..it's kinda hard to clear their leave..
inside the army..all i can comment or rather advice..study to the max before going into army..go for the shortest method to get honours/ MBA before going inside..
to do that..you have to be rich la..
so far...i've seen a NS personnel having the rank of a major - 1 crab..which surprised me..at least that's when your duties and knowledge are put to a test..